BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kingdom's Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    Exciting, fast-paced reading you won't want to put down!

    When I bought this book, the purpose was to give it to my younger brother (he's eleven), who loves books about knights. I wasn't that interested in it myself, but after he read it, he kept telling me how 'totally awesome' the book was, and why I should read it, too. Once I picked it up and actually started reading it, I couldn't put it down, it was almost non-stop action. If you like adventure stories, this book is for you. The story starts with a 16 year old boy named Leinad who lives quietly on a farm with his father and a little girl named Tess that they rescued from a cruel master. After Leinad's father is murdered, Leinad is given a mission to fulfill that he realizes his father has prepared him for. The extra lessons that puzzled him in his youth because they had nothing to do with farming sure come in handy as his skills as a swordsman and his beliefs are challenged. Through it all, he must protect Tess and learn how to serve the good king his father taught him to love. Though this book appeared to be for younger readers, (based on size and reading level) I think all readers can appreciate this alligorical story that is unlike any other I have ever read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Kings Knight

    This book is an inspiring story that will hook the young christian heart and make them want to fight as one of Gods knight. Although it may be shorter and uses younger writting styles it is loved by all ages. A must read that will have you holding your breath till the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    What the order of the books are

    Kingdoms dawn, Kingdoms hope, Kingdoms edge, Kingdoms call, Kingdoms quest, and Kingdoms righn

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    What?

    What one is the frst

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Daughter Loved It!

    I gave this to my 12 year old daughter as a gift and since she loves mysteries, I thought this might get her "hooked" on a new series that's Christian-based. She read the book SO fast! I was amazed! We're planning on purchasing the rest of the series (she asked me how soon we can get the next one) and will loan them out to friends her age.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Signed by the author.

    I bought all 6 books in the series and couldn't stop reading them. I'm not much of a book reader or very versed on the holy bible, but this was such a great story that everyone will love it. You can read it for the story or for the biblical references, either way you will enjoy it. It was nice that this series has a sound track available to help you get into the story written in part by his daughter. Now I have to get the next series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    "That was GREAT!"

    "That was GREAT!" quoting my 9 yr old grandson. It is SO difficult to find age appropriate books. This one was recommended and he just devoured it. We'll be looking forward to more from this dedicated Christian Dad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    I have to agree with ya'll

    These books are asolutely amazing. I have all of this series and have read the Knights of Arrethtrae series. Chuck has really done an awesome job on these books. Definetly, definetly recommend ( excuse the spelling, i dont know if thats how you spell 'recommend' :/ )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love these books i have read them all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I know practically everyone else is saying the same thing, but t

    I know practically everyone else is saying the same thing, but these books are the best!!!
    Don't forget to check out the next series, The Knights of Arrethtrae!
    In some ways, they're even better than this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Want it

    I want this book soooooo bad everyoone is saying

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Aw AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I luv this book everyone should read this EVERYONE cant wait 2 read the rest of the books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Wwwwowww

    This book is awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great bookr Great book

    Really grips u and simplifies bible

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A Great book

    I just could not put it down. It was the best book i have ever read. The king reghns and his son.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    I would like to know

    Can someone please the me how many books there are in this series and what order they go in with the title and number of each book? Thanks!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    To jacob green

    Average border collie ( google it if u dont know what it is) she would be loyal ( no super powers necesarry other then telepathy with sam only - if sam wants to fly she has a light blue pegasus) the dogs name would be shadow she would be mostly black with some white spots shadow is a gift from her mom for saving her ( read my story online bio at bannan result one says how to get there) so she has fighting skills ( the best u can have as a dog ) - pleas continue this time , Samantha hamper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK

    Read this nowwww

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    exciting Bible-based allegorical fantasy I first heard of the ¿

    exciting Bible-based allegorical fantasy

    I first heard of the “Kingdom Series” by Chuck Black, a homeschooling father, and began noticing it in catalogues back as early as 2004. In Kingdom’s Dawn, Cedric of Chessington tells the story of Leinad beginning when the latter was sixteen years old. For four years, Leinad had been trained in swordsmanship by his farmer father Peyton who is a loyal servant of the unseen King. Leinad’s mother Dinan had died when he was eight. They lived in the Kingdom of Arrethtrae on a farm in the Plains of Kerr, near the town of Mankin, along the western shore of the Great Sea. After adopting a girl named Tess, Peyton is killed by the Dark Knight Lucius, his henchman Zane, who happens to be Leinad’s older brother, and their Shadow Warriors.

    With the help of their friend Gabrik the blacksmith, Leinad and Tess flee. Then, after escaping the destructive Vactor Deluge, they sojourn in the Valley of Nan and work on the Stanton farm. However, Leinad is betrayed by his fellow workers and sold into slavery to Lord Fairos of Pyron Mid in the region of Nyland. Eventually, Tess is captured and brought as a slave to Pyron Mid as well. Because of his training in swordsmanship, Leinad is chosen to train Fairos’s men but after a battle with the Eminafs he protests Fairos’s treatment people of Nan and is taken out into the Banteen Desert to be killed by the Moshi Beasts. What will happen to Leinad? And the big question is, will he remain loyal to the King no matter what? The entire Kingdom Series of six books is intended as an allegory that attempts to capture the incredible true story of the Bible.

    The first book covers creation, paradise, the fall, the flood, the patriarchs, and the Egyptian bondage. The second book, Kingdom’s Hope, continues this line of symbolism to the end of the Old Testament. The following books are Kingdom’s Edge, Kingdom’s Call, Kingdom’s Quest, and Kingdom’s Reign. I have not read any of the others besides the first one, but someone has said that the first three are based on the Old Testament, while the last three are based on the New Testament. I have also been told that the last two do relate to the tribulation and millennium. However, what some like about them is that they are Bible-based fantasy in a medieval type of setting with no magic, mysticism, or wizardry. There is only sword fighting, along with accurate descriptions of battle and torture, but these are age-appropriate and not gratuitous. Some people may not like Biblical allegory, but I found Kingdom’s Dawn to be exciting reading that is full of adventure. There are discussion questions in the back of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Uknown

    Very gooooooood book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2