Customer Reviews for

Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

great read - pricing is fixed now

First book that I've read straight through in a long time. Well written, not too technical but still covers the general concepts. Focuses on the criminals and looks at the motivation of many of the main characters. Includes links for checking out more information (mo...
First book that I've read straight through in a long time. Well written, not too technical but still covers the general concepts. Focuses on the criminals and looks at the motivation of many of the main characters. Includes links for checking out more information (most of which is still around on the internet).

Highly recommended.

Oh, and I bought it for $12.99 from BN, so they've fixed the pricing. I agree with the others that a nook book should be about half the printed price.

posted by rfortson on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't follow pricing strategy...

Agree with other reviewers - very disappointing to see this priced the same as a hard-cover. If this becomes a trend, we may be witnessing the beginning of the end of e-books.

posted by 3919571 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    great read - pricing is fixed now

    First book that I've read straight through in a long time. Well written, not too technical but still covers the general concepts. Focuses on the criminals and looks at the motivation of many of the main characters. Includes links for checking out more information (most of which is still around on the internet).

    Highly recommended.

    Oh, and I bought it for $12.99 from BN, so they've fixed the pricing. I agree with the others that a nook book should be about half the printed price.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Don't follow pricing strategy...

    Agree with other reviewers - very disappointing to see this priced the same as a hard-cover. If this becomes a trend, we may be witnessing the beginning of the end of e-books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Pricing is Absurd

    Would happily pay $6-8 for this book in electronic form but will not be paying full price for it! Fortunately a quick search for "Kingpin: How One Hacker Took Over the Billion-Dollar Cybercrime Underground.PDF" provided some interesting results. Just like the movie industry, looks like the publication industry didn't learn a single thing from what the music industry went through. Oh well, their loss losing a customer willing to pay reasonable prices but not willing to be taken advantage of.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Very interesting read if you're into crime and technology

    I really enjoyed reading this book, although it was almost a twin to another book of a similar theme, but this covered from the "bad guys" perspective rather than law enforcement. Overall it was a good read. I like how the chapters were kept short and to the point. They were addicting and almost movie like. I would recommend this to anyone interested in crime and technology and how the internet has changed the way criminals do business.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    Reason?

    Is there a reason why the electronic version is the same price as the hardcover? I would very much like to buy this book, but I do not want to pay the hardcover price . . .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pricing is wrong.

    You cannot charge the same for an ebook as the hardcover. When this is priced more appropriately I'll buy it for sure.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Not spending full price for e-book

    Not going to do it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Wow

    I work with fraud at a bank and this book has brought the whole other side of fraudsters into a new light. It is written almost like a fiction novel, but with factual data. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Is it Fiction or Fact!?

    This book reads like a fiction novel and realizing that it's not will either scare you or leave you in awe as to the power and complexity of carding schemes and technology. The technical information in the book is palatable to the not-so-tech savvy and in some ways I wish that more technical information were available, however, for the sake of continuity and palatability the author keeps the story moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Great read. Poulsen does a great job presenting a highly techni

    Great read. Poulsen does a great job presenting a highly technical subject in a way that anyone can understand. It is well written and well researched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2