Customer Reviews for

The King's Bastard (King Rolen's Kin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Another must read

    Rowena has done it again. Can't wait to read the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    This is what fantasy is all about! I was immediately sucked into

    This is what fantasy is all about! I was immediately sucked into the world created by Ms. Daniells. I fell in love with the main character, Byren, almost immediately and was rooting for him through the whole book.

    I was so sad when the book ended - a cliffhanger that left me literally screaming to know what happened next. I felt the author left off at a bad spot of the plot line - almost in the middle of the climax. I would have preferred, even with things left open, to have it stop at a more quiet part of the story line, rather than the middle of the action. It was simply an abrupt stop.

    However, I loved this book. It has a bit of everything in it - politics, magic, love, friendship, treachery, intrigue, adventure - and the list goes on! I couldn't stop turning the pages, wanting to know what happened to the main characters of the story, praying they didn't have one more bad thing happen to them. I highly recommend this book to fantasy readers everywhere -really anyone who loves a great book!

    **Free copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Written for younger readers

    The writing style wasn't bad but it was so predictable that I hope she was intentionally writing for a junior high level audience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    As the first volume in the King Rolen's Kin trilogy, The King's

    As the first volume in the King Rolen's Kin trilogy, The King's Bastard
    packs enough unique touches (not to mention surprises) in the first
    dozen chapters to immediately make it one of those stay-up-late,
    can't-put-down, just-one-more-chapter kind of reads. At its heart, this
    is a story of conflict, the kinds of conflict that can divide friends
    and families, as well as empires. It's also a story of outcasts and
    undesirables, of the unwanted and the unneeded, an approach that serves
    to attract (rather than alienate) the reader. In terms of plot, there's
    a lot about this first volume that will be familiar to any long-time
    reader of fantasy, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. We have a
    King who has become complacent, leaving him blind to the cracks in his
    empire; feuding heirs to the throne (Byren & Lence), once friends
    who are being slowly driven apart by jealousy; a pair of younger
    siblings (Fyn & Piro) with a power and a future of their own, but no
    right to rule; and a Queen who is full of secrets, the heir to an
    unwanted legacy that threatens everything. It sounds very much like your
    standard medieval fantasy soap opera, but there are several elements
    that elevate it above the competition. Even if the elements are
    familiar, however, the characters themselves are very well developed.
    Byren, Fyn, and Piro (our three POVs within the novel) are likeable,
    admirable characters to whom we can relate, and for whom we naturally
    find ourselves cheering. Lence, Cobalt, and Rejulas are equally
    unlikable, but characters with motivations that we can understand . . .
    even if we don't have to like them. Orrade is, by far, one of the most
    intriguing supporting characters I've come across in years, and I
    suspect the Queen may have more potential than we've seen so far. Those
    conflicts I mentioned earlier? Rowena does a masterful job of balancing
    them against one another, using them not just to illuminate each other,
    but to force the reader into confronting their own prejudices. Rolencia
    is a kingdom where where being naturally touched by forbidden magic or
    sexuality is more worthy of scorn and derision than deliberately
    choosing to be cruel, treacherous, or ambitious. Ultimately, it is the
    shameful taint of his own family, along with the unrequited love of his
    best friend, that places Byren at the centre of so much conflict - and
    it's his own reaction to both that elevates him above his brother. In
    terms of world-building, The King's Bastard offers a lot to appreciate,
    but it's the little touches, like armies skating upon the frozen canals
    or Affinity-touched beasts stalking the forests, that shine brightest
    here. There's no artificial attempt to create huge pantheons of gods and
    goddesses, or any needlessly complex allegorical story of creation.
    Instead, the mythology of the world is simple, effective, and genuine,
    intertwined with the presence of Affinity. Similarly, the genealogy is
    largely straightforward, forgoing the exhaustive family trees and
    legacies that often bog down these stories, in favour of just enough
    political marriages and well-documented bastards to add some necessary
    colour. While I found the dialogue in a few scenes to be a bit too much
    like that of a soap opera, it generally works quite well. Much like the
    mythology, it comes across as genuine, with none of the grandiose
    speeches that so often seem out of place, inserted only to impress the
    reader. The narrative itself is solid, colourful where it can be, but
    also restrained where it needs to be. More than anything, however, it is
    the pacing that you really notice here. Rowena keeps the story moving,
    propelling the reader from one chapter to another. While this is by no
    means a light or insignificant read, it is a very quick one, which is
    always welcome when dealing with a 640 page tome. If I were to have one
    complaint about the story, it's that the characters sometimes delay too
    long in delivering important information. On the one hand, it's entirely
    reasonable to expect that they might be distracted by urgent concerns,
    but there were a few instances where I found myself shaking the book
    because Bryen simply forgot to deliver some significant news. It's a
    minor quibble, and one that is largely limited to the beginning of the
    novel, but it annoyed me enough that I had to call it out. Having said
    that, Rowena smartly avoids relying on coincidence or deus ex machina to
    drive the climax of this first volume, which is refreshing. All-in-all,
    a good, solid, page-turning read, and one that has a lot to offer for
    fans of traditional fantasy. I rarely read series books back-to-back
    anymore, but I'm already eager to get started in on The Uncrowned King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Don't buy this series

    This is simply one of the worst fantasies I have read in 20 years. I bought them as a trilogy while I went on a long trip. It was all I had to read. I never would have bought the second two if I read the first one first. They are all awful. The characters are thin, weak, and pathetic. The plot line is worse. Everyone feels guilty for everything, the jumps from place to place are impossible, and after three volumes, there is NO satisfying ending. What a complete waste.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1