Customer Reviews for

King's Dragon (Crown of Stars #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    intrigueing!

    i am a constant reader and i needed a good long book that would at least last me a few days... ive always been a fantasy junkie so i found the title 'King's Dragon' and decided it might be what i was looking for! especially since its a series! the first part of the book was a little bit dull (well... compared to the last part) so i had a little trouble getting into it... but by the time i was half way through i was engrossed! the plot twist at the end was fantastic! yay! i definantly recommend this book and i cant wait to go get the next one (tomorrow)i am off to go read this one again! or at least choice parts of it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    A Masterpiece!

    I am currently reading the King's Dragon, and I must say, this is most likely the best novel I have ever read! The plot is brilliant, and the characters stay true to their realistic personalities. I love the way Kate Elliot described how Alain was not very skilled in combat, and is suddenly thrust into an ancient battle. And Liath's story was very agonizing, yet beautiful. The whole Crown of Stars Series is a force to be reckoned with. This book was seriously amazing, and the whole plot includes sadness,anger,fear,danger, political intrigue, and war concepts. I highly reccomend the King's Dragon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    I remember being in high school waiting for the last 5 books very upset that I didn't know what happened to the characters then they released and did not disappoint. Every book in this series should be read alone in a comfortable setting excellent!

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    good, long read

    A meaty book, good for a long vacation or traveling. Centers around 2 main characters, Liath and Alain, in the imagined countries of Wendar and Varre. Centers around magic and a king struggling to keep his throne away from his power-hungry sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    Nicely Outlined

    the book has a good plot begging in this book. Yet i think that it has too many Characters in the book. I doesnt seem to grasp my attention as much as other books do. Still it has a Beautiful setting where sorcercy is forbbiden and young unborn heros set out in their life turning adventures. The hidden secrets are so cleverly written that you dont notice it until a certin clue slips out. The books following this are equally great (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    so far so good ,but it could be better

    the king's dragon is a good book , i haven't finished yet ,but it seems ok.so far the characters are interesting, but i'm not taken back by the story line.it seems to drag a bit but all and all it's a good read .maybe it's all the religion that centers around everything .i think it takes over the whole story and over whelms it a bit, but like i said it's a ok book .i'm going to give it a chance and finish up ,it might finish with a bang!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Great Series

    This series and this book was and is probably the best I have ever read. The story comes alive in the writing so that it is no longer a story that is being read, but rather, a story being lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    Interesting and amazing

    This book is great, i didn't think that it would get my attention but after the first page i couldn't put it down. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Elliott's best work.

    My #1 favorite book ever. Elliott is at her prime, here. Here character development is at its best, much better than in later novels. The tension is kept high, the world creation is flawless. I want to be her when I grow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

    This book is amazing, it portrays a world of fantasy that is totally unique from other books.The plot sweeps you away immediately, and never does slow down. I recommend this book to everybody who likes fantasy novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    couldn't put it down

    excellent book...couldnt put it down.....romance,adventure, pure medevil times.....mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    What I Think About 'King's Dragon'

    Kate Elliott's 'King's Dragon' is a fascinating story that drags you into a world of magic, romance, action, and battle. When I read 'King's Dragon' I found myself relating to certain characters in certain parts of the story. K.E. is so good at giving details that makes you feel like you are right there when enerything happens. When Laith was released from Hugh I felt her relief, when the battle at Gent went underway i felt like i was there watching everthing. 'King's Dragon' is a great book that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    What I Think

    I think that it was a great book even though the cover made it look cheap, but you can't judge a book by its cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2