Customer Reviews for

The King's Speech: How One Man Saved the British Monarchy

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great read! Loved it!

I read this as I anxiously awaited the movie to arrive in theaters. As a speech-language pathologist, I was especially anxious given the subject matter. This book really highlights the special relationship between these two men. And as anyone who works with those who...
I read this as I anxiously awaited the movie to arrive in theaters. As a speech-language pathologist, I was especially anxious given the subject matter. This book really highlights the special relationship between these two men. And as anyone who works with those who stutter, so much of the therapeutic process is about building a comfortable, personal relationship. These individuals clearly had that in eachother, which is something in itself fascinating due to the differences in their backgrounds.

A must read if you work in the speech-language field, have an interest in the British monarchy or just want a great true story of friendship.

posted by CourtneyBSLP on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Here's the history behind the movie

I haven't seen the movie yet, but the trailer is full of scenes that are not in this book, so there must have been some Hollywood-itization of the story. I'm sure I will enjoy the movie. This book is just-the-facts biography of the Lionel Logue based on his diaries and ...
I haven't seen the movie yet, but the trailer is full of scenes that are not in this book, so there must have been some Hollywood-itization of the story. I'm sure I will enjoy the movie. This book is just-the-facts biography of the Lionel Logue based on his diaries and his friendship with George VI. Excellent overview of information on the royal family, WWII and wonderful family photos. Logue was an interesting man who lived in interesting times, and I enjoyed reading this true-life account.

posted by TexasStarVA on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Great read! Loved it!

    I read this as I anxiously awaited the movie to arrive in theaters. As a speech-language pathologist, I was especially anxious given the subject matter. This book really highlights the special relationship between these two men. And as anyone who works with those who stutter, so much of the therapeutic process is about building a comfortable, personal relationship. These individuals clearly had that in eachother, which is something in itself fascinating due to the differences in their backgrounds.

    A must read if you work in the speech-language field, have an interest in the British monarchy or just want a great true story of friendship.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Superb! Sublime! An in-depth look at the Court and a struggling king and his family

    An extremely well written book that deals with the personal travails and triumphs of a man in most trying circumstances. A man with. A sense of deep honor,abiding love of his family, and a worlld's depth of honour to his county and his people is revealed in this marvelous exploration of two men.....one, the King who stammers, the other, his speech therapist.
    It is an inncreibly touching story of a Man with indominatable spirit, and another who's dedicated work helped Him ascend to unthought of triumphs.
    This book was read in two long sessions over a weekend --
    I literally could not tear myself away from it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Very good

    If you liked the movie and want to learn more about the relationship between Logue and the King, read this book. It was very entertaining and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent for any history buff and for anyone who has a stammer. King George showed remarkable courage, and Logue an excellent teacher. It is too bad they put a story like this in"R" rated movie format. But I can understand why the Queen Mother didn't want this story told in her life time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Excellant History & Personal Account

    An interesting story of an tumultuous time. I wish there had been more detail of Logue's techniques but he didn't record them. I enjoyed the detailed history of the events of the period. I found the relationship between Logue and George VI to be almost bitter sweet. Logue's life long devotion to his King is something I hope isn't lost in today's world. I felt the story was an excellent window into the pressures of life of the ruling British Monarch during wartime. A good read for history buffs, but especially for those in the speech pathology or therapy fields.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Excellent read

    After seeing the movie, I decided I'd like to know more about the story and history. The book was interesting, well written and indeed allowed me know learn more about this interesting part of history.

    If you liked the movie and want to learn more, then I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Loved the movie and this book completes the picture of an extraordinary relationship. The photos are the icing on the cake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Fascinating look at two extraordinary men

    Loved the movie so checked out the book. This is a page turner read into the lives of two men seldom credited with their deserved place in history. Fortunately I had a free day to enjoy giving it my undivided attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Fantastic

    A very factual and inspiring book-one I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    great book

    worth to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Awesome read, no wonder it is a movie!

    Excellent book, and I would recommended to any reader.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5