Customer Reviews for

Kings of the Dead (Revised and Expanded)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great great great

    One of the best zombie survival books I have read. Great story line and characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great book!

    Really good book with a great storyline. The plot is excellent and the characters are believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Standard Zombie with a great finish. Very personalized story telling.

    Told in naritive/journal form by main character Cole, interspersed with entries by freinds. Book starts out rather cliche but soon turns introspective and rather riviting. Very entertaining and emotional.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    !!

    loved this book and highly recommend it! great character development.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Great book

    This is not your ordinary zombie apocalypse book. But i'll tell you it's incredible. You won't be disappointed. I promise

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Enjoyable read!

    First I want to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This was my first zombie novel. It follows of group of survivors as they strive to live in a world taken over by zombies. It does this through the eyes of the main character in the form of his journal. The action was good with even a few surprises (at least for me) thrown in. Despite the format I still felt connected to the other characters as well. It was an easy and enjoyable read. I highly recommend buying and reading it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant novel

    A lot of first novels blow. Every Tom, Dick and Harry seems to think he can write a novel. Most of them really should stick with watching TV and leave the writing to people with more teeth. Tony, I am happy to say not only has a good set of teeth, he is one heck of a writer.

    In films, I am not fond of the whole found footage thing, but in novels it usually works fine. This is that sort of book. It is the journal of a Zombie Apocalypse survivor. It has been clearly thought out from both a tactical and from a storytelling aspect. There is just enough action to make it fun and enough about the characters to make them feel real. I found myself savoring the story in the way I enjoy more seasoned writers. This is a truly fun read that makes me eagerly anticipate more from a truly gifted storyteller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    From The Aussie Zombie

    Kings of the Dead is written in journal form, which is a style I particularly like in zombie and post-apocalyptic books, as it tends to reveal more of the human emotion and daily struggles of the writer. There are also some entries from other characters, which add a new perspective to their situations.

    The majority of Kings of the dead is written by Cole, a survivalist who, along with his wife and friends, has prepared for the worst and escaped from the cities before it all goes pear-shaped.

    To begin with, I did find this book to be quite run-of-the-mill – the characters seemed a little cookie-cutter (ex Marine for example) and the action sequences a little too similar to so many other zombie books.

    However, Kings of the Dead did pick up, and posed some very important questions on what would happen to an ordinary person thrown into an undead world. Characters with medical conditions find their health improving and their ability to be self sufficient, and the idea of creating ‘channels’ around their safe-haven to ensure they only have to fight zombies a handful at a time, rather than being overrun by a horde is an interesting one that I have not come across before.

    There is quite a bit of discussion over weapons which I do admit I skimmed – not because it was badly written or inaccurate, it just held little interest for me.

    Kings of the Dead does delve into the darker side of the ‘human factor’ and there are several disturbing scenes, however these are necessary to the story and show the struggle that normal human beings have maintaining their moral and ethical standards in a world falling apart.

    It’s not easy to write a book that stands out in a sub-genre that’s experienced such fast growth and popularity but Kings of the Dead holds its own. And the ending is just that, an ending! Hurray!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    Read the original

    So i read the original and i thought it was great, Can anyone tell me whats new in this book i havent read it.. As for as it being revised and expanded what else did he delve into??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Good read

    I really enjoyed this book. It is well written and has a good flow. I liked the the way it was written as a journal. It plays out ad a plausable senario as well. Don't pass this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    A great read..

    I really enjoyed this read..It draws you in and you feel what they went through. Right to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    review

    A very different take in this book .I was glad to see the the military were not deemed as incompetents .This was the first that my feelings were affected at the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Ok

    Ok story but the writing was notbwellndone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters are well thought out and the story takes you on a ride with twists and turns- nothing predictable. Unlike many zombie stories; the end wraps up nicely and does not feel rushed. Would definately read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!!!

    I came across this book after a recent trilogy on zombies that I read and really enjoyed... and I'm so glad I did! It was very well written, and believable which made it creepy to me. Very rarely do I read a book I feel like I want to leave my comments and review on, and I read a lot of books. I've already recommended this book to several people.

    I loved the "explanation" on what caused the zombie outbreak. It was an eerily conceivable and had an extremely realistic feel to it. I won't mention what the explanation was, you'll have to read the book, but believe me, it'll be worth it.

    I also loved the diary format. Made me feel like I was right there with Tony, and his crew and that it had an "ending". A follow-up for what happened later and not just stopping.

    All in all a wonderfully written book about survival, and human nature/relationships amidst dire conditions and the unthinkable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2