Customer Reviews for

Kira-Kira

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Kira-Kira

Kira-Kira is a very sad story.I garantee it will make you cry.It made me cry.This story is also a very loving and touching story about a family's hard life.

posted by kalbers on July 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

So-So Newbery Winner

This book didn't really stand out in any major way. I've read far more interesting books. Sure, it had a nice ending. It's important to note, though, the difference between the recommended ages (11-14) and the Accelerated Reader level of 4.7. Language and a couple o...
This book didn't really stand out in any major way. I've read far more interesting books. Sure, it had a nice ending. It's important to note, though, the difference between the recommended ages (11-14) and the Accelerated Reader level of 4.7. Language and a couple of mentions of sex and dating might not be what the 4.7 level child needs to read. So, while it might be an interesting story, it's important to note the appropriateness.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    So-So Newbery Winner

    This book didn't really stand out in any major way. I've read far more interesting books. Sure, it had a nice ending. It's important to note, though, the difference between the recommended ages (11-14) and the Accelerated Reader level of 4.7. Language and a couple of mentions of sex and dating might not be what the 4.7 level child needs to read. So, while it might be an interesting story, it's important to note the appropriateness.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kira-Kira

    Kira-Kira is a very sad story.I garantee it will make you cry.It made me cry.This story is also a very loving and touching story about a family's hard life.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a very good book about Lynn and Katie, two Japanese sister who moved from Iowa to Georgia. It is a sad but has good sisterly moments and the end seemed very memorible for Katie. I read this book and would highly reccommend it to people who like family oriented books. Read the book to find out how it all ends up for the family!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    It was a wonderful book

    It was amazing. It was touching and had good details. It made me happy and it made tears well up in my eyes. Overall it was a realistic story and was perfect.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great...compelling

    This book is a lesson telling u to love your siblings and parents definitley reccomended!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    This is one one of my favorite books.

    I loved

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Kira Kira by : Cynthia Kadohata

    The book Kira Kira by Cynthia Kadohata is a book that deserves a 2 star rating. This book deserves 2 stars because throughout the story it is really depressing. The book starts out as Lynn and Katie loving each other greatly in a town in Iowa. But early on in the book Katies family has to move to Georgia and the parents start working almost all day. The father works so much that he sleeps at his job to save driving time. Though Katie and Lynn's friendship survives it soon falls apart. Lynn becomes sick and is no longer able to go to school. Katie adapts to the South well enough and develops a Southern accent that becomes so well known that she is payed to talk to people. Katie also continues saving money that she finds her sister has been saving to buy a house for the family. The condition of Lynn becomes worse and she is dead due to the sickness. The book's few happy parts are as I said, few. When Katie buys a house with the saved up money she has is really touching. It isn't too happy though because Lynn acts as if it isn't to much a big deal which kills it for the family. When Katie is taught what kira kira is in the beginning, that also is somewhat touching. That too though has a bad side to it, because Lynn is telling her about kira kira a rabid dog attacks. The final happy part is when Katie has a birthday party and some friends come over. This was one of the few truly happy parts. The title Kira Kira is not deserved and should be called something like My Depressed Life instead of the Japanese word for glittering.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    Breaks the Mold.... in a Bad Way

    Whenever they announce the Newbery Winner, if I haven't read it already, I go out, buy it, and then read it and see whether it is good or not. As long as I can remember, it has been good. Sadly, this one was very disappointing. They usually have much better taste than this. This whole story seemed bland, lacking, and generic. If you're looking for a good book and are thinking of this one because it won the Newbery, think again.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    AN UNFORGETTABLE STORY

    This story brings a true meaning to sister hood but wait till the end....

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Pppp

    This is a vary good story

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Flat-Out DEPRESSING!!!

    Okay, it seemed kind of interesting at first but as i read on i found it to be a huge disapointment! I seriously don't see how this book could have won an award! At the beginning it seems all sweet, but it's just filled with misery. I found myself crying at some points in the book, and some people may enjoy that but I didn't! This book seems to be a neverending cycle of the older sister getting sick, better, then sick again. Dispite it being dull and sad, i did for some reason finish it. So if you like depressing books with no storyline or point to them, this is definitely the book for you! But if you don't like that type of book then please DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! I suggest the book below instead, it's one of my favorites.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No Kira-Kira

    This book was definitely not good. It was boring, to say the least. The plot was non-existant, and unentertaining. The characters weren't memorable, and hardly even likeable. Nothing happened, just a little series of events that led up to a predictable conclusion. On the back it sounded like this Japanese family had many hardships, but there weren't many at all. I didn't like the way it was written. It was made to look as if a young girl had written, and trust me, it was hard to get through. Another boring book that wins a lot of awards because its "smart".

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    Best Book Ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    i love this book so much! it brought me to laugh, cry, and at the end all i could say was "awwww!" with my eyes welled up with tears! i reccomend this book to everyone i know and they loved it too! highly reccomend!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Not Very Good

    I picked up this book for summer reading, expecting it to be a light and mildy enjoyable read. However, I can honestly not even say that much. Lynn, for example, is amazing cocky and doesn't even act her age- she strikes me as a pre- pubescent brat. Katie is an average character- she is very ignorant and has a one- track mind. Many times I have found myself marveling at the characters' stupidity. Also, though this is a very simply written book, there are some swear words that I believe most parents would not want their young offspring to be reading. It is not the most captivating book either- all in all, I would really not reccomend this to anyone.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    DO NOT GET THIS BOOK!

    This book is yet horrible. It never gets to a point an i dont get why the oldest sister gets sick then not then sick again. It just is really boring. DO NOT GET THIS BOOK!!!!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    I cried all night!

    This is one of the most awesome and thoroughly enjoyable books I have read in a long time. I stayed up late to read it, and spent half of the time crying. None of the book (up to right before Lynn dies) is really super sad, but it made me cry. It really toutched me. Well, okay it is super sad. But even the happy parts made me cry. Read it! And while you're at it, read the Fruits Basket manga by Natsuki Takaya.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    i put one star because that's the less we can put.....

    i put one star because that's the less we can put.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    LOVE IT

    AWESOME

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    An amazing story

    this book combined emotions, love, and an all around great story. I loved the book, even though it was sad, it really made me love my sisters more than ever. I can't wait for my 9 year old sis to be old enough to read it. I also want to lend it to my neighbor and my friends because it is such a great story. read the book, it is great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    very good book, can't wait to share with my 12yo daughter

    I bought this with my daughter in mind. I read it first to see if it would be something she might enjoy. Although it had a sad ending, I am sure she will enjoy it as much as I did. She may not understand some of the problems of living during that time period, but I hope she would be able to connect with the young girls in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12