Customer Reviews for

Kira-Kira

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Kira-Kira

Kira-Kira is a very sad story.I garantee it will make you cry.It made me cry.This story is also a very loving and touching story about a family's hard life.

posted by kalbers on July 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

So-So Newbery Winner

This book didn't really stand out in any major way. I've read far more interesting books. Sure, it had a nice ending. It's important to note, though, the difference between the recommended ages (11-14) and the Accelerated Reader level of 4.7. Language and a couple o...
This book didn't really stand out in any major way. I've read far more interesting books. Sure, it had a nice ending. It's important to note, though, the difference between the recommended ages (11-14) and the Accelerated Reader level of 4.7. Language and a couple of mentions of sex and dating might not be what the 4.7 level child needs to read. So, while it might be an interesting story, it's important to note the appropriateness.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great...compelling

    This book is a lesson telling u to love your siblings and parents definitley reccomended!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    very good book, can't wait to share with my 12yo daughter

    I bought this with my daughter in mind. I read it first to see if it would be something she might enjoy. Although it had a sad ending, I am sure she will enjoy it as much as I did. She may not understand some of the problems of living during that time period, but I hope she would be able to connect with the young girls in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Very enjoyable.

    I read this book just because I thought that the topic sounded interesting and it was. I believe that young people should enjoy the book and it definitely is a fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    " sob" " sob"

    I would einhbjjrgbbf sorry my hamster was typing not enjoy this book exept the ending is sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A good page-turner

    This was a good story I only got the preveiw and I put this on my wishlist imedently after I finished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    In this endearing book, the Takeshima family moves to Georgia so

    In this endearing book, the Takeshima family moves to Georgia so that Katie's parents can work in the chicken factory. There, young Katie learns about Southern racism and the practically-slave-labor conditions of factory workers. But when Katie's older sister Lynn becomes sick, Katie learns the hardest lesson of all...This is a sweet story - and pretty typical for Newbery winners. (Newbery judges certainly like bereavement, racism, and Southern settings!) The character in the book ranges from about 5-7, I'd say, but I think the subject and reading level is more appropriate for a 10-12 year old.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great

    Awasome book shows hiw to be a great person smart or not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Deeply moving

    A well written novel from the view of a middle child. Touching and masterful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Good

    I am reading this book right now at school. I am not all that interestsed in it but there are some parts that i just want to cry but don't becaues i am in class. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very touching

    I am anonly child and this book tore b
    My heart apart and made me wish i had a sister as lovely as lynn...i read this st two in the morning when i couldnt sleep and i cried my eyes out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Sad but..

    Happy is nit the word i would say rebuilding that is what katies family will have to do now. I can really relate to this story. It is a very good but with some not so great subject matter but im planning on reading it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kira Kira

    Kira-Kira follows the life of the Japanese/American Takeshima family. Katie who is the narrator of the story looks up greatly to her sister Lynn, who has taught her everything. Katie's first words were Kira-Kira which means glittering and this is used to describe everything she likes. The story, set in the 1950's, starts out in Iowa but when the family store went out of business the family moved to Georgia with their Uncle to work in a factory. Having to adjust to the new life became even harder when Lynn became suddenly ill. Since the parents were often stuck in the factory this left younger sister Katie to look after her ailing sister. Kira-Kira is a great book about how a family works together to survive with the idea that no mater how bad a situation seems there is always something good that will come from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    The master opion

    I liked this book because I understood it and it could have really happened. It helps people understand how lucky they really are. You will learn not to judge people by their color, race, or how much money they have. This story is somewhat sad but it has a good point to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Kira-Kira Review

    Katie is a girl who is nine years old. She has an older sister named Lynn. Katie, Lynn, and their parents move to Chesterfield. They have to drive through HUGE cities like St. Louis. They buy an apartment in Chesterfield. Katie's mom gives birth to a little boy named Sammy. Lynn starts growing up and is intrested in boys, has new friends, and Katie starts to feel left out. A little while later, Lynn gets sick. After months of Katie nursing her and taking care of her, Lynn dies. She had always loved the ocean, so after Lynn's funeral,Katie moves to California. There, she can hear Lynn's voice in the waves. To Katie, the Ocean was Kira-kira, or beautiful. I gave this book four stars because it was kind of sad when Lynn died. I liked it because Katie had lots of character. Katie was also very funny. Lynn was fun loving until she got sick. Then, Lynn was weak and tired. This book made me realize that being the little sister isn't all fun and games, but you get blamed for things too. This was a very inspirational book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Making it Matter

    In the book, Kira-Kira, by Cynthia Kadonata, Katie lives with her family in Iowa. They are Japanese-American and almost the only ones in their town. Katie¿s parents own a small grocery store. Katie loves her life there, and her sister Lynn teaches her about the seeing the special qualities of an ordinary person, thing, or situation. Katie¿s parents tell her that they are moving to Southern Georgia. They are going to live near some of their family and work in a factory where they raise and process chickens. They say there will be more opportunities in Georgia than in Iowa. When they arrive in Georgia, Katie and her family live in a small apartment, but they are saving for a house. Kira-kira means glittering or shining, and Lynn teaches Katie to make everything seem kira-kira. Soon, Lynn isn¿t feeling well, and they take her to the doctor. The doctor isn¿t sure what is wrong with her, but he thinks that she is anemic. (Anemia is not having enough iron in your blood). Lynn takes all her pills, but she doesn¿t seem to be getting any better. Katie finds out that her mother is going to have a baby. When he is born, he is named Sammy. Katie takes care of him a lot because her parents are always working and Lynn is too sick to do it. When she goes to school, she feels bad about leaving Lynn alone at home. Katie¿s parents are working even more now to save money for a new house. Lynn is not getting much better, but some days she can get out of bed to do things. While waiting for her mother at work, she meets a girl named Sylvia, and they become friends. Katie¿s parents decide it will be better for Lynn if they move to a better house. When they move, Lynn seems like she is getting better. Lynn and Katie take Sammy on a walk one day. He gets his leg caught in a trap in a field, and they have to bring him to the hospital. Now her parents have to pay for Lynn¿s and Sammy¿s medical bills, and on the new house. Katie is not doing well in school even though she is smart. Things are not looking good for her family. I really enjoyed this book. I liked the way it was written, with Katie as the narrator. I also liked the good descriptions and detail. This is a book that almost anyone could enjoy. I give it four out of five dots. When something got boring, it would quickly keep moving. Also, I liked how the book didn¿t stop and give you every detail right away, but would give it to you as you read on. Kira-Kira won a Newberry Medal in 2005, and I think it deserves it. It was definitely an insight into what living in another culture is like, and I think people should read it to get a different perspective than usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    4 1/2 rating.

    I give Kira Kira, written by Cynthia Kadohata, a four-and-a-half star rating. My four-and-a-half star rating was based upon the problem and solutions, wording and vocabulary, relations toward real life, and explanations of the characters. The problems and solutions such as when Sammy got his foot caught in the animal trap, showed Katie, the main character, how much her brother, Sammy, and her older sister, Lynn, cared about eachother. When Katie and her family had to move from Iowa to Georgia for her parents' jobs in hatcheries, becuase their Oriental grocery store was going down hill and couldn't afford a house for their own, this was another problem. The solution was Katie and Lynn finally making friends, Amber and Silly, and excelled in their lives. The story was told by Katie and so it had small vocabulary since she was in her younger years. The characters were well explained, Katie looks up to her sister and wishes she could be as smart and as pretty as Lynn, Lynn is very intelligent and spends half her life sick. Their parents are very up tight and are treated differently because they are Japanese. I didn't rate Kira Kira a five star rating becuase sometimes the story and settings became hard to make clear. I recommend reading 'To Kill a Mockingbird' and 'Out of the Dust'. I enjoy playing soccer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Kira-Kira in a Nutshell

    Kira-Kira is a heartwarming story by Cynthia Kadohata, I give Kira-Kira four stars. When a Japanese family moves to Georgia from there home in Iowa, Katie and Lynn find their lives changing in many ways. Soon after moving Katie finds that to the children in Georgia she is very different. Lynn has taught Katie that there are only a few things that fit the discription of 'kira-kira' (glittering), those things are the sea, the sky, and people's eyes. I give Kira-Kira four stars because at many points in the book I didn't want to put the book down, but others I wasn't all that excited. A few extremely exciting parts are when the children go camping. Together they make the journey of camping pretty interesting. Another eye opener was when the family finds less and less places to turn for Lynn, and her terrible illness. A joyful point is when Lynn and Katie's new baby brother is born, named Sam. Lynn has found another best friend that seems to be by her side, well all except when Lynn is ill. To Katie, Amber ( Lynn's best friend ) is just a phony that simply wants attention. But is Amber really a phony or a true friend. During the summer when Lynn is ill, Katie and Sam a forced to go to work with their mother, that part was a little dull. School was a part in which was expressed very little, and could be expressed much more. Many times I found myself reading about how Lynn can't eat and that Katie is trying to help out the family. I expect that was getting slightly tedious. I think that the story could have Lynn and Katie's parents involved much more. I love book that are humorous yet have some drama worked into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    It was great!

    It's a great book. It talks about how Katie's family struggles through with being Japanese and people staring at them. If you read it, it a litte confusing... but when i finished the book, i understood it. It was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    A touching story

    I wanted to read this book for no particular reason, maybe because it won an award. When I read it I liked it very much. This book is pretty much all about Katie's relationship with her sister and her family. It was great and very sad. You really feel like you're going through everything that their family is going through. For example handling medical bills, taking care of Lynn, trying to get Katie to work harder in school, trying to work all the time at a dirty place to provide for their family. When something really horrible happens they pretty much want to give up on all they have worked on until they realize that bad things happen and the best thing they can do is move on and live life to its fullest. I really enjoyed Kira-Kira and I would highly reccomend it. It's a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    a good read

    This was an amazing book. However, I gave it 4 stars because it was very sad. Why? Read it and find out. This book is well written, and Katie was my favorite character. The author was very descriptive, and the characters well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2