BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kiss

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One word: disturbing.

As a 15 year old girl with two parents, still married, who love me in the traditional way, I was definitely disturbed by this memoir. I couldn't put it down. The way in which everything was described made me feel surges of emotion that can't be put into words, except, o...
As a 15 year old girl with two parents, still married, who love me in the traditional way, I was definitely disturbed by this memoir. I couldn't put it down. The way in which everything was described made me feel surges of emotion that can't be put into words, except, of course, by Kathryn Harrison, who wrote about her dark secret beautifully. This book was something I picked up to pass a sick day home from school; I was fully unaware of what I was getting myself into. This is a masterpiece. It stirs the emotions inside, captivates, and almost doesn't allow for rest breaks. Thank you, Mrs. Harrison, for a most interesting day.

posted by Anonymous on February 29, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

weird

I thought this book was weird, and not as in good weird. I picked it up at the airport, it's small and doesn't take long to read. I probably would not have finished it had been longer. I'd buy something else if I were you.

posted by 2880216 on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    weird

    I thought this book was weird, and not as in good weird. I picked it up at the airport, it's small and doesn't take long to read. I probably would not have finished it had been longer. I'd buy something else if I were you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    The Kiss, a haunting truth...

    This book is about the struggle of a girl that wanted to liberate herself from her unloving mother and her obsessive father. Kathryn grew up with her grandparents and her emotionally distant mother. Her mother was always too busy, involved in herself, sleeping, and lived in a world that her daughter did not take part in. She met her father 20 years into her life, when she was entering college. Seeking that comfort and love, she involved herself in an affair with her own father. That sense of belonging and love made her feel secure, but the truth was unbearable, even for her to handle. I would definitely recommend this book to people of all ages, especially young adults and teenagers. The topic is disconcerting, yet makes you reflect on your own life. Once you start reading, you won¿t want to put it down. It¿s written in a simplistic way, yet integrated me in it as if I was the protagonist. There were parts that were so emotionally disturbing, that they brought tears to my eyes. I can¿t express how much admiration I have for Kathryn. She¿s an admirable person for dealing with such a burden, at such a young age. It has made me realize how lucky I¿ve been and that what I have experienced is nothing in comparison to her story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Disturbs, Distrupts, and poalizes the public readers

    This book¿s title is The Kiss, by Kathryn Harrison. This memoir is powerful, it¿s about the soul of a young girl and a terrible injury that happened between her and a man who should of protected her. Every so often a book come a long that will leave its readers disturbed, disrupted, and left in shock. A young girl had an unusual relationship with her father. A relationship that should not happen, she felt accepted only when she was with her father. Her father had a keen sense in making her feel welcome and accepted. That was the reason why she felt this love; hate feeling when she was around him. It was like she felt loved by him, but new the relationship was not right, nor it would not work out. I would recommend this book to young adults. I only say young adults because its context. They would feel sorry for this poor girl and feel a need to reach out and help young girls who are the exact same way. It made me realized how bad certain people have it and how lucky people are to have good lives. This book made me stronger and I know feel more powerful. I know what is right from wrong and how to stand on my own two feet. So yes I would recommend this book to young adults that need help with the same things that I did. Hopefully the people who read it will feel more at ease with their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    A reviewer from virginia

    i do enjoy a good novel, but this one lacks ALOT OF DETAIL, i wanted to hear how she felt with her feelings of detail,i didnt want to figure it out, i wanted to hear if from her and what she went through from detail to detail, and i got bored with the flip flop from adult hood to child hood.i felt like there was alot of repeating of the same thing, i just think the book could of been put together better than what it was, i was surprised how she never got hostile with what her father did to her,she took it very calmly and quiet .........to me i feel like the book is unfinished, there was alot missing, but i can sympathize with her......sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2002

    Every man and woman alive would do well to read this book!

    The Kiss is an excellent book. It shows such great insight into how perversity is not only passed down through generations but justified by the offenders themselves. The perverse nature of her Father's affections born of a infantile psyche serve to remind us that sexual predators cross both boundaries of economic and educational position. The examples of what has taken place in this authors life are constant reminders that there is a Great Difference between a Mature Being who understands and respects the sacred boundaries of Father, Daughter or any other immediate family member. It's a fine line between perverse desire and what is truly love. From the moment I started this book I simply couldn't put it down. Now this should be a recommended reader in Universities across the nation. There are so many blatant abuses of definitions and intentions as it pertains to love and loving. I believe the author gives us, through her own experiences, knowledge to better arm ourselves and our loved ones against such infantile beings that may exist in our own immediate families. Thank you so much for having the courage to share your personal story with so many of us out here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    Oddly gripping despite a rather repugnant theme..

    I read 'The Kiss' when it was first published in 1998, having been a huge fan of Harrison's novel 'Poison'. I read this book in one evening. It is amazingly gripping despite the incest theme. I, like another reviewer, also had a relationship with a much older man, and did understand the intensity of the connection involved in such situations. In the case of the book, I feel it is also important to note that while the man WAS her father, he did not raise her. This, at least to me, seems to allow for a bit more sympathy and understanding. The book is fascinating in a perverse way, and I would especially recommend it if you're a fan of Harrison's other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    One word: disturbing.

    As a 15 year old girl with two parents, still married, who love me in the traditional way, I was definitely disturbed by this memoir. I couldn't put it down. The way in which everything was described made me feel surges of emotion that can't be put into words, except, of course, by Kathryn Harrison, who wrote about her dark secret beautifully. This book was something I picked up to pass a sick day home from school; I was fully unaware of what I was getting myself into. This is a masterpiece. It stirs the emotions inside, captivates, and almost doesn't allow for rest breaks. Thank you, Mrs. Harrison, for a most interesting day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Will

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    boring

    Yes, this book is about a gripping theme which would seemingly make you want to read it, but in reality, it is boring and repetitious. The main character has a strange relationship with her mother, and is pretty much raised by her grandparents, until her father comes into her life again and is enamored by her. Their relationship escalates into lust for each other, and they begin to be sexual partners. The main character actually allows this, which makes it for a really strange plot. I thought the book would focus more on their sexual relationship. Instead it focuses more on the fact that the main character just wants to be wanted. Bottom line: the book is boring and not worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Intense

    This book was beautifully written by Kathryn Harrison, but I have to wonder what were her motives for publishing it? Was it part of the healing process to tell the world her story of incest with her father, or did she just do it for shock value and publicity? It was hard to put the book down and I would recommend it to anyone, but it's certainly not a book for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting

    I read this memoir over a decade ago. I still talk about it all these years later. I think about how when reading it, there where many times I had to set it down and pull myself out of her head and back into my own before I could continue. I love books that make you uncomfortable. She had the courage to tell her dark secrets. Do you have the nerve to read them?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disturbing story, lovely writing.

    The subject matter is so utterly offensive and disturbing, it is hard
    to be objective. The story is interesting but you almost feel dirty for
    learning of such deep dark secrets. I really enjoyed the author's
    later novel on footbinding and had heard about her memoir. Obviously,
    she was able to move past such a troubling upbringing and go on to much
    success as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Its okay.....not the best, not the worst

    The book is okay. Its a little to jumpy for me. As I was reading I kept thinking its got to get better than this. But its an okay book, I finished it in one afternoon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Brave!

    At the beginning of the book, I kinda find it boring. But the more I read into it, the more I am touched by the author. Unlike many other autobiography, she showed no anger, no hatred. She told the story and leave the reader to think, to feel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    beautifully disturbing

    the story is absolutely disturbing. it is by far the most amazing writing a have ever read. reading this memoir is an experience that shouldn't be passed up. i read this for a writing class in college and am grateful for the opportunity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Haunting and beautifully composed

    A haunting tale, which is a story of control and abuse. Initially I was lead to believe that this was a sexual story, which it is not. The author writes in a haunting style that lets the reader draw their own conclusions. However, this is not a book for those that are squeamish and live their lives hiding from the truth. Definitely one of the best books that I have ever read. In reading this book, I understood a lot more about myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2000

    Lyrical, gripping

    Incest survivors owe a great debt to Kathryn Harrison. Unimaginably gifted, she lyrically explains the forces at play in an incestuous relationship and leaves the reader with a vivid sense of the shell shock that comes in incest's aftermath. Reviewers have described the numbness present in Ms. Harrison's writing; in this she reminds me of Marguerite Duras.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2