BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kiss

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Christian romance and suspense┬┐

Kiss
Ted Dekker & Erin Healy
Thomas Nelson, 2008
ISBN: 9781595544704
Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 12/08
5 Stars
Christian romance and suspense┬┐
Shauna and her brother were in an accident. For several weeks, Shauna lay in...
Kiss
Ted Dekker & Erin Healy
Thomas Nelson, 2008
ISBN: 9781595544704
Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 12/08
5 Stars
Christian romance and suspense┬┐
Shauna and her brother were in an accident. For several weeks, Shauna lay in a coma. When she wakes up, she has no memory of the last six months. Her father, a Texas senator with Presidential aspirations, and stepmother blame her for the accident that left her younger brother severely brain damaged. Determination to seek the truth places Shauna in grave danger.
This delightful Christian novel is never preachy but touches on faith in God. Ted Dekker and Erin Healy work well together. I will be watching for more of their combined efforts. Kiss has a touch of paranormal, with enough twist and turns to keep the reader on the edge of their seat.

posted by ReviewYourBook.com on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disjointed

At the beginning, the book confused me with its disjointed storyline, but I persevered and discovered that after a car accident, the protagonist is having a paranormal experience whereby she goes into a trance-like state and steals memories from others with a kiss. Scie...
At the beginning, the book confused me with its disjointed storyline, but I persevered and discovered that after a car accident, the protagonist is having a paranormal experience whereby she goes into a trance-like state and steals memories from others with a kiss. Science fiction is not my favorite genre, but I suspended my disbelief so that I could enjoy this tale. However, it never rings true.

Imagine: A daughter estranged from her father to the point that throughout her life, he barely speaks to her and on many occasions physically turns his back on her. She refers to him by his first name, yet she calls him "Daddy" at the book's conclusion with very little provocation. That is a hard one for me to swallow.

However, the book is not without redemption. There is a good question that develops. Pain or perspective--which one would you choose? Would you choose to have your memory wiped out, thereby removing all painful memories, as well as any foundations for decision-making? Or are all memories worth keeping?

The human trafficking issue is hinted at in several places, but is never developed; perhaps a sequel is in the works. The ending is rushed in the final chapter, reading like an epilogue. There were a few surprises; it's hard to figure out who's the good guy. I guess this is one for Dekker fans but it wasn't one for me.

posted by Smilingsally on January 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an excellent novel.

    I enjoyed this novel thoroughly. This kind of story was completely new to me. Ted Dekker, once again, did an excellent job at surprising his readers with something entirely different from his other works. This is the first time Dekker has a female protagonist in one of his novels, but he was able to pull it off. If you are a reader who likes thriller/suspense novels, this is certainly a novel and author for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    Kiss- The Latest and Greatest Novel in Christian Suspense!

    If you like Christian suspense, you are going to love Kiss by Ted Dekker and Erin Healey! The novel starts with the main character, Shauna, waking up in a hospital room. Her short-term memory has been wiped clean. She does not remember the car accident she was in, though she is told that she was driving her car under the influence of drugs and that the collision resulted in her beloved brother, Rudy, being critically injured. Shauna can't remember the months leading up to the accident, but she knows that she is not a drug-user. Shauna leaves the hospital and goes to her father's house to recover. Shauna's father, Landon, is running for the presidential office and is the owner of one the largest pharmaceutical companies in America. Shauna's relationshiunp with her father and her step-mother, Patrice, is strained. In fact, they do not even want to allow her to see her injured brother, Rudy, who is now confined to a wheelchair, unable to communicate. Shauna begins to have vivid dreams, strange dreams, in which she is another person. Shauna has the nagging feeling that something is not right. She is unsure of who she can trust and who she should fear. Kiss is a page-turner that will keep you guessing until the end. I could hardly put it down from the time I picked it up! I highly recommend Kiss if you enjoy mystery or suspense novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Short and sweet, but thoroughly worth the read

    I read a few reviews before I finished the book and I was concerned that Dekker/Healy would show all their cards before the end. That really wasn't the case...enough was left to ponder to keep me reading right through to the last page. I prefer when Dekker writes alone or with Peretti, but this book wasn't a disappointment. I'm thinking it would probably appeal to the younger set of teens/twenty-somethings and may hand it off to a student.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Kiss is much more than a Kiss...

    One of the things I loved about Erin Healy collaborating with Ted Dekker was that it seemed to take the hard edge (gore) off the thriller aspect of The Kiss and made it a book that engaged me, drew me in, mystified me, thrilled me and I never felt like I had to "close my proverbial eyes". The Kiss has a very strong storyline that made me wonder and kept me guessing. Did Shauna really cause the accident that severely injured her brother? Was there a 3rd person in the car? After her waking up from her coma, why does Shauna keep getting new memories of other people? Why don't they know what she is talking about? If she gets too close to the truth will she be okay? Is her step mother really as mean as Shauna remembers or is it her dad that is bad to the bone?<BR/><BR/> Deeply riveting, and totally engrossing - if you like Ted Dekker, then do not miss this one with Erin Healy - but if maybe Ted's previous books have been a little hard core scary for you then The Kiss is the book to check out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    KISS Starts off Strong

    I started this book with great excitement and high hopes. The premise sounded fascinating and it's the first book I've read by Ted Dekker (co-written with Erin Healy).<BR/><BR/>It started out great. The prologue grabbed me and I couldn't stop turning the pages. I read the first half in one day. Almost in one sitting. Twists, turns, high stakes, and a maze of clues all made for an exhilarating read. But, once Shauna starts figuring out who she can and cannot trust, it started to lose me. More than once, she puts herself in situations that make no sense. Her father, Landon McAllister, seems a bit gullible for a presidential candidate. And the final confrontation felt somewhat anticlimactic, with Shauna not taking a big enough role.<BR/><BR/>Having said all that, I still enjoyed the book and would rate it at 4 out of 5 stars. I just wish the end had lived up to the promise of the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A unique thriller.

    Shauna McAllister wakes up from a six week coma with six months of memory loss her doctors can't explain. During her coma Shauna was on a trial mix of medications based on her DNA profile which, as she later learns, have a mysterious side effect. Faced with the reality of the accident that led to her coma Shauna turns to Wayne Spade. He's one of the few people from her inner circle that haven't turned their back on her yet she remembers nothing of their relationship before her accident.<BR/><BR/>As Shauna begins to investigate the accident, thinking it will help her memories return, the result is more questions instead of answers. It seems that her father's company isn't as legit as it looks to be and discovering the truth puts her in a killer's sights. <BR/><BR/>Kiss has a great twist that gives this thriller a unique story line. Throughout the whole book you're guessing who's a good guy and who's a bad guy with surprising revelations. The story flowed nicely with the action and the writing was filled with so many clues that by page fifty I'd already come up with three different theories on what was going on. They were all wrong by the way. I highly recommend this book to suspense/thriller lovers and can't wait to read the next Dekker/Healy collaboration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Reminds me of a book...

    Reminds me of a book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Love him

    Ted dekker is an amazing author! I love christian nobles especially the ones that you can NOT put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Had to re-read this one, it's THAT good!

    Shauna is lost, not physically, but in her mind. After an auto accident that leaves her brother a vegetable and her in critical condition, the only thing she knows for sure is her name. She finds a way to regain her memory: steal memories from others who knew details about the accident. But was it an accident?
    Ted Dekker is on the same level as Tina Yeager ("Seeing Things") for suspenseful, mind-bending drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Surprise

    I am a huge Dekker fan...such a fan in fact that I didnt want anyone messing with Dekker's originality when it comes to writing. However, this did not dissapoint me. At the beginning I felt a little bit disconnected, not really into it. But as soon as Dekker started writing I dove in. Original, descriptive enough to give you a picture but not to bore you to death. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    Easy Read

    I don't usually read Christian Fiction but found Ted Dekker's book, Kiss, to be a great read. Dekker was great at painting a picture in my mind and allowing me to see the scenes as the pages turn. I really enjoy political conspiracy stories and loved how Dekker used this to shadow the characters. Being new to this genre I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the redeeming quality of the book. Again, I didn't know what to expect (I was expecting cheese) but am glad I came across this book and will read more Dekker in the future. The only negative would be that it is not that challenging of a book to read but I guess thats what you want from a fiction book.At times it was a little predictable when a new character would appear but I would certainly recommend this to a friend and will continue to look into Christian fiction if it's this entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Interesting Premise that is Well Done

    I picked up the book based on a recommendation from a friend. The cover led me to believe it was either a vampire book or dark romance. I was pleasantly surprised that it was neither (although I like good vampire books and romances). The book has an original premise that was fairly plausible. It was quite suspenseful and the ultimate resolution was thrilling. Character development was the weakest point with most of the characters being single-faceted and predictable. The prologue and epilogue contained some beautiful thoughts that I have shared with several people (they didn't need to read the book to understand). I was quite impressed and look forward to reading other books by the authors. Definitely a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth a read

    True to Ted Dekker - this story is inventive and engaging. You are always waiting to see were the plot will take you next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    shocking Thriller

    Well written...Keep you on the egde of your seat plot...Kept you guessing who was the bad guy...all the way to the end...
    I can't wait for his new novel "Burn" coming january 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mind Play

    Pretty much any Ted Dekker book is a good read and this is no exception! Maybe we can look forward to more combos between Dekker and Healy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    Kiss will keep you guessing!

    This is the first time I have read one of Ted Dekker books with Erin Healy. It as a little different writing style than Ted's other books but it was pretty good with a lot of twists in it that left you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dekker's Suspense and Adventure with a dash of Romance!

    Having only read one other book by Dekker I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this one as the other book I read was a little too intense for my taste. Kiss however, while still edge of your seat suspense, was much more up my alley. Dekker and Healy pack a pretty serious dose of romance into this one that I don't recall in the other Dekker book I read but they also manage to maintain a fast paced, action packed story with characters the reader comes to love, hate or want to love or hate despite something that makes them not quite up to par as a bad guy or good guy.
    When things start adding up to danger and people not being who they seem, Shauna starts to question not only her own memories or lack thereof but also who can really be trusted and how much her father really knows about what is going on at the pharmaceutical company as well as with his presidential campaign funds. Is all the messy stuff happening behind his back and who is really in charge? Will Shauna find out who is telling the truth and who is out to keep her in the dark and why? Read this adventurous mystery that keeps you glued to your seat till the end and presents twists and turns you'd never expect, for these answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Kiss" by Dekker & Healy a superb suspense novel

    When I picked up the book, I read on the cover, "She steals more than your heart." (Interesting) On the back cover: "Let me tell you all I know for sure. My name. Shauna." (Intriguing) At the bottom of the back cover: "A New Kind of Suspense from Dekker and Healy-Where Heart Pounding meets Heart Warming." (Inviting) I hadn't heard of Ted Dekker or Erin Healy before I saw this novel. Any one of the "hooks" would've caused me to buy it, along with the synopsis on the back. Having each one build on the other created a sense of necessity within me. I NEEDED to read this book!

    As Shauna recuperates from her auto accident injuries, the reader is pulled alongside her in the schemes and plots against her. Can one woman really endure all of the trauma she suffers? Yet she finds a ray of hope in a housekeeper and a news reporter hidden away in a small town.

    This is one book that is not easy to put down. Even when I couldn't get back to it right away (What do you mean "What's for supper?" I'm trying to read...), Shauna's dilemma haunted me. Who could she trust? All the way to the end, I found myself wanting to buckle my seatbelt.what a ride!

    So.step away from your computer right now and go buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    The Kiss- really good

    The Kiss by Ted Dekker and Erin Healy was an excellently written book, though it was not my <BR/>favorite mystery/fiction/romance book. The book is about Shauna, who has lost her memory, from<BR/>an accident she can not remember and she can also not remember why everyone around her <BR/>will not tell her what happened and why she has a strange feeling that someone is trying to kill <BR/>her. The story tells of how she tries to remember the last 6 months and how she finds out who <BR/>she can trust and who she should not trust, unless willing to die for the truth. <BR/><BR/>The Kiss definitely has some different things happen in it. But these thing that happen are<BR/>not too odd that it would confuse someone who is reading it.( I do not want to spoil the book <BR/>for those who have not read it by giving away plots) If you like the fiction that includes: politics,mystery, and <BR/>romance you should like this book. There is some political stuff in The Kiss that<BR/>I particularly did not like, which made it less enjoyable for me to read.(The political things in the book are <BR/>not based on a real politician, as far as I can tell) This is just my opinion and others may enjoy <BR/>the politics in it more than I did. Other than that, I very much enjoyed this book and would suggest it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Kiss

    I just finished ¿Kiss¿ by Ted Dekker and Erin Healy; this is the first book I have read by either of these authors. I have longed to read Ted¿s writing for I love mystery and suspense and I understand that he combines these two elements within a Christian framework. The book ¿Kiss¿ is a mystery and does include quite a bit of suspense, with tones of religion sprinkled through out. A wealthy family is stretched to the seams by a father-daughter, love hate relationship. The father is running for President of the US and everything the daughter does is viewed as an attempt to bring him down in the public¿s eye. The daughter survives an awful car crash yet her recent memory has been buried or stolen. The mystery unfolds as to what is in her memory that others do not want her to recall, why is her memory missing, and who can she trust to help her uncover the truth. With every chapter a new twist is thrown in and the break down of what really lies at the bottom of all this mayhem is slowly uncovered. A great read, one I would recommend to readers who like multiple layer mysteries, romance and faith in good to overcome evil.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2