Customer Reviews for

Kiss

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Christian romance and suspense┬┐

Kiss
Ted Dekker & Erin Healy
Thomas Nelson, 2008
ISBN: 9781595544704
Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 12/08
5 Stars
Christian romance and suspense┬┐
Shauna and her brother were in an accident. For several weeks, Shauna lay in...
Kiss
Ted Dekker & Erin Healy
Thomas Nelson, 2008
ISBN: 9781595544704
Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 12/08
5 Stars
Christian romance and suspense┬┐
Shauna and her brother were in an accident. For several weeks, Shauna lay in a coma. When she wakes up, she has no memory of the last six months. Her father, a Texas senator with Presidential aspirations, and stepmother blame her for the accident that left her younger brother severely brain damaged. Determination to seek the truth places Shauna in grave danger.
This delightful Christian novel is never preachy but touches on faith in God. Ted Dekker and Erin Healy work well together. I will be watching for more of their combined efforts. Kiss has a touch of paranormal, with enough twist and turns to keep the reader on the edge of their seat.

posted by ReviewYourBook.com on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disjointed

At the beginning, the book confused me with its disjointed storyline, but I persevered and discovered that after a car accident, the protagonist is having a paranormal experience whereby she goes into a trance-like state and steals memories from others with a kiss. Scie...
At the beginning, the book confused me with its disjointed storyline, but I persevered and discovered that after a car accident, the protagonist is having a paranormal experience whereby she goes into a trance-like state and steals memories from others with a kiss. Science fiction is not my favorite genre, but I suspended my disbelief so that I could enjoy this tale. However, it never rings true.

Imagine: A daughter estranged from her father to the point that throughout her life, he barely speaks to her and on many occasions physically turns his back on her. She refers to him by his first name, yet she calls him "Daddy" at the book's conclusion with very little provocation. That is a hard one for me to swallow.

However, the book is not without redemption. There is a good question that develops. Pain or perspective--which one would you choose? Would you choose to have your memory wiped out, thereby removing all painful memories, as well as any foundations for decision-making? Or are all memories worth keeping?

The human trafficking issue is hinted at in several places, but is never developed; perhaps a sequel is in the works. The ending is rushed in the final chapter, reading like an epilogue. There were a few surprises; it's hard to figure out who's the good guy. I guess this is one for Dekker fans but it wasn't one for me.

posted by Smilingsally on January 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Amazing book!!!!

    Ok this is one of the best books ive read in while. I just started it and im most sefinatly sucked into it. I havent finished it yet but patrice is mmking me so angry.......i wish i could jump into the book and slap her myself!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Love him

    Ted dekker is an amazing author! I love christian nobles especially the ones that you can NOT put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Couldn't even finish it

    I was very unhappy with this book. The story becomes stale and repetitive within the first 40 pages. I made it to about page 100 and couldn't finish it because I was so bored. This is my first experience with a Ted Dekker book, and it will be my last. I really wish I hadn't wasted my $5.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Amazing

    This+book+was+so+detailed%2C+exciting%2C+and+suspenceful%2C+yet+it+was+the+sweet+touch+that+really+made+it+great.+I+loved+how+they+created+each+character+with+its+own+trademark%28%27babe%27%2C+%27lovely%27%2C+etc.%29.+It+really+made+it+seem+real.+I+could+definitely+see+this+as+a+movie.+It+has+that+Bourne+effect+to+it.+Loved+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Had to re-read this one, it's THAT good!

    Shauna is lost, not physically, but in her mind. After an auto accident that leaves her brother a vegetable and her in critical condition, the only thing she knows for sure is her name. She finds a way to regain her memory: steal memories from others who knew details about the accident. But was it an accident?
    Ted Dekker is on the same level as Tina Yeager ("Seeing Things") for suspenseful, mind-bending drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Nothing Like It

    There is no book like this one. It is a must read. The plot is like no other book I have ever read and it kept me engaged to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kiss, By Ted Dekker and Erin Healy

    I have read many books by Ted Dekker and this book has a little different flavor than the others. The very first page caught my interest. I found the characters to be very interesting and convincing in their individual roles, which were marvelously woven to fit together with the Main plot. This was a thriller/Mystery/adventure type story. I truly could not put the book down. Wonderful clean reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Touching

    Being an 18 year old male, I was skeptical for a suspense romance written by one of my favorite authors and a seemingly unknown co-author. Surpringsly, I absolutely loved this book i finished it in a day and a half and the touching ending made it the first book i actually came to tears because of. I would strongly recommend it. Its message of past redemption and hope is unparelelled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Great and Interesting Book

    This is my first Ted Dekker book and I was instantly hooked. I havent even finished reading the book yet but just had to write a review. I have purchased a few other of his books on the bargain list and I am very glad I did. He is becoming one of my favorite authors. I have purchased Skin and Blink of eye as well as Adam and cant wait to read them. I am now searching for his entire collection for my library. I am also finding Frank Peretti to be as intriguing and purchased a few of his books as well such as hangmans curse, nightmare acadamy and the Oath which I cant wait to read. These 2 authors are definatley at the top of my list and ones that I will be following in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Surprise

    I am a huge Dekker fan...such a fan in fact that I didnt want anyone messing with Dekker's originality when it comes to writing. However, this did not dissapoint me. At the beginning I felt a little bit disconnected, not really into it. But as soon as Dekker started writing I dove in. Original, descriptive enough to give you a picture but not to bore you to death. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Great Book!

    I loved this book!!! It was very good. It wasn't what I was expecting, but the plot and characters kept me guessing. The romantic twist to it is great also, very heart-warming. This is a book I think everyone who likes romantic, Christian, thrilling, dramatic, books would surely enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    Easy Read

    I don't usually read Christian Fiction but found Ted Dekker's book, Kiss, to be a great read. Dekker was great at painting a picture in my mind and allowing me to see the scenes as the pages turn. I really enjoy political conspiracy stories and loved how Dekker used this to shadow the characters. Being new to this genre I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the redeeming quality of the book. Again, I didn't know what to expect (I was expecting cheese) but am glad I came across this book and will read more Dekker in the future. The only negative would be that it is not that challenging of a book to read but I guess thats what you want from a fiction book.At times it was a little predictable when a new character would appear but I would certainly recommend this to a friend and will continue to look into Christian fiction if it's this entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Loved It!!

    I LOVED this book. It is really well done. It is suspensful and kept my interest. I had it read in a few days. This is my first Ted Dekker book. I will definatly be reading his other work. This book satisfied all of the things I want in a book. It had drama, suspense, romance, God, reconsiliation and all while staying totally appropriate. I do not like to read books with bad language or sexual content. This book avoided that completely. I will read this again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Interesting Premise that is Well Done

    I picked up the book based on a recommendation from a friend. The cover led me to believe it was either a vampire book or dark romance. I was pleasantly surprised that it was neither (although I like good vampire books and romances). The book has an original premise that was fairly plausible. It was quite suspenseful and the ultimate resolution was thrilling. Character development was the weakest point with most of the characters being single-faceted and predictable. The prologue and epilogue contained some beautiful thoughts that I have shared with several people (they didn't need to read the book to understand). I was quite impressed and look forward to reading other books by the authors. Definitely a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth a read

    True to Ted Dekker - this story is inventive and engaging. You are always waiting to see were the plot will take you next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Excellent read!

    Not Dekker's typical good vs evil with strong religious undertones, but excellent thriller with great plot twists. I'm sure this will end up a movie as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    A very good book

    personally i believe this book accomplished all the things i like in a book, it was romantic, it was full of suspense, i even felt i was part of it, i felt betrayed, i also felt the sadness that Shauna the main character felt. I felt very related to the book because i'm pretty sure i would do the same thing for the ones i love. I recommend this book for anyone that wants to stay up late at night reading until you finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    shocking Thriller

    Well written...Keep you on the egde of your seat plot...Kept you guessing who was the bad guy...all the way to the end...
    I can't wait for his new novel "Burn" coming january 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    Pleasantly Predictable

    Kiss, by Ted Dekker and Erin Healy, is a romanticized version of Ted Dekker's thriller novels. An unfortunate accident has robbed Shauna of her memories and she is relentlessly pursuing the truth. While trying to mend a torn relationship with her presidential candidate father, her boyfriend, whom she cannot remember, follows her every move. She is unsure of whom she can trust because people tell her things about her past that she cannot accept as truth. She also fears that they may be telling her the truth, thus she questions her own integrity.
    The title Kiss could easily lead to false assumptions about its meaning. Although the novel has elements of hidden romance, the title itself refers to a supernatural power Shauna possesses which requires physical contact and emotional vulnerability. This ability eventually leads her to the truth, but her selfish disregard for the effects it may have on others prevents the reader from fully empathizing with her. Despite the kiss's symbolism of emotional vulnerability and connection, it defeats its purpose by severing the connection between the reader and the main character.
    Another element that detracts from the novel is its predictability. It contains an obvious attempt at suspense throughout the novel as well as in the unanswered questions the reader is left with at its conclusion. However, it is not difficult to decipher the true intentions of each character from the beginning. Other than Shauna's father, the characters have a black or white personality which makes them unrealistic because it is seldom that a person is either all good or all evil.
    The writing style of this novel is appropriate for the genre. Because the genre is mystery/suspense, the frequent use of rhetorical questions is expected. However, Dekker and Healy tend to overuse this literary device, asking questions they should assume the reader is asking on his/her own. Even though information is not revealed, the book is easy to read because all of the necessary questions have already been asked. There are no hidden clues that allow the reader to decipher the truth for him/herself, only what is directly written on the pages.
    In spite of these faults, this book is an enjoyable and pleasant read. It is engaging, wholesome, and the message is one of integrity. The plot has some interesting twists; the concept behind it is out of the ordinary, demonstrating the individuality and creativity of the writers. Together, Ted Dekker and Erin Healy have done a creditable job of telling an intriguing, unusual tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mind Play

    Pretty much any Ted Dekker book is a good read and this is no exception! Maybe we can look forward to more combos between Dekker and Healy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7