Customer Reviews for

A Kiss Before the Apocalypse (Remy Chandler Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Someone finally got it right.

Over the last twenty five years, I have read hundreds if not thousands of books. Most of which fall in the Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. Quite a few of the books had a 'fallen angel' as a character in the work. In all of those efforts, I cannot remember one author who made me ...
Over the last twenty five years, I have read hundreds if not thousands of books. Most of which fall in the Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. Quite a few of the books had a 'fallen angel' as a character in the work. In all of those efforts, I cannot remember one author who made me care about him, her or it. No one was able to humanize the inhuman. They were cardboard cutouts, marching in predictable steps thru the storyline, and just as remarkable. Now comes along Thomas E. Sniegoski. In 'A Kiss Before the Apocalypse', the character of Remy Chandler, onetime celestial being, now a hard working Boston PI, becomes a person, not a caricature. Sniegoski makes you understand why anyone would literally leave Heaven to walk amongst a bunch of overachieving baboons. He will make you understand why someone would do what was right even though it cost them the love of their, oh so long, life. He will make you care. The irony of this book, with characters like Remy, the sad but immortal Lazarus or even the Angel of Death, my favorite character was Marlowe, Remy's dog. The most hard hearted person in the world will give an AAAGH, whenever Marlowe runs across the page. Pick up this book, you will not be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Angels and demons and detectives oh my

I bought this because the writer was listed in an anthology that included a short story by Jim Butcher. I bought one book by every writer included, except Butcher (I alredy own them all). This was not the worst book I bought that day, but I cannot recommend it. I did ma...
I bought this because the writer was listed in an anthology that included a short story by Jim Butcher. I bought one book by every writer included, except Butcher (I alredy own them all). This was not the worst book I bought that day, but I cannot recommend it. I did manage to get all the way through it, but only because it was really short. The main character was really hard to accept, an angel who believes in all the things associated with a Judeo Christian afterlife stuff, but not the Judeo Christian during life stuff. Reminds me of the old song lyric, they say they want the kingdom, but they don't want God in it. The hero would have been much more interesting if he made a commitment one way or the other.

posted by Archie-Goodwin on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Angels and demons and detectives oh my

    I bought this because the writer was listed in an anthology that included a short story by Jim Butcher. I bought one book by every writer included, except Butcher (I alredy own them all). This was not the worst book I bought that day, but I cannot recommend it. I did manage to get all the way through it, but only because it was really short. The main character was really hard to accept, an angel who believes in all the things associated with a Judeo Christian afterlife stuff, but not the Judeo Christian during life stuff. Reminds me of the old song lyric, they say they want the kingdom, but they don't want God in it. The hero would have been much more interesting if he made a commitment one way or the other.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I hated the title

    The concept of an angel in modern time, i really thought it would suck. i was pleasantly surprised. The story was well done. It almost made me believe in angels. And the conversation with his dog, awesome. Well worth the read, even if you don't believe in angels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Someone finally got it right.

    Over the last twenty five years, I have read hundreds if not thousands of books. Most of which fall in the Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. Quite a few of the books had a 'fallen angel' as a character in the work. In all of those efforts, I cannot remember one author who made me care about him, her or it. No one was able to humanize the inhuman. They were cardboard cutouts, marching in predictable steps thru the storyline, and just as remarkable. Now comes along Thomas E. Sniegoski. In 'A Kiss Before the Apocalypse', the character of Remy Chandler, onetime celestial being, now a hard working Boston PI, becomes a person, not a caricature. Sniegoski makes you understand why anyone would literally leave Heaven to walk amongst a bunch of overachieving baboons. He will make you understand why someone would do what was right even though it cost them the love of their, oh so long, life. He will make you care. The irony of this book, with characters like Remy, the sad but immortal Lazarus or even the Angel of Death, my favorite character was Marlowe, Remy's dog. The most hard hearted person in the world will give an AAAGH, whenever Marlowe runs across the page. Pick up this book, you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    Just finished reading this title

    This was an over all great read I thought. It had good charicter development. When you go into the retirement home with Remy to see his "mother" you cannot help but feel his pain and sadness. Its a good story ove all with interesting concepts. I will definatly pick up the second book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good short story

    I really enjoyed this book. I wish it was longer and more developed. I think the author could have easily made this an enjoyable 500 pager..That aside, I loved the love story of Remy and Maddie, I think I cried at nearly every part that they were together. Remy's friendships were awesome too... I liked the angelic nature and the concept that angels can tune in and hear the prayers to god and the notion that divine creatures don't have the humanity that humans do. Eventhough this book was very short I really liked the imaginery and the 'possibilites' of the story. I really cared about the characters and want Maddie back in some form!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I read through this in one evening. I truly enjoyed the story line and the character development. You felt for the hero and the story kept right on moving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Read!

    I picked this book up as a bargain book and figured I would give it a try. I'm really pleased that I did. Formerly known as the angel Remiel, Remy Chandler has left Heaven for Earth after experiencing the horrors of war. Now located in Boston and working as a PI, Remy's newest case--finding the missing Angel of Death--will force him to face his past and come to terms with loss if he wants to save the human race from destruction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed this one

    I enjoyed this book. It was like an episode of Supernatural, only without my boys. I liked the protagonist conversations with his dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Angels living amoung us, why not?

    One of the better Urban Fantasy stories to read. Remy Chandler isn't perfect, even if he is one of the Heavenly Host who decided to live as a human, but he never forgets who he is and why he decided to leave Heaven. Thomas Sniegoski does a great job of building the plot, introducing us to Remy and the other angels, and weaving an exciting story that is relevant and a bit familiar. I wish I could speak to my animals the way Remy is able to speak to his beloved dog and other creatures. Totally believable. You don't have to be Catholic or have a large knowledge of religion to keep up with the story. I highly recommend reading this wonderful tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Out of the Norm Paranormal PI

    Purchased this purely based on the novella compilation Mean Streets. Being quite fond of the Paranormal Investigator novels. This one takes quite the spin away from the rest Remy Chandler is quite the conflicted character To save the world he is forced to lose things he cares about more than any thing else. The novel is a fairly quick read and if you enjoy Dresden, Nightside, or Greywalker you may want to pick this up if your out of new material in this vein.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    What a great plot

    You have to love an angel who gave up heaven for earth, because he was disallusioned. And finally finds a love that begins to match that of his love for the Creator.

    Its the Appocrypha written by St Thomas of Sniegorski, and infinitly more tightly connected.

    Remy Chandler is an unfallen angel, but one who left heaven after the destruction of his serentity backing the right side of the Heavenly Great Conflict. He falls in love with a mortal woman, who gives him back his peace. But as a mortal she grows old and ill, he stays faithful and loving.

    Other Heavenly host "contract" with Remy Chandler to find what has happened to the Angel of Death. Through a series of strange and awesome events, Remy had already noted that the AOD has abdicated his responsibilities, since his wife is nearing the end, its clear he doesn't want to have her caught in a living limbo.

    The Angel of Death, the glimpses of the ranks of Angels and what they are doing now on earth, whether fallen or not, the description of Hell and the elements of faith and counter faith...all well written and worth the effort to delve into this explanation of the continuing struggle.

    Just meeting the ranks of Angels and their current duties, is worth the pondering, but adding the seven seals and the four Horsemen of the Appocalypse, worth the ride.

    Sniegorski write well and all of his excursions tie into the final scenes.

    Very glad to have run across this series, and this author and hope he writes more for adults.

    Dante would be envious, don't remember which circle of Hell he'd be in, but he'd definitely wished he'd written this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Run out and buy this book now....

    This book rocks... I could not put it down. The characters are intersting, complicated, believable and their internal struggles are facinating. As the story unfolds, I was caught up as if I were there. The careful attention to detail from the settings, the characters, conflict and the action were rivoting. The story gave me a lot to think about love and loss as well. It had an excellent balance of character development and action. Each character was like an onion, there were plenty of layers to peel off. One of my favorite things about this story was the setting, growing up in and around Boston, I could picture all the scenes and it was a lot of fun. If you aren't from Boston, the description will make you feel like you've been there. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Hero, husband, companion, Angel- Remy Chandler

    Remy Chandler is an angel who has seen so much over thousands of years , yet he still just wants to be a regular human being. Tom Sniegoski shows how fantasy characters can have such varied emotions that they become someone you can laugh with and then cheer for to win each fight. You see Remy care for his wife, his dog, and his friends with such heart. A cast of colorful characters round out the story of mystery, and action, woven together to show how much each person matters in this world. Brilliant

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    heartwrenching beautiful urban fantasy

    He was old before the earth was created. Archangel Remiel of the host of the Seraphim fought when Lucifer and his allies rebelled and though he was on the winning side, he witnessed the atrocities that angels committed. He left Heaven and came to earth. After several millennia as a hermit he hid his angleic personna to live amidst humans and even loved a human. He currently calls himself Remy Chandler, twenty-first century Boston private investigator. --- His former Heavenly brothers, the Seraphim led by Nathanial visit him. Nathanuel asks on behalf of the Creator for Remiel to find Israfil, the Angel of Death who disappeared a week ago earth time. He has the five seals that would call up the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and the fifth seal giving them permission to proceed with their mission. The Seraphim fear Israfil, like Remy, has taken human form, which means no one is collecting the souls of the dead leaving broken and dying but never dead people praying for release. To avoid the Apocalypse and to bring death back into salvation, Remy takes on the assignment, but finds traitors amongst the allies who supposedly aid him. --- This reviewer prays there will be more novels starring Remy, a being who could return to Heaven any time he wants, but so far chooses to live amongst humans because he relishes the emotions that Heaven does not have. Not everyone will agree with his choice as many people strive on going to Heaven not running from heaven, but the audience will believe he is on earth for a reason as he does great things for humanity. This heartwrenching beautiful urban fantasy will grip readers with its potent emotional fervor. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed this book.  Not quite as much action as i had hop

    Really enjoyed this book.  Not quite as much action as i had hoped, but as the first in a series that is typical.  Book is really good as long as you don't take it to seriously.  Enjoyed the read and will finish the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    OMG

    I really loved this book. Remy and everyone he comes in contact with drew me in. Every thing about this book was engrossing. I can really picture this as a tv series or a movie on the big screen. As soon as I read the last page I promptly looked up the other 5 in the series.

    I highly recommend this book. Please give it a shot. You won't regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    very me too book

    pretty much meanders through the book only occasionally reacting because something is thrown in his face. a huge number of pages are devoted to building characters who have exciting contributions to the book amounting to sitting by a window watching a storm (his 90 year old wife), sitting on a couch with a teenage babysitter (his dog), and his police detective "friend" who never comes back after the pages and pages devoted to talking about drinking with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    You might find yourself...

    Going and getting the other book written by this author as for the intriguing story lines and enjoyable "view" of things from the mind of T.E. Sniegoski...

    A good read and I have already gained a few other of his starting books on other series by him.

    A good time to delve away into your imagination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    A Beautiful Story of Humanity and Love

    Astounding characters and emotion. The language is real and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3