Customer Reviews for

Kiss Me Kill Me (Kisses and Lies Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Kiss Me Kill Me

This is a very good book. It starts off to be a normal story. There is a girl named Scarlett Wakefield who isn't popular. She falls in love with a guy named Dan McAndrew, whom she can't be with because one, apparently someone else has her eyes on him and two, she is fro...
This is a very good book. It starts off to be a normal story. There is a girl named Scarlett Wakefield who isn't popular. She falls in love with a guy named Dan McAndrew, whom she can't be with because one, apparently someone else has her eyes on him and two, she is from a totally different level then him. Suddenly a miracle happens and she suddenly finds herself kissing him at a party but in a few minutes... he's dead. Which begins our not so normal story. It holds a hint of mystery from the title all the way to the last page. Suspenseful, you will not be able to put this book down. From the moment she begins, something tells you that disaster is soon to follow. I personally thought that as a mystery/romance it was very good. I was never to the point where it frighten me and made me want to put the book down which makes it good for younger readers. Lauren Henderson really got through to my emotions. From the anger of getting accused for something you didn't do to that one moment of fear when you're about to be caught. It wasn't one of those books where it's obvious who the murderer was but instead twisting and deceiving. You won't be able to tell who is good and who is bad. You can see the reality of what girls can be: cruel, vicious, back-stabbing, and above all when it comes down to it a demon in angel clothing. (Don't get the wrong idea some girls are really nice.)

posted by Atnay_Copper on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

a little boring

Kiss Me Kill Me was pretty boring after the protagonist said she already killed the guy she kissed. The ending was incomplete and confusing.

posted by prettybrowneyes on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a little boring

    Kiss Me Kill Me was pretty boring after the protagonist said she already killed the guy she kissed. The ending was incomplete and confusing.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Stop

    If you dont want the book spolied, stop reading the rest of the reviews !!! they give away the whole story..... seriously guys spoiler alert...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    ehh.

    this book was okay. it gets better, but it doesn't start out very well. the climax to me is the really the only good part, but overall it's pretty good i guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Please read

    This book was a fantastic thrill from the beginning. Scarlett thought she had a pretty mediocre existence with her gymnastics and her friends until she is befriended by the elite squad of the princess of school and her court.

    Scarlett goes against her better judgment to take this opportunity to run with the "in" crowd. During this wild party she is singled out by the one and only Dan McAndrew, the only guy she was crushing on at school. They go to spend some quality alone time on the balcony and the most bizarre and terrifying experience in her life happens.

    Scarlett 's feelings are in overdrive as she and Dan have their first kiss. But right after, he dies. She is convinced that she is the cause and she is poison. The elite group will not let her off the hook for Dan's death either, forcing her to change schools.

    During this transition, she is afraid that someone will find out her secret and expose her in her new school. Scarlett becomes friends with another unruly student and they team up to find out what really happened to Dan. She also finds a new fascination with the lawn boy but is afraid to initiate anything with him because she could be a hazard to his health.

    Can Scarlett uncover the truth and find the real reason that Dan is no longer alive? Read this book and you will be right there step for step helping her uncover the truth.

    Recommended for YA Contemporary lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I like it!

    Kiss Me Kill Me has a way of sucking you into its shocking storyline right off the bat. It starts off with a 'be careful what you wish for' type of introduction, which I found funny and a good way to get the reader interested. I kept all interest in the story and suddenly I had about 5 pages left and I was thinking how they could possibly wrap it up in a couple of pages. Well I was left hanging and not a good hanging, it was sort of a boring ending. Not at all what you would have expected from previous chapters.

    Scarlett Wakefield was easy to relate to. She has her flaws, just like everyone else, and she's not afraid to admit them, but she also wishes they were gone. She has a huge crush on Dan McAndrews and then she finally gets a chance to talk to him when Plum and Nadia, the school's queen bees, invite her to hang out with them and Scarlett ditches her best friends for popularity. So far what she's wished for has come true and she's wondering if kissing Dan will too.

    Scarlett tries so hard to fit in, but she felt like she stuck out like a sore thumb and to make it worse, Dan dies after kissing her. She thinks she's done something awful and Plum won't let her off the hook. She's expelled from her old school, St. Tabby's, and transfers to her grandmother's private school Wakefield Hall. Scarlett has no friends, which is good because no one will know her secret. Only she gets a note that throws everything off and now she's on a hunt to find out who left it and how they know.

    I really loved the light adventure in the book, but I was really let down by the end. I would have liked to see more than just the 'note dilemma' get wrapped up. I was a bit upset after finishing, because it was almost as if pages were missing. But, with that said, I will definitely be reading the next in the series, Kisses and Lies. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a decent quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    The book was okay, but the ending was quick. It makes it perfect for a sequel.

    Scarlett Wakefield and her two best friends, Alison and Luce, are not popular. Plum and her best friend Nadia are popular. Plum Saybourne, the queen of St. Tabitha's all girls' school in London, has hundreds of followers or "Plumbots," and Nadia is her sidekick.
    When the usually menacing Plum invites Scarlett to a party, she readily ditches her friends at the chance of becoming popular, and the thought of seeing Dan McAndrew, her secret crush. At the party she does see Dan, and he takes her out to the terrace, and kisses her. The kiss is magical, absolutely perfect, until Dan pulls away and clutches his pocket. "Scarlet, help me," he whispers. Then Dan McAndrew suffocates in Scarlet's arms. He was missing his epiPen, a shot he carried around in case he had an allergic reaction to something. After being labeled a murderer at St. Tabby's and the "Kiss of Death Girl" in the tabloids, Scarlet is forced to transfer to her grandmother's ritzy private school in the countryside of London, where the girls don't care about designer bags or the latest makeup.
    This book is about jealousy, gossip, rich school girls, and the power of a title. It showed me you can't expect things to be easy or obvious. Things come from unexpected places. Scarlet got an anonymous note. Lizzy, one of the girls at her new school had given it to her. Scarlet cornered her in the schools hedge maze. Lizzy, crying and frightened, told Scarlet Nadia had paid her to do it. Scarlet, with the help of her new friend Taylor, broke into Nadia's penthouse, and discovered the answer to the murder.
    The book was very interesting, but the ending was very short and a little sketchy. The entire book was leading up to the ending, but the ending left me unsatisfied. Although, the ending does makes it a very good book for a sequel. The story wasn't confusing at all, and it wasn't predictable. The ending was expected, but not the way I thought it would be. I would give it three and a half stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    ok

    i thought this book kinda dragged in the middle but the beggining and the end are really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    The Truth

    I thought this was a very good book, but in ways did not like it. When I finished, it felt like the book was half finished. It felt like there should be way more to it, that her journey hasn't ended. Overall, it was a good book, aside from not seeming finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1