BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kiss and Make-Up

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Brilliant

    I first picked up KISS & Make Up as a KISS fan... now, after reading the story behind the band, I am a fan of the men themselves. Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons risked so much to entertain so many for so long. The toils and troubles between them and Peter Criss and Ace Frehley were extreme, but so was the band's lifestyle. As a long time KISS fan, I'm glad Gene wrote all this...the fans truly deserved it. He is an awesome story-teller as well as a songwriter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    KISS THIS!

    An excellent book and a must for all KISS fans, especially those Demon fans. Tells it like it was and is with no apologies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    a surprising read...

    I picked this up thinking I would just read the celebrity gossip and found myself reading it cover to cover. Only superficially a fan, I was surprised to discover that Gene is articulate, well-spoken and very intelligent. Expecting an endless barrage of colourful language and scenerios, I was pleasantly 'shocked' to note that the language never went beyond what would normally be found in one of today's novels and may even be considered tame by their standards. Although Gene has quite a healthy ego....and his views of marriage, relationships and fidelity have made him infamous over the years it's interesting to read his perspective-even if you don't agree with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    KISS & TELL

    I WILL ADMIDT, I HAVE BEEN A KISS FAN FOR MANY MANY YEARS. THIS BOOK WAS SO MUCH MORE THEN I HAD THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. IT WAS A REAL STORY BROUGHT OUT BY THE AUTHOR, TO THE READER WITH VIVID DETAILS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    The truth is here!

    Mr. Simmons doesn't pull punches when it comes to his fellow band mates and his time as Kiss's flamboyant bassist.You will read about Gene's entire life, women, and what its like to be thought of as a god and the devil at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Excellent for Kiss Fans

    I thought this book was very well written... An absolute must for Metal Nut Heads.... Go Gene Go... were all 'behind' you../ Get thjat book rokin grand master of METAL...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    A Shockingly Good Read!!! Recommended

    For ANYONE that loves classic rock, Kiss, and wants to know about the inside of the business and personalities of fame, well this is a great book. I personally opened up the book to a page that mentioned a guy I knew in Junior high school while at a real life Barnes & Noble and couldnt put the book down...so I immediately came home and ordered it. If you ever thought Gene Simmons was greedy and arrogant, I suggest you read this book. His writing voice comes across not only as articulate, but also as extremely fair minded. Especially enjoyable are the immigrant stories (he was born in Israel) and the early tales of the band. Truly a very surprising and fun read. I can't say enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    Gene who?

    I bet that no-where in Gene's book does he mention what really made his carreer possible.. A guy by the name of Alice Cooper. Remember him? Without Alice, no Kiss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Kiss-Off

    Vapid, moronic brain candy. Like so many pop icons who turn their hands to autobiography, Simmons ultimately succeeds in revealing nothing of true substance. The book is a catalogue of self-indulgence that leads the reader down a path to nowhere. Best of all is the fact that I read a borrowed copy and did not spend any of my own money on this book. You should not, either. Put your tax dollars to use and check it out of your local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    A must read for any true KISS fan

    Gene holds nothin back, he tells it like it is. From his childhood to adulthood, to the forming of Wicked Lester, to Kiss. From sayin goodbye to Ace and Peter, to sayin Farewell to Eric Carr, and everything in betweeen, and up to the farewell tour, Kiss and Make up shoots straight from the hip, or tongue of Rock and Rolls most well known Demon. Kiss and Make up is a definate must read for the serious Kiss fan, even those who are embarrassed to say they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    A good book about KISS

    I got this book for Christmas and it was a great gift. I have been with KISS since the 70's and have already read several bio's about them, including KISSTORY. This book, while I thought it was very good, it seemed to dance around the edges about some of the dirt about KISS that I have heard throughout the years. I remember reading articles in Circus and Hit Parader, among other magazines, that seemed more fun than this book. Don't get me wrong, it was still good, but Gene said at the beginning that he was not going to hold back, and I felt that he did. Maybe it's because he is older now and a father and is less hesitant to talk about the dirt that all the fans know about, mainly when it comes to Ace and Peter. If you really want to read a good bio about KISS, pick up KISS and Sell. It is more interesting and enetertaining. Also the first KISS and Tell book, which is mainly about Ace and his wild adventures. I think everyone is aware that KISS is a money machine and they make no bones about it. They put their name on anything to make a buck. When it came to this book, I would have appreciated Gene taking me more in depth into the KISS world. I understand that it's mainly a bio about him but let's face it - he's where he is because of KISS. Talk about the good and the bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Totally Disappointed

    This autobio disappointed me. I have been a KISS fan ever since they started the band. There are more than three members in the band. Gene just kept knocking down Ace and Peter, but Paul not once did he knock him down and tell the truth. I thought of all the all members in the KISS band Gene would have the guts to tell the truth about everybody, but there is four times he mentioned Paul Stanley only. Peter, Ace, or Paul, Bruce, or Singer....if you want to write a autobio tell the whole truth and hold nothing back, that is what all KISS fans are expected. Gene Simmons FAILED to tell the whole truth and hold nothing back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2001

    Good book for your collection

    If you like to read about bands or certain poeople in bands this a good book. I am a KISS fan and enjoyed this book, has lots of great photos, but Gene did talk a lot about Peter and Ace and not about himself as much, had a lot of good facts. I even got some none KISS fan to read the book casue he was interested, he even listens to rap, so maybe this book will change him. Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    If You Want To Know Read This!!

    I was pleasantly pleased by this book. I found it extremely informative, everything I ever wanted to know about him or was curious about was answered. I also found it very endearing. A must read for any fan or anyone who is curious about Mr. Simmons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2001

    Confession is Good for the Soul

    I am a big KISS fan so i like anything Gene and the boys do , but this book delieverd some juicy gossip about the group ( ACE and Peter mostly ) and some great details about the recording years of the guys ( original line up ) together. Its deffiantly a must get for kiss fans and a good read for book lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    THE MAN....THE LEGEND......

    Finally gene lets loose and tell it like it is ! very interesting story about life as a child arriving in america,from a poor upbringing, to becoming one of the most sucessful rock musician ever! gene never rests,he is always looking to move forward,even with the problematic members!! and we all know who they are!!! gene can do anything,from rock star,to actor,to author,to business man extrodinare,dad,you name it!! i wish he was president!!!!!! gene rules!! nicest gentlemanyou will ever meet! and i almost forgot,he is very smart!! nothing he cant do....................... BUY THIS BOOK AND LEARN............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    A Must For Any Harcore Kiss Fan

    Filled with lots of stuff many of us in the KISS ARMY did not know. Gene gives away lots of secrets, while still telling his story in a classy way. A very intelligent guy, and a book that was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3