Customer Reviews for

Kiss and Make-Up

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    More Like KISS and Sell

    For some reason, Gene Simmons can¿t help himself from separating his fans from their hard earned money. It¿s a hobby of his really, look no further than Reunion and Farewell tours for evidence, or the sheer embarrassment of buying Kiss and Make-Up? Well enough is enough. This is the last time I¿ll pay bucks to hear stories that any magazine interview could have handled. Peter and Ace are constant targets and his problems with them are tiresome. Perhaps the reason is they are far superior to Gene as musicians. Gene seems more talented at self-promotion than songwriting. How else can fans explain Kiss Kondoms and Kaskets? Anyway you look at this, Kiss is now a commercial entity so far removed from music they recently had a roadie dress up as Ace for an appearance on television. Gene¿s partner in crime is Paul Stanley. How Paul lives with himself is probably the subject of his book, he¿s so far up Gene¿s canal, he needs night vision goggles. Paul, where¿s your self respect? Apparently, Paul is okay with ¿ghost drummers¿ on albums and crediting Peter Criss to save face. Oh, didn¿t you know Peter only played on one Psycho Circus track? Conscience is not a problem for guys who abandoned Eric Carr before he died to rid themselves of medical bills. Let¿s hone up shall we, Gene and Paul are walking ATM machines thanks to a legion of sucker fans that buy up any marginalized product that carries the Kiss logo. Send me my dishonorable discharge from the KISS ARMY please.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    If you love Gene $immons, and hate Ace Frehley........

    Then this book is a wet dream come true. It seems that Genie spent far too much time on the Frehley-slamathon and not near enough time on the details Kiss fans would love to read about. You people know as well as I do that if not for Ace Frehley and Peter Criss, Kiss would have been Kisstory themselves back in 1996. The line up with Bruce and Eric would have died a slow death. Gene spends far too much time crying over Ace and Pete to realise that those two men saved his AND Kiss' ass. And who the Hell is Tommy Thayer, by the way? Oh yeah, the dude from Black 'n Blue............lol. Gene needs to apologise then thank Ace Frehley for coming back to Kiss for those years and making it where he and Paul Stanley can be in the Kiss tribute band that just released Monster. Anomaly is a far better album anyway...........Ack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Here's how Gene writes ...

    This is pretty much how ever page in Gene's book reads: "My mother survived a Nazi concentration camp. You, the fan, do not need to know any of the thought process behind any of our songs. I got oral pleasure from a married woman. We put out "Alive!" Some guy named Paul is in our band. I made love to a mother and daughter. Did I mention my mother was in a concentration camp? I was to meet some woman later at my place that night. We put some albums called "Destroyer," "Rock and Roll Over," then we released "Love Gun." I slept with the maid and took her Polaroid. Cher has something she calls "feelings." By the way, my mother survived a concentration camp. Ace does not help at all. KISS invented every heavy metal cliche--just ask me. Peter is a drunken complainer. I screwed a 60-year-old limo driver and took her Polaroid. I like Shannon Tweed. Should I marry her? Can't really tell you anything about KISS's music. Tell you what, wanna buy a KISS lunch bucket instead?" Pretty much sums this book up. No autobiographical info on his bandmates, and no info on their songwriting. But a lot of gossip and self-promoting. Gene could have written a much better book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Gotta love KISS baby

    If u love KISS, anything the band members write is good to read. Was a quick and easy read. Just waiting on PAUL'S book, come on Paul!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    its amazin

    Loved it all the way
    Never could put it down!
    Buy this book!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An incorrect statement in the description

    "... the endearingly sincere struggles Simmons faces over the years, his eventual marriage and fatherhood..." Gene Simmons has not married Sharon Tweed. He has always said in every interview he has ever done that "marriage kills love". I think he really means marriage kills the bank account! He is brutally honest in this book about his career and the women. He was honest about his children..he was beside Shannon for both of his kids births. Not bad for a Demon! and yes, I have been a member of the KISS Army since 1977. 33 years and still rocking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Very Interesting Read!!

    This book is about a man who has overcome many obstacles to become the leader of one of the greatest rock bands in the world, Kiss. Gene Simmons tells a story in vivid detail of how a poor immigrant boy from Israel realizes at a very young age that he wants power and his successful attempt at achieving it. Simmons knew that he would not get the good things in life handed to him-he must go after them himself. This book tells how someone can start with nothing, and end up with everything. It tells of the ups and downs of a rock legend and how he was still able to come out on top. Simmons leads you through his life story, from the time he was born, to the present, and all of the things that have changed and affected him along te way. I liked hearing about the real life of a rock star how they are real people too. I found Simmon¿s tales of his love affairs with superstars Cher and Diana Ross interesting. It was also nice to see how a rock star can do something like writing a book, while one would usually assume that stringing so many sentences together would be quite difficult for one of them. What I did not like was the arrogant condescending tone that Simmons maintained throughout the book. He often speaks of himself as if he is a god. Also, the account seemed rather one-sided, but I suppose that¿s normal in an autobiography. I would recommend reading this if you want a personal account of how a great rock band was able to achieve fame (from Gene Simmon¿s point of view), or, if like me, you¿re just curious about the real man behind all the war paint. Overall, I would say that this is a very interesting read. It reads fast and is full of vivid details that keep you absorbed and wanting to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    BuY ThIs BoOk!

    This book is better than any other band bio book wether its metallica or ac/dc this book is awesome, its inspiering, amazing, greatley wrote and very cool,, this is the greatest book ever BUY IT!- jt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    recommended

    it was a good book it was mostly about how he started getting more succesful but it was a good book, he got alot of babes lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Good, but...

    The book was quite insightfull into the mind of the often misunderstood genius that is Gene Simmons. He gives a great deal of insight into what he went through to become a rock legend, and the influences that formed his musical pedigree. The place where the book falls short is the inability Simmons has to reveal the real level of failure the band experienced in the late 70's and 80's. The reality of being dropped by labels, poor selling shows and CD's were glossed over, and it deprived the reader of seeing how far the band fell and how they needed to re-invent to return to the parthenon of rock stars. The best Kiss book remains 'KISS & SELL'. But not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Everybody likes a success story......

    and if you like Kiss and you wanted to know more about Gene Simmons than you ever imagined, this is the book for you. However, don't expect to read anything elaborate or extensive about the other band members. This is Gene's autobiography about a man who came from nothing, was educated by school and the streets, and happened to become a lead in one of the most noted rock bands of the 20th century. As far as his 4600 or so rendevouz with women, it just makes for more interesting reading. I've been a KISS fan for 25 years and this is a perfectly fine book to read if you want a little more info (from one man's perspective) about about a group that has become an American icon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Well...

    I love Kiss. I love Gene. I wasn't so in love with this book. I had to keep telling myself that this is a book primarily about Gene's life and career and not so much about Ace, Paul and Peter. Which kinda sucks when you think about it. The book really jumps fast and I was often left wondering about all the 'stuff' in between albums, concerts, tours, etc..I was left disappointed but it was still fun and really obnoxious--in a good way!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    Total KISS-tory of Life.

    I've studied KISS for more than i can remember.Went and seen them in concert through their many band changes. I never thought I'd ever get an up close and personal on look on the man who changed music forever. Thank you Gene, and KISS- for all your hard work. We still love you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Great book - if you're 13

    After reading this book it seems to me that those who like it do so only because it's written by one of their music idols. I found it to be a poorly written, self-gratifying piece of work. Rather than having substance and merit, it simply seemed like another way for an astute business man (Simmons) to make another buck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Gene Does it again

    Gene hits it right on the head when it comes to informing his die-hard fans with an inside look at the man known as THE DEMON. I must say that it showed a side of him that none of us have even gotten a chance to see. He is a very smart bussiness man as well as a devoted father. Gene is the MAN for ever!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep up the great work and I highly recomend this BOOK,,,, AWESOME ^v^$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Sweet

    I really don't care what everyone else said about this book. I liked it, and I couldn't put it down. The fact the Gene Simmons is not only a talented musician, but can also put sentences together and make them interesting does it for me. Sure, I think there was more, but he did share quite a bit. Now if only Paul would.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Great for KISS Fans

    As a lifetime KISS fan, I enjoyed the read. It gave a little more insight on who Gene is all about. A no-nonsense guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    outstanding!!!!

    kiss and make-up was a great book i read it in two day's.I have been a kiss fan for 20 yrs and i finally got to know the real Gene Simmons and the other band members and really what Gene and paul had to put up with from the other members,i would tell the true kiss fan to read this book it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Tells the whole story

    Awsome read, tells the story of woman, drugs and music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Kiss and don't tell all

    I'm a die-hard Kiss fan and Gene's book does a great job describing his personal life. Gene accepted reponsibility as a father and his mother's loving nature instilled some good qualities in him. Now, on the business side, all Kiss fans know about Ace's and Peter's bad habits and what troubles it cost the band. I felt that was repetitive in the book. Paul just about comes out smelling like a rose. There has to be something that The Demon is not telling us about The Starchild. Could it be that the reason there's no slamming Mr Stanley is because he might be releasing his own autobiography soon?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3