Customer Reviews for

Kiss and Make-Up

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    its amazin

    Loved it all the way
    Never could put it down!
    Buy this book!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An incorrect statement in the description

    "... the endearingly sincere struggles Simmons faces over the years, his eventual marriage and fatherhood..." Gene Simmons has not married Sharon Tweed. He has always said in every interview he has ever done that "marriage kills love". I think he really means marriage kills the bank account! He is brutally honest in this book about his career and the women. He was honest about his children..he was beside Shannon for both of his kids births. Not bad for a Demon! and yes, I have been a member of the KISS Army since 1977. 33 years and still rocking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    BuY ThIs BoOk!

    This book is better than any other band bio book wether its metallica or ac/dc this book is awesome, its inspiering, amazing, greatley wrote and very cool,, this is the greatest book ever BUY IT!- jt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Gene Does it again

    Gene hits it right on the head when it comes to informing his die-hard fans with an inside look at the man known as THE DEMON. I must say that it showed a side of him that none of us have even gotten a chance to see. He is a very smart bussiness man as well as a devoted father. Gene is the MAN for ever!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep up the great work and I highly recomend this BOOK,,,, AWESOME ^v^$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Brilliant

    I first picked up KISS & Make Up as a KISS fan... now, after reading the story behind the band, I am a fan of the men themselves. Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons risked so much to entertain so many for so long. The toils and troubles between them and Peter Criss and Ace Frehley were extreme, but so was the band's lifestyle. As a long time KISS fan, I'm glad Gene wrote all this...the fans truly deserved it. He is an awesome story-teller as well as a songwriter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    KISS & TELL

    I WILL ADMIDT, I HAVE BEEN A KISS FAN FOR MANY MANY YEARS. THIS BOOK WAS SO MUCH MORE THEN I HAD THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. IT WAS A REAL STORY BROUGHT OUT BY THE AUTHOR, TO THE READER WITH VIVID DETAILS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    The truth is here!

    Mr. Simmons doesn't pull punches when it comes to his fellow band mates and his time as Kiss's flamboyant bassist.You will read about Gene's entire life, women, and what its like to be thought of as a god and the devil at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Excellent for Kiss Fans

    I thought this book was very well written... An absolute must for Metal Nut Heads.... Go Gene Go... were all 'behind' you../ Get thjat book rokin grand master of METAL...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    A Shockingly Good Read!!! Recommended

    For ANYONE that loves classic rock, Kiss, and wants to know about the inside of the business and personalities of fame, well this is a great book. I personally opened up the book to a page that mentioned a guy I knew in Junior high school while at a real life Barnes & Noble and couldnt put the book down...so I immediately came home and ordered it. If you ever thought Gene Simmons was greedy and arrogant, I suggest you read this book. His writing voice comes across not only as articulate, but also as extremely fair minded. Especially enjoyable are the immigrant stories (he was born in Israel) and the early tales of the band. Truly a very surprising and fun read. I can't say enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    A must read for any true KISS fan

    Gene holds nothin back, he tells it like it is. From his childhood to adulthood, to the forming of Wicked Lester, to Kiss. From sayin goodbye to Ace and Peter, to sayin Farewell to Eric Carr, and everything in betweeen, and up to the farewell tour, Kiss and Make up shoots straight from the hip, or tongue of Rock and Rolls most well known Demon. Kiss and Make up is a definate must read for the serious Kiss fan, even those who are embarrassed to say they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    If You Want To Know Read This!!

    I was pleasantly pleased by this book. I found it extremely informative, everything I ever wanted to know about him or was curious about was answered. I also found it very endearing. A must read for any fan or anyone who is curious about Mr. Simmons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2001

    Confession is Good for the Soul

    I am a big KISS fan so i like anything Gene and the boys do , but this book delieverd some juicy gossip about the group ( ACE and Peter mostly ) and some great details about the recording years of the guys ( original line up ) together. Its deffiantly a must get for kiss fans and a good read for book lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    THE MAN....THE LEGEND......

    Finally gene lets loose and tell it like it is ! very interesting story about life as a child arriving in america,from a poor upbringing, to becoming one of the most sucessful rock musician ever! gene never rests,he is always looking to move forward,even with the problematic members!! and we all know who they are!!! gene can do anything,from rock star,to actor,to author,to business man extrodinare,dad,you name it!! i wish he was president!!!!!! gene rules!! nicest gentlemanyou will ever meet! and i almost forgot,he is very smart!! nothing he cant do....................... BUY THIS BOOK AND LEARN............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    A Must For Any Harcore Kiss Fan

    Filled with lots of stuff many of us in the KISS ARMY did not know. Gene gives away lots of secrets, while still telling his story in a classy way. A very intelligent guy, and a book that was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1