Customer Reviews for

A Kiss at Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 469 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(218)

4 Star

(152)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

LOVED this Cinderella Romance!

I loved this take on the Cinderella fairy tale. In fact, it was better than the original story. The heroine (Kate) was not the simple, sweet Cinderella, but, rather, a young woman with plenty of fire, intelligence and wit, as well as a heightened sense of responsibility...
I loved this take on the Cinderella fairy tale. In fact, it was better than the original story. The heroine (Kate) was not the simple, sweet Cinderella, but, rather, a young woman with plenty of fire, intelligence and wit, as well as a heightened sense of responsibility for her time. The Prince was everything a hero should be including perceptive with a good sense of humor. I was particularly glad that the stepsister was portrayed in a kind light and that she and Kate became close. The dialogue, not just between Kate and Gabriel, but between all the characters (and believe me, there were some characters:-), was outstanding. This was a light, breezy read (no dark angst in this one) and I highly recommend it

posted by RomanceReaderForever on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

One of the worst I have ever read

I wish I could say that I finished the book, but no such luck. I just couldn't get through it. It was too painfully weak. By this I mean, the plot and the characters, especially the way the talked to one another were just ridiculous. The language was too contemporar...
I wish I could say that I finished the book, but no such luck. I just couldn't get through it. It was too painfully weak. By this I mean, the plot and the characters, especially the way the talked to one another were just ridiculous. The language was too contemporary and I was surprised to find this in a historical romance novel.
I have given Eloisa James two chances to redeem herself in my eyes and she failed both times.
You won't find me purchasing another book written be this author.
I recommmend authors such as Lisa Kleypas, Kathryn Smith, Katherine Ashe, Caroline Linden and Deborah Raleigh, just to name a few. These author's have a depth to their characters that puts Eloisa James' writing to shame.

posted by Historicalromancefan on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Wonderful Cinderella story. There were a few rough spots in the

    Wonderful Cinderella story. There were a few rough spots in the writing but overall a great story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was delightfully well written. Even though its love story was oh so cinderella, it took me by surprise. However, due to adult content, I wouldn't reccomend it to thide under the age if 18.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    A Take on Cinderella

    I read the first few pages of this as an add on to another book of Eloisa James, so I had to get this one too. I don't normally like 'made up' countries and things like that in my historical romances. BUT - this is easily explained and it takes place in England (thank goodness)! The read is very fast - you just keep turning the pages to see what happens next. I liked the characters, and feel she did a very good job developing individuals I believed in. AND, there is a novella AFTER this one, involving the brother. Another good read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Great read

    This book is romantic, funny & was a little sad(just for a short time). I found it hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I 'm always a sucker for a good romance story. This romance novel of the classic Cinderella story does not fail. It's a lighthearted story with many unexpected surprises. Glad I checked out the digital ebook and audiobook from my local library. Listening to the audiobook while reading the ebook was a transcending experience. I recommend this book if you like love stories with happy endings.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    A Fun Twist on an Old Tale

    Eloisa James takes liberties on the Cinderella theme with this delightful book. A Kiss at Midnight tells of the lovely Kate Daltry, an old hag at 23 and living the life of a servant, complete with hideous step-mother and a sweet but daft step-sister named Victoria. Her father died too soon and left everything to his spoiled and squandering wife, who keeps Kate on a short leash by threatening to fire the help and evict the tenants on their land. When the sweet, preggers and engaged Victoria falls prey to a dog bite in a noticeable area, Kate is asked to pose as her HALF-sister (we learn) and accompany Lord Dimsdale (an apt name) to the castle of the his uncle so that he can approve the engagement. Too many faux pas and not enough similarities between the girls alert Prince Gabriel, who has problems and responsibilities of his own. He's broke, you see, and has been promised to an insanely wealthy Russian princess he's never met. The banter between Kate and Gabriel keeps the reader on the hook, and Ms. James' use of language makes the book a pleasure to read. Her characters are quirky (a cherry-red wig?) and charming (Lady Henrietta Wrothe - 'Henry' - who turns out to be an ex-lover of Kate's late father, and her godmother is particularly wonderful). Surprises are in store, and yes, there ARE glass slippers.

    A delight to read. This is my first Eloisa James novel, but it will not be my last.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well there's no coach turning into a pumpkin and no horses turning into mice, but there is " A Kiss at Midnight in this wonderful Cinderella tale.

    Eloisa James has a rare talent when it comes to historical romance, she always brings her audience right into the story where we can feel the rasp of whiskers as they brush our cheeks and feel in our hearts the pain of letting go. Now the plot obviously isn't new it's Cinderella after all complete with a charming prince, a godmother and a wicked stepmother and yet unique in it's twists and turns from the original tale. Her dialogue is witty and flowing, it's prose like and detailed right down to those famous glass slippers. Her characters are quirky, funny and interesting from the top right down to the yappy little dogs and she gives each of them such personality that it's hard not to get involved emotionally in her script. Her hero Gabriel and heroine Kate are the most impressive of her cast and as they fall in love we her readers can't help but feel the passion and the pain of that love. Her romance is tragic and heartfelt and we wonder up til the end if they'll get that sought after happy ever after. Her love scenes are inventive, detailed and physical in their intensity.
    So if you're in the mood for all the things you remembered from a little girl about Cinderella and add a few more to her repertoire A Kiss at Midnight is the next novel you should read. Also check out her other wonderful historical romances on her website at http://eloisajames.com/.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Cute

    Really enjoyed this book! Very cute but not for young readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I've never heard of this author before i read this book, nor hav

    I've never heard of this author before i read this book, nor have I read this genre, but let me tell you, it was WONDERFUL!! I loved all the history in it, and of course, the romance =) What was best about it, was at the end you were not saying things like "I wonder what happened to them"? or things like that have you guessing, but instead it tells you everything about the characters future and what not, so you KNOW how they turned out. LOVE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Aa A i K A kiss at midnight

    A good fairy tale

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love it

    Great romance....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    LOVED this story of a girl that goes from  rags to riches.   Kat

    LOVED this story of a girl that goes from  rags to riches.   Kate is forced to impersonate her step-sister and travels with t he pretend
    fiance to meet his family with the intention of asking their permission for this marriage. Just when you think you know the plot, it
     changes.  I loved the characters and couldn't put it down.  It reminded me of Cinderella toward the end but warns against sending
    a substitute when the original would have worked.  But then there wouldn't have been this great story of love meets love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Entertaining and witty

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Not my favorite of Eloisas. I loved the Cinderella theme. And I

    Not my favorite of Eloisas. I loved the Cinderella theme. And I loved the love story. But it seemed to be a little monotone for too much of the story. Cute characters.

    Memorable reading...
    Page 257
    "And you are Kate, my Kate," he said to her. His lips rubbed across hers as if they were young wooers, too simple to know the ways of the wicked. "I won't take your virginity, because that is yours to give and not mine to take. But Kate, I warn you now that I intend to take everything else." He looked down at her, and the expression in his eyes was pure sinful invitation. Kate felt her lips curl without her conscious volition. "How do you know," she whispered, "that I won't do the same for you?"
    Oh yes, typical Eloisa James....romance, breathtaking, unstoppable love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    highly recommend

    Great read! Kept me interested to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    A kiss at midnight

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Cinderella twist

    Amusing and fresh take on the Cinderella story. Well-drawn characters; totally preposterous but somehow believable plot; a truly fun read. On the negative side, the story did not benefit from the explicit sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Wonderful read!!

    This is a wonderful book that had me laughing and crying. A must read but make sure you have the tissues handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really cute novel. I really enjoyed reading it. It wa

    This was a really cute novel. I really enjoyed reading it. It was predictable but that is to be expected when a novel is based off of a fairy tale. I found myself engrossed in this novel. It was a nice escape from reality. I will definitely look into reading more novels by this author. The writing was spectacular, and it was very imaginative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Very entertaining

    Cool spin on a classic cinderella theme. Great characters and complex setting. The only thing bad was it was a little too graphic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8