Customer Reviews for

A Kiss from Maddalena

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A lovely story

I could not put the book down. It is such a wonderful story.

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

No

Say no. Not worth a pennny. Don't fall for it. Its fake

posted by 17100189 on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    A beautiful love story that twists and turns its way through a

    A beautiful love story that twists and turns its way through a war. The author had a wonderful way of making war-torn Italy seem tragically romantic and yet the story is surprisingly realistic in it's plotline.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    A lovely story

    I could not put the book down. It is such a wonderful story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Heartbreaking and beautifully written

    This book kept me up late--I couldn't wait to discover what happened to Maddalena and Vito. Castellani's prose is elegant and vivid--you will feel transported to another world and another time. Castellani brings to life a whole village, Santa Cecilia, and each of the characters. I just hope there's a sequel in the works, because I want to spend time with these characters again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Bellissimo/Outstanding

    I enjoyed reading this book. I felt the plotline was very intriguing espcecially the ending. It appears the author did his homework as the details are accurate. Having grown up in central Italy I found the the character's personality very true to life and it reminded me of life in small italian town.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Fabulous!!!

    What a wonderful story...just lovely

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Great story!

    This story is amazing, it really pulls you in and holds your heart... I wanted it to go on! I can't wait to see if there is a part 2. If you are interested in a great story, a romance, a story of stregnth and courage, of love and life, this is the book for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    I meet the author at the National Italian American Foundation

    This is an amazing book. I could not put it down. I met the author at the National Italian American Foundation Youth Retreat in August of 2003 and he said this is part one of a (hopefully) three part series. He has given me a passion for reading again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Lyrical

    This is a delightful and magical debut novel. Typically a selfish reader, I paced myself in order to treasure each and every passage. The character development is beyond explanation. I adore this boo

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Absolutely Wonderful!!!!!

    This book was so wonderful I didn't want to finish it. I want more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No

    Say no. Not worth a pennny. Don't fall for it. Its fake

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    A must read

    I couldn't put this book down - I highly recommend it to anyone! Beautiful writing where you forget you're reading and the story just flows off the pages. Although it is a love story there are (thankfully) no "steamy scenes (they would detract from the story anyway). Overall an excellent read that I wish had aa second (or third) part to it like a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    Great Debut

    I read this book twice; lyrical, romantic and definitely a good page-turner...I can't wait to read Castellani's next novel!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Gotta Read It!

    This is an amazing read! It was a touching, sweet story. I loved loved loved it :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Historical fiction. Loved it.

    Great read for those who enjoy fiction based on history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    This would make a nice movie

    Written with crisp, sparse prose this WWII romantic story of out of reach love will play like a classic movie in your head. Vito finds himself in love withthe youngest of four sisters from a family in his village that owns the village store. The family, having sent two sons to fight the war, deems Vito a mama's boy not fit for anyone, especially their most precious daughter. The war years send the family away to a relatives vineyard while Vito remains in the village, proving his worth caring for his ill mother and proving himself worthy of respect as a potential husband. What happens when the family returns to the village is not predictable.

    The ending happened more abruptly than I would like. The overall style of the novel was well written but the ending came in a summary narrative that seemed out of sync with the rest of the story. That's my only complaint.

    I would also recommend SKELETONS AT THE FEAST, CHOCOLAT, and TOMATO RHAPSODY if you like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Ral

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2