Customer Reviews for

Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 705 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An exciting and entertaining vampire romance

A millennium ago eight aliens crash landed on Earth and the only nutrient that could sustain their life is human blood. Some native females were able to mate with them and thus the male only vampire was born. The Breeds don¿t ever indulge in massive blood taking becau...
A millennium ago eight aliens crash landed on Earth and the only nutrient that could sustain their life is human blood. Some native females were able to mate with them and thus the male only vampire was born. The Breeds don¿t ever indulge in massive blood taking because it is highly addictive and they can go Rogue, a mindless monster straight out of Bram Stoker. The warrior Order finds and kills the Rogues and while Dante is out looking for them he is injured and ends up at Tess Culver¿s veterinary practice.------------ He takes blood from her before seeing the mark that proves she is a Breedmate, able to have vampire children and live eternally as long as she drinks blood from her mate. He erases her memories and tries to forget her but fails to do so. However, the warrior breeds have a new problem to deal with: the drug Crimson. When vampires take the drug, instead of getting high, it turns them into berserkers Tess is connected to the maker and distributor of it. Dante revisits Tess who has the gift of healing and falls in love with her. When he is fatally injured she miraculously heals him and when she almost dies at the hands of a rogue, he feeds her his blood cementing their bond until she realizes the truth about her beloved she runs hysterically into danger and away from the man she thought loved her.--------------- For background information and another exciting vampire thriller, the audience should read the prequel KISS OF MIDNIGHT. Lara Adrian is an excellent worldbuilder creating a vampire society living among but hidden from humans. The romance between the two protagonists is not steamy and so as they both discover what it means to live without fear. The thriller part in which breeds turn into terrorists from a drug that is supposed to give them a pleasant high is exciting and entertaining. Lara Adrian is the newest star writing vampire romantic tales.--------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This series is good by may I recommend Sherilyn Kenyon or J.R. Ward.

Ok if you are like me you got all swept up in this vampire-lovestory crap with everyone else on the planet! I liked this series ok until I read J.R. Wards Black Dagger brotherhood, which was simlar to Lara Adrian's books but have more depth. The characters in the Black...
Ok if you are like me you got all swept up in this vampire-lovestory crap with everyone else on the planet! I liked this series ok until I read J.R. Wards Black Dagger brotherhood, which was simlar to Lara Adrian's books but have more depth. The characters in the Black Dagger Brotherhood are much more interesting.
But I must say if you want to read a series that will rock your world, read Sherilyn Kennyons Dark Hunter books. Book 1 and 2 start off a little rocky but the rest of the series just gets better and better. Her creativity and back drop of the story is amazing, original and refreshing when you have read almost all the vamp books out there.

posted by tomorrows_page_is_blank on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 711 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An exciting and entertaining vampire romance

    A millennium ago eight aliens crash landed on Earth and the only nutrient that could sustain their life is human blood. Some native females were able to mate with them and thus the male only vampire was born. The Breeds don¿t ever indulge in massive blood taking because it is highly addictive and they can go Rogue, a mindless monster straight out of Bram Stoker. The warrior Order finds and kills the Rogues and while Dante is out looking for them he is injured and ends up at Tess Culver¿s veterinary practice.------------ He takes blood from her before seeing the mark that proves she is a Breedmate, able to have vampire children and live eternally as long as she drinks blood from her mate. He erases her memories and tries to forget her but fails to do so. However, the warrior breeds have a new problem to deal with: the drug Crimson. When vampires take the drug, instead of getting high, it turns them into berserkers Tess is connected to the maker and distributor of it. Dante revisits Tess who has the gift of healing and falls in love with her. When he is fatally injured she miraculously heals him and when she almost dies at the hands of a rogue, he feeds her his blood cementing their bond until she realizes the truth about her beloved she runs hysterically into danger and away from the man she thought loved her.--------------- For background information and another exciting vampire thriller, the audience should read the prequel KISS OF MIDNIGHT. Lara Adrian is an excellent worldbuilder creating a vampire society living among but hidden from humans. The romance between the two protagonists is not steamy and so as they both discover what it means to live without fear. The thriller part in which breeds turn into terrorists from a drug that is supposed to give them a pleasant high is exciting and entertaining. Lara Adrian is the newest star writing vampire romantic tales.--------- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This series is good by may I recommend Sherilyn Kenyon or J.R. Ward.

    Ok if you are like me you got all swept up in this vampire-lovestory crap with everyone else on the planet! I liked this series ok until I read J.R. Wards Black Dagger brotherhood, which was simlar to Lara Adrian's books but have more depth. The characters in the Black Dagger Brotherhood are much more interesting.
    But I must say if you want to read a series that will rock your world, read Sherilyn Kennyons Dark Hunter books. Book 1 and 2 start off a little rocky but the rest of the series just gets better and better. Her creativity and back drop of the story is amazing, original and refreshing when you have read almost all the vamp books out there.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kiss of....HOT!

    I was a little weary going into this book based on some past reviews that I had read before reading the book. However, I must say that I enjoyed this book more than the first of the series. Ms. Adrian has done a great job at giving the book just the right amount of romance, thriller, mystery, surprises, and steamy love scenes (and boy oh boy are they steamy)! This book is based on Dante and Tess' relationship and how they come to meet and grow to fall in love. There are also other characters introduced (Chase, who I can't wait to see what happens with him), Elise and then we see some small appearances by the first loved Lucan and Gabrielle as well as a small bit with Rio and Tegan. I am excited about the possible connection between Tegan and Elise and am wondering where that story line is going to go. I would definitely recommend this book to those who enjoyed JR Wards Black Brotherhood Series and even Lynsay Sands series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    After finishing the last book in J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series it was recommended to me by a B&N employee that I try the Midnight Breed Series by Lara Adrian and I am glad I did. I have loved each book in the series thus far and find them hard to put down. I recommend this to book to anyone who enjoys a great paranormal romance story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kiss of my reading passion!

    After reading the first book in this series I was chomping at the bit to get my hands on Dante's story, and I must say, Lara Adrian did not disappoint! This was a thoroughly enjoyable read! Dark, moody, tormented heros, intelligent, capable, heroines with secrets of their own, hot, steamy love scenes, plenty of action, and an interesting plot. This book has it all! In all, A book worth reading! Now I need to get my hands on Tegans story! Who doesn't love the strong, silent, broody type? I can't wait!! This book is explosive with plotlines and twists and kept me begging for more. The female breedmates are left breathless and achy in all the right places. Fantastic books. I strongly recommend to any woman who loves a strong, alpha male, but prides herself on being a strong, healthy female who isn't afraid to admit she likes a good erotic romance novel now and again. I wish more erotics novels were this good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    !

    Harriet klausner strikes again. Yiu will be reported by name to bn fir ruining books with your extravagant revealing of the plot. I hope they ban you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kiss of Crimson Midnight Series book 2

    I enjoyed this book. I love the character Dante. The story was touching, repetitive in sorts of the first. I like these vampires as they have more of a human touch. They feel and love as humans do. They are possessive and make a girl wish for her own vampire from the "Orde."
    The introduction of Crimson a drug that makes vampires go Rouge is a new twist. I like that other vampires are introduced in also, so that the story is not all about the vampires in the Order only.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Different book, same story

    I had seen these books and decided to give them a try. The first book really caught my attention, i like the way the author writes in that you get to read from a lot of characters perspective, so i was really excited to continue on with the others. Boy was i let down! Each book is about different characters but the same story pretty much, so you think your reading something new only to find out man meets woman, woman doesn't know he's a vampire, he tells her, she freaks out then they deal with the bad guy. I really wish she would of stuck with the story of Lucan and Gabrielle, the books would of been so much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dante and Tess

    This is the second book for this series and I have to say that Dante is captivating. I read this book just as quickly as the first book. Wow! Lara Adrian really knows how to get you drawn into the world of the midnight breed. I love how these books that place in Massachusetts. I like being able to picture these things happening in familiar surroundings. Tess is just what Dante needs and he doesn't even know it. Their story takes you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I am looking forward to reading Midnight Awakening (book 3). These characters are so real and fabulously fantasty all in one. Great Read!! Highly Recommend!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read series

    Love this series, would read again! Read this series after the Black Dagger brotherhood. a Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I love Lara Adrian books. If you like stories of vampires, I feel that her books rate right along with the best. Try one and I don't think you will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Even better that the first!

    Hooked me in right at the begining! Love the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Awesome!

    Lara Adrian has hit a home run with the midnight breed series! Absolutely loved each and everyone one. It kind of reminded me of the Lords of the Underworld series by Gena Showalter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Excellent Highly Recommended

    Great story line, wonderful characters - the whole series is a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Hawkmoon

    He looked over at the she cat and smiled. His ears perked and he heard something in the bushes. He sunk to the geound and kept his tail low. He flattened his ears and unseathed his claws. He scented the air and smiled to himself. He wiggled a bit and flew into he air. He landed on all fours on top of a cottontailed rabbit. The animal wriggled to get out of his grab but he held on tight. Hawkmoon leaned down and bit the rabbits neck, puncturing the throat. He made sure the rabbit didnt suffer and did it quick. He went off hunting more and eventually caught a silver fish, a vole, another rabbit, and 2 mice. It took him a few trips to get all the food to the fresh kill pile but he managed. He left one mouse there for the she cat and went back to camp.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    good series

    I have read the entire Midnight Breed Series and enjoyed them all. I really liked the way the author ties in all the books. The characters are inter woven in all the books. I love that!! I really have a hard time saying which was better, they are all good!! You will like this if you like this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Hunting Grounds

    -Shade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Very good

    Very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Fabulous Read

    This series is fabulous. A whole new take on Vampires and where they came from. Really great story line and great characters. Also, lots of books and she keeps them coming so you can keep reading. I have been reading this series fro almost 2 wks. and I have 2 more books left. There are 2 more coming out sometime this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    This was my second book by Lara Adrian, and I have to say, I lov

    This was my second book by Lara Adrian, and I have to say, I loved it! Very hot and exciting. The writer brings the character's alive for me. I like how she brought the dangers of the drug life into this story and ties it all together without feeling abrupt. I'm excited for Dante and Tess' relationship and was pushing for them in the entire story. I loved Dante's ability and how tormented he was from it. I can't wait to continue with this series. Very exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 711 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36