Customer Reviews for

Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 706 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An exciting and entertaining vampire romance

A millennium ago eight aliens crash landed on Earth and the only nutrient that could sustain their life is human blood. Some native females were able to mate with them and thus the male only vampire was born. The Breeds don¿t ever indulge in massive blood taking becau...
A millennium ago eight aliens crash landed on Earth and the only nutrient that could sustain their life is human blood. Some native females were able to mate with them and thus the male only vampire was born. The Breeds don¿t ever indulge in massive blood taking because it is highly addictive and they can go Rogue, a mindless monster straight out of Bram Stoker. The warrior Order finds and kills the Rogues and while Dante is out looking for them he is injured and ends up at Tess Culver¿s veterinary practice.------------ He takes blood from her before seeing the mark that proves she is a Breedmate, able to have vampire children and live eternally as long as she drinks blood from her mate. He erases her memories and tries to forget her but fails to do so. However, the warrior breeds have a new problem to deal with: the drug Crimson. When vampires take the drug, instead of getting high, it turns them into berserkers Tess is connected to the maker and distributor of it. Dante revisits Tess who has the gift of healing and falls in love with her. When he is fatally injured she miraculously heals him and when she almost dies at the hands of a rogue, he feeds her his blood cementing their bond until she realizes the truth about her beloved she runs hysterically into danger and away from the man she thought loved her.--------------- For background information and another exciting vampire thriller, the audience should read the prequel KISS OF MIDNIGHT. Lara Adrian is an excellent worldbuilder creating a vampire society living among but hidden from humans. The romance between the two protagonists is not steamy and so as they both discover what it means to live without fear. The thriller part in which breeds turn into terrorists from a drug that is supposed to give them a pleasant high is exciting and entertaining. Lara Adrian is the newest star writing vampire romantic tales.--------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This series is good by may I recommend Sherilyn Kenyon or J.R. Ward.

Ok if you are like me you got all swept up in this vampire-lovestory crap with everyone else on the planet! I liked this series ok until I read J.R. Wards Black Dagger brotherhood, which was simlar to Lara Adrian's books but have more depth. The characters in the Black...
Ok if you are like me you got all swept up in this vampire-lovestory crap with everyone else on the planet! I liked this series ok until I read J.R. Wards Black Dagger brotherhood, which was simlar to Lara Adrian's books but have more depth. The characters in the Black Dagger Brotherhood are much more interesting.
But I must say if you want to read a series that will rock your world, read Sherilyn Kennyons Dark Hunter books. Book 1 and 2 start off a little rocky but the rest of the series just gets better and better. Her creativity and back drop of the story is amazing, original and refreshing when you have read almost all the vamp books out there.

posted by tomorrows_page_is_blank on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 712 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I listened to the audio book of Kiss of Crimson. Kiss of Crim

    I listened to the audio book of Kiss of Crimson.

    Kiss of Crimson is the second book in Lara Adrian's Midnight Breeds series. The story is of Dante and Tess, and the chemistry between them is amazingly intense.

    I loved the characters in Kiss of Crimson. Tess is a vet in private practice who cares very much her patients and their owners. Her character is very easy to like; she is stable and very self controlled with walls built up around her to keep others out. Yet, Dante, the strange, mysterious, and oh so sexy vampire, has a way of getting inside those barriers and eventually knocking down Tess's carefully built walls. I love Dante's "who cares" attitude towards everything, but when it comes to Tess, he immediately feels protective towards her and very unsure of himself around her.

    I actually liked this book more than the first in the series. We were also introduced to some new characters, so I am looking forward to the third book to see where their stories are taken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Oh Dante and Tess!

    What a wonderful book! I absolutely love the love story and the history of this Order. I have never been one to read descriptions but I find myself reading EVERY word. It "sucks" you in from the beginning and makes you waant to read more than sleep. Such a wonderful series and I am very excited to see where the next book tkes mme. A MUST read series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Greatness again...

    O.k. so here is what I can't seem to get, either peopleare complaining b/c its too similar to J. R. Ward or its not similar enough! Lara Adrian wrote this series ok, like I said before are there some similarties...yes. Are the stories exactly alike...no. If you want a good series about vampires then read this series, if you want to read something thats just lile J. R. Ward then read on of her stories..I personally loved this story and the first one now I'm on to the 3rd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sci-fi twist on vamps

    This is a little different kind of vampire series. While there are several kinds out there to read, this one puts a sci-fi twist on the breed. While the story has a good plot it is similar to other stories as far as they "find their mate" and there is a bad guy or society to battle. It is a good story and has a descent plot so far and I enjoyed this books. Still waiting for Book 1 to see how it begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Books #1 & 2 garner 5 stars each. Now I'm ready for Book #3 in this series.

    I love the way the author has broken away from the same old vampire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Great Paranormal Read!

    Book 2 tells the story of Dante and Tess. She is a human Breedmate and he is a Breed. He meets Tess when he is gravely injured and showes up at her veterinary clinic way after hours and to heal himself he feeds off of her blood not knowing she is a Breedmate. Tess and Dante's chemistry is profound and although Dante longs for a mate he is hesitant because he has seen a vision of his own death, a gift he inherited from his human mother. The Characters are interesting, the plot is great and the story keeps you on the edge until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    If u need a BDB fux this is it"

    Great action, characters and romance! Cant wait to see wait happens w the other warriors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Love it , if you like JR Ward's work you'll like Lara adrians "Midnight Breed" series love they're style it's fun sexy and keeps you on your edge and some stories are emotional an they get HEA and we all love that with Paranormal Romances.

    Love her work It's like JR Ward's style of work mixed with Sherrilyn Kenyon fun stuff. Sexy and Intriguing work. I highly recommend her work as well as the Authors mentioned, as well as Jeaniene Frost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good Series

    This was a great story and I love Dante! The characters sort of reminded me of the Black Dagger Brotherhood even though they gave their differences. I have read all of the books in this series and I am waiting for the new book which comes out next month. I would recommend this series to anyone. You have your action and romance all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    One of my favorites

    this about how by acident Dante completes half the bond with a breemate, Tess, but Tess has a secret, and Dante even against his will wants to find out what it is, alonng with another plot on the evil's plot to try and turn vampires with the drug crimson, but he doesn't know is Tess is wrapped around the plot, pushed into it by her ex boyfriend who wants to be more. Can Dante get her out without loosing both of their lives or even their relationship?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    A Must read!

    I loved this book. It was an adequate addition to the series and will keep me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    The best!

    This is the best one i think! i cant wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    good

    i was looking for something like the black dagger brotherhood series and thats what i got.....the story lines are alot alike...almost to alike....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I could not put it down

    This series is so great, it is a must to read. The love Dante has for Tess. A love that is so strong he will walk to the valley of death for her. that is true love. For all the burns on his body to get to his true love. It is a great book as well as book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended! Great book and series!

    I have been looking for an author that I would enjoy half as much as Stephanie Meyer's' twighlight series or Christine Feehan's Carpathian Dark series.Before these two author's I disliked vampire books.After reading the two author's, I have found everything else I have picked up boring or lacking in some way. Until I came across Lara Adrian's breed series. I started with Adrian's first book in the series and Immediately, when reading the first book of the Midnight Breed Series, I was drawn into the story line and could not put the book down. Adian has a way with the wrtten word that captures her audience and pulls them in hook, line and sinker.Needless to say, I finished the book in a day. The second book of the series, Kiss of Crimson, did not disappooint! Again, Adrian put a fresh twist that made the book hard to put down. I finished reading this book by the very next afternoon.
    If you are looking for a series that is light, passionate and full of intrigue, this series is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this Series :)

    I just had finished JR Ward's series and I was wanting something like that to read and I found this series and It has been an awesome read !
    They are written so good and the books are real page turners. When I start one it doesn't take long at all to finish. Twilight series started me reading and it's an awesome series and one that will never leave my library. But these other books have really been a GREAT accompy to the TWILIGHT series. Because I love vampires and romance and wanted to stay with that and these are DEFINATELY a great way to go if that's what you enjoy. I highly recommend this author :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kiss of Crimson is HOT!

    Dante is my favorite character by far. He will make you think some things. You can not help by read this story. You will never want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Touching!

    Dante and Tess are this amazing couple who have both have some not so great pasts but are incredibly great together!!! They have a love that cannot be broken by anything or anyone standing in their way...even each other it is such a wonderful romantic and touching story...i would reread this story a million times over...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    I love Lara Adrian books! Midnight Breed series is one of my favorites.. it is like a grown up high-tech version of Twilight.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!!

    Dante and Tess are a great couple. They made the story even more interesting because of their daring approach to situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 712 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 36