Customer Reviews for

Kiss of Life (Generation Dead Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Series

I read the first book after meeting Daniel Waters at my local library. That was an amazing story that I couldn't put down. My only regret is reading the book after I met Dan because now I can't yell at him for killing Adam, luckily it seems he comes back in this book. I...
I read the first book after meeting Daniel Waters at my local library. That was an amazing story that I couldn't put down. My only regret is reading the book after I met Dan because now I can't yell at him for killing Adam, luckily it seems he comes back in this book. I've waited since August for this book, it just sucks that I'll have to wait until May for it to be published. You're an amazing author Dan! Keep up the great work!

posted by Katie-Baker on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well, well, well..

I didn't even know this was out! My friend bought the first one and I couldn't put it down... Her dilemma between these 2 guys is very relatble, but I have to say even though the ending was shocking and exciting, it was sort of dissapointing. I hope this one redeems the...
I didn't even know this was out! My friend bought the first one and I couldn't put it down... Her dilemma between these 2 guys is very relatble, but I have to say even though the ending was shocking and exciting, it was sort of dissapointing. I hope this one redeems the series.

posted by VampArt on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Series

    I read the first book after meeting Daniel Waters at my local library. That was an amazing story that I couldn't put down. My only regret is reading the book after I met Dan because now I can't yell at him for killing Adam, luckily it seems he comes back in this book. I've waited since August for this book, it just sucks that I'll have to wait until May for it to be published. You're an amazing author Dan! Keep up the great work!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kiss of Life

    Phoebe's trying to adjust to life after Adam's death - and zombie return. She doesn't really know how to act around him, but she tries desperately to make him happy. He's having a hard time getting back his range of movements and talking normally again. Still, she wants to be there. Adam thinks differently, he wants her to live again - not to be consumed with the guilt she feels. But he can't find the words to express his thoughts.
    Phoebe also feels guilty about Tommy. She knows he still has feelings for her, but she can't even wrap her head around her own emotions. All she knows is that she needs to be strong for Adam. When Tommy decides to leave and trek across the country educating people about zombies, Phoebe knows its for the best but she can't help feeling hurt by his actions. Can she find herself again and still be with Adam?

    A love triangle becomes messy with 2 undead boys and one living girl, but it also equals a fabulous zombie romance. But there's much more to this book than romance. People are afraid of the undead and start attacking them. It's starting to happen in Oakville. Tensions are rising and it might be time for the Zombies to fight for their way of life - which makes for an interesting take on prejudice

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Great sequel to the first!

    This series is very unpredictable but great. Again the cover is just so attention grabbing but the content is amazing. This is a really good series to get into. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Counting the Days!!! :D

    I am sooo excited for this book to come out! I read the frist one in one day because it was sooo good. When I finished I was like there has to be a second one!!! I was super excited to find this book online and freaked out!!! May 12, should hurry up!! HeHe!! :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great Sequel

    Interesting and really makes you think. Can't wai to read #3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    The phenomenon that’s been sweeping the country seems to be here to stay. Not only are the teenagers who have come back from their graves still here, but newlydeads are being unearthed all the time. While scientists look for answers and politicians take their stands, the undead population of Oakville have banded together in a group they’re calling the Sons of Romero, hoping to find solidarity in segregation.

    Phoebe Kendall may be alive, but she feels just as lost and alone as her dead friends. Just when she reconciled herself to having feelings for a zombie -- her Homecoming date Tommy Williams -- her friend Adam is murdered taking a bullet that was meant for her. Things get even more confusing when Adam comes back from the grave. Now she has romantic interest in two dead boys; one who saved her life, and one she can't seem to live without.

    The story opens with Adam dealing with his new "life" as a zombie. Some of the newly-dead come back more agile & talkative and then some have a much harder time adjusting to being undead. Adam falls into the latter. He can barley speak, barley walk, and his thoughts are all jumbled. Phoebe, on the other hand, is torn between guilt and affection for him. She's sad he sacrificed his life for her, but she's still deeply moved he has feelings for her, something she never knew until after his death. Their relationship has its ups and downs throughout the story all while the zombie generation begins to make rebellious protests (a sort of zombie revolution) to the way they're accepted in society.

    I love when you like the first book in a series and then you read the second book . . . and enjoy it ever more! I devoured this story. I got so caught up in Adam's development and Phoebe's torn feelings between Adam and Tommy that I found it hard to put down. It's an emotional tale and you really see the characters change from chapter to chapter. The ending probably wasn't as gut-wrenching as the first book, but it still gets the tension going and gets the reader excited for book three - Passing Strange

    Likes: All the visits to the zombie dance club AFTERMATH in New York.

    Dislikes: Discovering the Hunter Foundation's experiment of how to "cure" being undead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite of the series

    I love this book. I could not put it down. I loved that it was a continuation from Adam and Phoebe's point of view. They have a very strong bond. It kind of reminds me of Twilight's Jacob and Bella's friendship. I actually got a lot of my friends hooked on the generation dead series. I can't wait for the the 4th book to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read

    Waters is working on a wonderful series of a girl named Phoebe who lost her boyfriend and best friend to a zombi killer and is now a living dead person. This is the second of many books due to release in this series. With the highs and lows, Waters makes the reader feel every second of every of his novel, through the hard and easy times Phoebe is with the love of her life in Adam, she stays beside and supports him unconditonally, despite others that may look down upon her for it. Phoebe shows what true love and unconditional sacrifice is and how it can change someones life and make them better people for it. I highly recommend this for any sci-fi lover who loves books with a bit of fantasy and also a real life lesson to them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Excited!

    i LOVED the first book and i can't wait to read this one!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!!!!

    I absolutely loved the first one and cannot wait for this one to come out! Generation Dead was an amazing book and this one should be the same.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Life is always about choices. It's about Phoebe Kendall befriending Karen DeSonne, the "differently biotic" girl next door and choosing to go to homecoming with Tommy Williams, the "differently biotic" boy next door. It's about Tommy standing immobile when Pete Martinsburg pointed a gun at Phoebe's head. It's about Adam taking a bullet to save Phoebe. And, even though his "traditionally biotic" life might be over, it's about Adam coming back--maybe for himself but probably for Phoebe, the girl he loves.

    Adam isn't alone.

    All over the country, dead teenagers are waking up and rejoining the living with varying degrees of success. No one knows why some teenagers come back and some don't. The only certainty is that everything changed the moment these zombies began trying to reconnect with the world of the living.

    Adam's death and return have rocked the city of Oakvale, Connecticut to its core. What really happened that night? Is it murder if the the victim can get up and walk away? Does a dead person deserve the same rights as a living person? Wouldn't things be simpler if all of the zombies would just go away?

    Vandalism and social protest abound as some of the zombies try to remind Oakvale that they aren't going anywhere. But instead of raising awareness, the Sons of Romero might just be putting a bigger target on their differently biotic backs.

    While Phoebe struggles to bring Adam back as much as she can, Tommy and Karen try to act as voices of reason among the zombie community. But the time for reason might be over in Kiss of Life (2009) by Daniel Waters.

    This sequel picks up shortly after the disastragic conclusion of Generation Dead leaving all of the characters to deal with the fallout, and the grief, in their own ways.

    Don't let the blurb or excerpt fool you. Both try to play up the Dramatic Love Triangle angle to lethal effect* but Kiss of Life is smarter than that. Waters continues to use the dichotomy between traditionally and differently biotic people to examine matters of tolerance and equality in a clever, original way.

    In fact, even though this book is necessarily about Adam and his return, the book's main event is really the polarizing nature of the newly dead arriving in Oakvale (and the rest of the country) and their own attempts to raise awareness and get some rights. Social protest is a big part of the story but so is, for lack of a better term, the meaning of life as all of the differently biotic characters try to make sense of what their returns really mean for them and, in a greater context, for the world at large.

    I always said that Generation Dead was a really smart book. If possible, Kiss of Life is even more on point. It's exciting, it gets under your skin, and it's socially aware. Waters' characters are charming and terrifying as he shows events not only from the heroes' viewpoints but also from that of a villain. Nothing is black and white here. Add to that a dramatic finish and one of the most heart-wrenching love stories ever and you have something really exceptional.

    Possible Pairings: 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher, The Demon's Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan, Little Brother by Cory Doctorow, Peeps by Scott Westerfeld

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Sample

    I didn't read much but so fat so good in generation dead kiss of life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kiss of Life (Generation Dead, book #2) - Doesn't Disappoint

    Daniel Water's does again with this gripping second book from the Generation Dead series.

    Phoebe spends countless hours with Adam ever since the night he sacrificed himself to save her. The relationship with Tommy becomes complicated as she realizes that Adam is in love with her. Pete is stationed to fulfill his community service hours and counseling sessions at the Hunter Foundation, but soon Pete discovers that the Hunter Foundation is not all as it seems. There are deep, dark, and disturbing secrets behind closed doors.

    I often wonder what the author thinks when he sees the covers and summaries of his published books. Similar to Daniel Water's first book of this series - the synopses is very superficial and fails to grab the true contents within the book which in fact contain a lot of moral issues.

    I'm excited for the third book in this series which comes out in June 2010, Generation Dead: Passing Strange.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Really good book

    This book is very good read. It is the second on in the series. This book is very close the the first one and really carries on the story. A very good book to read. You will really be wowed. It is not like twilight, very different from it story. This is kind of the story between good and evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Paranormal Lover

    Love it and I'm not a teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    Very Real...

    When reading this book I found it to have a very realistic way about it. This book brings to the point of having to work through the problems of everyday life an having to learn to deal with people out there who want to put you down. It has a very dramatic pull of love and exceptance for one another. I think this book along with the first one can definitly teach people about respect and being able to accept others for who they are. It just goes to show in this book that even when things turn rough in life if you persevere that things will turn out okay in the long run. I found it very true to the facts of everyday life and encourge people to read it becasue it would help to understand it is what is on the inside that really counts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Simply Outstanding

    This book will have you enfolded between love triangles, death, and friendships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    :D

    I Love These Books.They Are Amazingggg!:D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I LOVED IT. THIS WAS A REALLY GREAT READ.I LOVED THE 1ST ONE AND THIS WAS EVEN BETTER. IT ENDED GREAT AND I CNT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE (I HOPE THERES GONNA BE 1. IF U LOVE READING U HAVE GOT TO READ THIS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Darker But Still Remains True

    The story has evolved in that it focuses less on the love triangle and more on the prejudice and injustice imposed on the undead by a group of zombie-hating humans. If you have failed to remain neutral between Tommy and Adam, i.e. Team Tommy or Team Adam, then it is inevitable that one side will be let down. Nothing is definate, however, since there are still many unresolved feelings because of crucial characters that are not present all that much in the story or simply because the writer did not touch on them that much. Perhaps maybe more in the third book in this series. New characters will surface and new alliances, albeit shocking, will be made as well as old ones being broken. A good follow-up to the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4