Customer Reviews for

Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(579)

4 Star

(319)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic series

Lara Adrian has created an alien race that has been living with humans for thousands of years. The first generation of these creatures, the Ancients, crash landed on earth. They were from a dark distant planet. In order to survive, they fed on the blood of humans. Their...
Lara Adrian has created an alien race that has been living with humans for thousands of years. The first generation of these creatures, the Ancients, crash landed on earth. They were from a dark distant planet. In order to survive, they fed on the blood of humans. Their hunger, so savage, wiped out an entire populations of humans. In rare instances, these ancients would successfully breed with human females. These females were rare and called Breedmates.
Lucan Thorne, the main character in the first book of The Midnight Breed Series, was sired by one of these Ancients. He leads a group of warrior vampires called the Breed in order to protect their race and as well as the human race from Rogues, vampires who surrendered to the insanity of bloodlust.
When Gabrielle Maxwell witnesses a band of Rogues savagely murder a human, she was pulled in Lucan's world. Although he is sworn to protect, Gabrielle causes him to lose control - something that is dangerous for an Ancient descendant. Little did he realize, losing control was only the beginning. Gabrielle was getting ready to change his life forever.
This was a book I was sad to see end. Thankfully, there are six more in this series with the seventh out at the end of 2009. One of the highlights is how Lara Adrian focuses solely on Lucan and Gabrielle, making them a priority of the story. Nowadays, paranormal romance authors are having love blossom not only between the hero and the heroine, but another couple as well. I realize this is a set up for the next book, but it's a turnoff for me. This author's story telling skills are so engrossing, I don't care who the next main characters are. I just want to read more. The story might not be classified as original, but it's solid and the author's writing style is powerfully passionate.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Too sexual, didn't read well, alien vampires

This book was too sexual for me. I read up to chapter 7 and put the book down for good. I like reading romance novels, but this was just...very different. Her wording was very blunt about things, and just didn't read well. I also didn't like that she made her vampires a...
This book was too sexual for me. I read up to chapter 7 and put the book down for good. I like reading romance novels, but this was just...very different. Her wording was very blunt about things, and just didn't read well. I also didn't like that she made her vampires aliens. I'm not really into the science fiction thing.

posted by Clarissabella on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic series

    Lara Adrian has created an alien race that has been living with humans for thousands of years. The first generation of these creatures, the Ancients, crash landed on earth. They were from a dark distant planet. In order to survive, they fed on the blood of humans. Their hunger, so savage, wiped out an entire populations of humans. In rare instances, these ancients would successfully breed with human females. These females were rare and called Breedmates.
    Lucan Thorne, the main character in the first book of The Midnight Breed Series, was sired by one of these Ancients. He leads a group of warrior vampires called the Breed in order to protect their race and as well as the human race from Rogues, vampires who surrendered to the insanity of bloodlust.
    When Gabrielle Maxwell witnesses a band of Rogues savagely murder a human, she was pulled in Lucan's world. Although he is sworn to protect, Gabrielle causes him to lose control - something that is dangerous for an Ancient descendant. Little did he realize, losing control was only the beginning. Gabrielle was getting ready to change his life forever.
    This was a book I was sad to see end. Thankfully, there are six more in this series with the seventh out at the end of 2009. One of the highlights is how Lara Adrian focuses solely on Lucan and Gabrielle, making them a priority of the story. Nowadays, paranormal romance authors are having love blossom not only between the hero and the heroine, but another couple as well. I realize this is a set up for the next book, but it's a turnoff for me. This author's story telling skills are so engrossing, I don't care who the next main characters are. I just want to read more. The story might not be classified as original, but it's solid and the author's writing style is powerfully passionate.

    43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but...

    First I want to say that I havent YET read all of these books and that so far I am really into them. That being said.. Ive read all of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books up to date and so far this seems pretty copy- catish.. The books are each about a warrior of the vampire race finding their mate. The warriors in this book so far seem to be pretty similar to Jr Wards "Brothers".. This book is about Lucan.. he is supposed to be the leader of the warriors and just like Wrath in Jrs book he has a weakness.. unlike the Brotherhood books his is a weakness of "bloodlust" but still its a leader with a weakness..Tegan is like Zsadist.. Dante reminds me of Vischous.. I dunno the series just seem to be very similar to me.. though they are still fun to read.. and there are differences.. I totally recommend reading both series.. :D

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting take on the vampire mythos

    Millenia ago eight aliens crashed landed on earth and the only nutrient that sustained them was human blood. A very few women who mated with them were able to bear them sons and the vampire race was born. In a dark alley, photographer Gabrielle Maxwell sees some men drinking the blood of victim. The ones who are doing them are Rogues, vampires with an out of control addiction to blood. They are vile and disdainful of humans who they see as cattle but the Breed vampires don¿t succumb to the blood lust and drink from volunteer humans. --- Lucan is part of a warrior clan dedicated to the wiping out the Rogues. He sees Gabrielle in the alley taking pictures and after he kills the Rogues hunts her down. He gets the pictures from her by pretending to be a policeman but when they start to make love he sees a small mark on her neck. This marks her as a Breedmate, a woman who is destined to mate with a vampire and through the continued exchange of blood will have eternal life. Gabrielle is attracted to Lucan who fights his feelings because he is on the frontlines of a war and doesn¿t want any woman to take his mind off the fight. He is also afraid that he will give in to the blood lust and doesn¿t want Gabrielle to see that part of him that he feels is weak. The two put their own relationship on hold as the war between the Breeds and the Rouges heat up. A new leader has organized the enemy into an army that he hopes will exterminate the Breeds. Gabrielle finds herself in the crossfire of a battle and her only hope of being saved is Lucan. --- Lara Adrian has an interesting take on the vampire mythos with its¿ deep structure and divisions in vampire society. This is an enticing and spellbinding paranormal romantic thriller. Lucan, who is nine hundred years old, comes across as a human with the same emotions and needs. Gabrielle accepts very quickly that vampires exist but is never frightened of Lucan who she sees as a vulnerable warrior tagged with the responsibility of eliminating the Rogues for too long. Readers who enter Lara Adrian¿s world will find themselves thoroughly absorbed in it. --- Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    loved

    loved this whole series its as sexual as the blackdagger brotherhood series by J. R Ward love the sexy guys and the great plot found me another author to follow keep them coming Lara cant wait till the next one comes out I have it pr-ordered

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    LOVE IT!

    I have read several vampire series, including JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series, Twilight series, House of Night series, Vampire Academy series, Vampire Diaries, Guardians of Eternity, and the Sookie Stackhouse series. This book is the first in the Midnight Breed Series, and it was wonderful. It ranked right up there with these other great series. It was better than a few of these also. All in All a GREAT read. It brings a little something different to the table, and includes scenes that are hot and steamy! I can't wait to read the rest of the series! Great work, Lara Adrian! :)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Too sexual, didn't read well, alien vampires

    This book was too sexual for me. I read up to chapter 7 and put the book down for good. I like reading romance novels, but this was just...very different. Her wording was very blunt about things, and just didn't read well. I also didn't like that she made her vampires aliens. I'm not really into the science fiction thing.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Very similar to Black Dagger Brotherhood series (which I LOVE) however, don't worry, once you read a few of these the story lines go different directions. A great escape novel for those who want a little hot vampire fantasy. The 1st and last two in this series were my favorite.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Highly Highly Recommend!

    This is one of the best series I have read. The books are not to long (junst under 300 pages) so they go quick, and keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time. I had just finished the Black Dagger Series and was looking to find another series to lose myself in and this one was recommended on my Nook. I started reading them, and was hooked instantly. After each book, I think I have a new favorite among the Order brothers. They are fantasitc!!! Start with book one Kiss of Midnight. Trust me, you will not be able to put them down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    great book for sci-fi romance readers

    This is a great book for sci-fi romance readers. Some of the action sequences came up a little short, but , overall, it kept my intrest throughout. If you like Sherylin Kennyon or J.R.Ward, then you will like this series also.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Vampire Romance

    I'd never read anything by this author, but had saw lots of recommendations about this series. The title was intriguing to me, so I bought it after checking out other reviews about it. I did find it similar to the Black Dagger Brotherhood in several areas. Some of the ideas were new and different. I think this is what made it stand on it's own. It was easy to read and captured my attention. It was never boring and I found myself interested in the story and what would come next. With her fresh ideas and different spin on the premise, I think this is what makes this vampire romance different. I throughly enjoyed it and plan to read all the other books in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Great series

    I really enjoyed reading this series by Lara Adrian. I read it before I read JR Wards Black Dagger Brotherhood series and it never occured that they were similar. I thought this series stook alone and I can see how it could possibly parallel that series, (both are a group of male warrior vampires) but other than that I think the plots were different. I really enjoyed both series but this one I found I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Had potential...

    I wanted to like this book but the writing was lacking and there was too much cheese for me. I read romance and erotica so that wasn't the cheesy part. Others compared it to J. R. Ward's series which I guess is true based on plot (similar) but these vamps can heal without stitches and the cheese... The alien thing wasn't a focus nor was it annoying to me. I prefer the charactors to tell the story and this book was told a lot in the 3rd person which truely got under my skin! I have just read other books that were much better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, and I look forward to reading more f

    I really enjoyed this book, and I look forward to reading more from this author. It’s a unique twist on the vampire story. I like the fact that there is a (semi-scientific) explanation for the vampires’ existence.

    The book itself was hot with good sex scenes and well-written. I know a bunch of people have compared it to Ward’s BDB series and I do see the similarities, but I like this one much more. It has less of the cheesy factor (I can’t stand the names of the vampires in BDB), and just reads easier, in my opinion. I also like the alpha-ness of Lucan. I’m a fan of that type of character, in general.

    If you enjoy paranormal romance with a touch of realism, you definitely have to give this one a shot. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Entertaining

    I'll be reading the rest of the series. Just enough sex, but not too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    If you like JR Ward you'll like Lara Adrian

    I've read the intire Brotherhood series and loved them all. When I read JR Ward's review on this author's work I knew it had of been "read" worthy. Kiss of Midnight is a good starter book for this series. Try it out you wont be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    !

    Harriet klausner strikes again. Oh well, bn. As long as you allow this plot spoiling witch to ruin your books, you will lose sales. This is another one that i cant buy because she has told everything that happens. Why buy the book when yiu know the story.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Awesome series

    This is a must read series for any vampire romance reader. Trust me you have never seen vampires like this nor in this location. If you like Sherrilyn Kenyon you will love Lara. Real page turner. You will not be able to put this down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    good series

    I have read the entire Midnight Breed Series and enjoyed them all. I really liked the way the author ties in all the books. The characters are inter woven in all the books. I love that!! I really have a hard time saying which was better, they are all good!! You will like this if you like this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I enjoyed this take on vampires. I have never read a vampire st

    I enjoyed this take on vampires. I have never read a vampire story with a lore quite like this one, it was positively out of this world! The fine line that divides the good guys from the bad makes you hold your breath at times waiting to see if that line gets crossed. There’s such a delicate balance that any Breed, especially the older generations, could find themselves on the other side in the blink of an eye, and there’s just no going back once that happens.

    The Rogues definitely embody the “enemy” role as they’re brutal and insatiable. Knowing their numbers could grow before anyone saw it coming makes them an ever-present and very dangerous threat. Add a woman that finds herself mysteriously drawn to them making her the center of both the Rogues’ attention and the Breeds’, and you’ve got the catalyst for a hell of conflict.

    This book is well paced and well written; the plot elements interesting, and the character dynamics occasionally fun. However, overall I think it just felt like it was missing a little something, but I can’t quite put my finger on what. The romance was there, though at first based purely on physical attraction rather than any emotional ties (those grew later), but the sex scenes felt a little short lived. Maybe I’m just a smut addict and wanted more in that regard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Very steamy with a great story line. I love the characters. If y

    Very steamy with a great story line. I love the characters. If you enjoy J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series you will like the Midnight Breed Series as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 56