Customer Reviews for

Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(579)

4 Star

(319)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic series

Lara Adrian has created an alien race that has been living with humans for thousands of years. The first generation of these creatures, the Ancients, crash landed on earth. They were from a dark distant planet. In order to survive, they fed on the blood of humans. Their...
Lara Adrian has created an alien race that has been living with humans for thousands of years. The first generation of these creatures, the Ancients, crash landed on earth. They were from a dark distant planet. In order to survive, they fed on the blood of humans. Their hunger, so savage, wiped out an entire populations of humans. In rare instances, these ancients would successfully breed with human females. These females were rare and called Breedmates.
Lucan Thorne, the main character in the first book of The Midnight Breed Series, was sired by one of these Ancients. He leads a group of warrior vampires called the Breed in order to protect their race and as well as the human race from Rogues, vampires who surrendered to the insanity of bloodlust.
When Gabrielle Maxwell witnesses a band of Rogues savagely murder a human, she was pulled in Lucan's world. Although he is sworn to protect, Gabrielle causes him to lose control - something that is dangerous for an Ancient descendant. Little did he realize, losing control was only the beginning. Gabrielle was getting ready to change his life forever.
This was a book I was sad to see end. Thankfully, there are six more in this series with the seventh out at the end of 2009. One of the highlights is how Lara Adrian focuses solely on Lucan and Gabrielle, making them a priority of the story. Nowadays, paranormal romance authors are having love blossom not only between the hero and the heroine, but another couple as well. I realize this is a set up for the next book, but it's a turnoff for me. This author's story telling skills are so engrossing, I don't care who the next main characters are. I just want to read more. The story might not be classified as original, but it's solid and the author's writing style is powerfully passionate.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Too sexual, didn't read well, alien vampires

This book was too sexual for me. I read up to chapter 7 and put the book down for good. I like reading romance novels, but this was just...very different. Her wording was very blunt about things, and just didn't read well. I also didn't like that she made her vampires a...
This book was too sexual for me. I read up to chapter 7 and put the book down for good. I like reading romance novels, but this was just...very different. Her wording was very blunt about things, and just didn't read well. I also didn't like that she made her vampires aliens. I'm not really into the science fiction thing.

posted by Clarissabella on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Well, if you read JR Ward, then you will understand.  Bear with

    Well, if you read JR Ward, then you will understand.  Bear with me in describing how I feel about this book.  It is like when you tell an amazing story and someone else attempts the same story without detail and passion.
    It is a knock-off in every sense of the word (except in the description of sex in which she misses it all together).  Even the characters are knock-offs of the JR Ward brothers.  I don't think I could have liked this book any less.
    I felt like I was cheating on JR.  I did not like this book at all....and I have read the Black Dagger Series twice.  I do not recommend this at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Overall, this book is a carbon copy of all the other vampires-li

    Overall, this book is a carbon copy of all the other vampires-living-among-us urban fantasy books. Young woman sees something paranormal. Vampire tries to keep her from discovering the truth. Vampire runs head-first into a pesky sexual attraction that can't be denied.
    *Yawn*
    The sensual build-up was luke warm. The intimate scenes were semi-explicit, but nothing like reading Angela Knight. By the end of the story I had a mantra in my head: "Just stop b***ing and figure out you love her already!"
    I'm going to pass on the other books in this series. I've read this type of romance story before, I don't need to read 8 more versions of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Ok

    It was hard to get into at first and I was mentally changing sentence structure so parts didnt seem as awkward. I probably would have liked this more if I hadnt read Kresley Cole and JR Ward first. It was escapism for after the kids were in bed but I doubt I would reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blah

    Quite the boring introduction. This book did nothing for me. I found my interest unappeased with the first paragraph. Such high hopes from the other reviews, but I am not easily impressed. No, so very few authors can grab like Kresley Cole & Gena Showalter. How depressing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not sold

    I finished the complete Black Dagger Broterhoood series in just over two weeks and was hungry for more. Since the next book in the series is not yet available i thoufht i'd give this series a try. Not the same. The writing is not nearly as clevr and the story line not as edgy as the world created by J.R. Ward's Caldwell, NY clan. To be fair neither series is going to be up for the Pulitzer; they are simply high fructose corn syrup for the brain. However, these moreso remind of the cheesy, groceru store check stand harlequin novels my grandmother used to read. These vamps are just not hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    BDB Ripoff

    Lara Adrian tried but she came up short. If you're into the BDB series like I am, this book will leave you unsatisfied. I did not feel a connection to any of the characters in the first book, the whole alien thing is little too fiction for my blood. I am not sure that I will continue with the series....because it wasn't completely bad & I've heard rave reviews about Tegan's book. But her attempt fell short of the greatness that is the BDB series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Kiss of Midnight

    Boring

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best

    The story line is a bit weak, and it seems to not be original.
    I prefer J.R. Wards' Black Dagger Brotherhood Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Completely Incompatible with the BDB series

    I picked this book on recommendations that it was similar to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series...so not the case. This book is definitely all paranormal romance, unlike Dark Lover, IMO the most dark paranormal romance out of the BDB series is closer to being a hybrid between dark urban fantasy and dark paranormal romance. Sure there are similarities between the two series: 1) they are both vampire series; 2)six warriors protecting its race; 3)bonded-mating and that's where the similarities end. This book didn't even come close to BDB series and I don't think the two should be compared at all. This book was extremely predictable, whereas BDB books are usually complex. I can't even say that I found this book entertaining in the least to keep my attention. I will not be reading the rest of the series and therefore, I can't recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers, those with or without patience to get to the paper-thin plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3