BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 865 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(513)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Unique and Refreshing!

The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her...
The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her Anita Blake series is better but I find this series to be so imaginative that it blows everything else out of the water. (mind you all of her books are good!)
This book lays the ground work for all of the rest and the story just keeps getting better and better! A MUST read if you enjoy Paranormal Fantasy Romance!

posted by 8149 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog...
I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog was extremely confusing, I could not connect with any of the characters and there was a lot gratuitous sex. I am certainly not a prude but the author uses these sex passages just to get from one disjoint idea to another. The 'Dead' series by Charlaine Harris and the 'Twilight' series by Stephenie Meyer are far more creative than this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 869 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    I CAN'T STOP BLUSHING!!!

    OMG!!! This is AMAZING! I can't stop...I finished this book in 1 day! i was just soooo into the story and the SEX!!! WOW! I better stop and breath now. LOL. Am defenectly Hooked on this one, am going to start the second book right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    WOW

    I couldnt put this book down for a second! Normally im a fast reader and can read a book of about 600 pages in 2 days, but this book of about 470 pages i read in one afternoon! It was that great. I usually dont go for the books that have real settings, but this was just too great a book to not read. Youll have a lot of fun reading this because of merry's character. and some of you will be panting over the guys, i know my friends were. even the straight guys were. this was a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Great starter for an amazing series

    I first read this book in high school and it was my first read by Laurell K Hamilton. After the first chapter I knew I was hooked. I couldn't put it down, and I couldn't stop reading just this book. I had to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Entertaining

    A different type of Fairytale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Silvershade

    She curls up next to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Coalstar

    Rested his fluffy black tail on her back before drifting off. Bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Disappointing in the extreme. She stopped any pretense of plot o

    Disappointing in the extreme. She stopped any pretense of plot or character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Price to high, $2 on kindle

    I went to buy this book on my nook because I wanted to read it again. Nook wants $8 for it. So I looked at kindle because it is a free app and they have it for $2. Really? BN better get with the program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    I love Merry!

    The Merry Gentry books are awesome! I can't wait until the next one comes out in June! Fairies, goblins, brownies, fae, all sorts of supernatural beings you'd never believe. This world is so intricate I have to keep rereading the whole series! Oh, and I can't forget all the awesome sex!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Cant get enough of these books

    This is one of the best book series i have ever read. I read book 5 before i knew it was a series. As soon as i was done i bought the rest and now read all the books once a year. Love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    I fell in love with Merry and all her men a long time ago! I was so glad to see she keeps em comming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Simply lovely but not for closed minded readers

    Some stuff I`ll admit gave me pause but it was genuinely a good read, I thank Syn for suggesting this for me. Few know me like you. ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    !

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    gotta read

    love this series, lots of detail, but not to much to be boring ..i cant put these books down and have read them a couple of time ,
    laurell also does another wonderful series call
    anita blake the vampire hunter..love that one also

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    This is a must read series! It is juat as passionate and invitin

    This is a must read series! It is juat as passionate and inviting as her Anita Blake series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Caught my attention right away. Found it hard to put down. I had to purchase the rest of the books in this series and can't wait to start reading them! Liked the ease and flow of the book, as well as her characters. Be aware there are gratuitous sex scenes through out. However, having said that, the scenes are brief and don't take pages to get through....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    A must read!!!

    It was a page turner, something I couldn't put down because I wanted to know how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Love.

    Amazing author. Great story and yummy sex scenes :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great book,Great Author

    This whole series is great. Finally starting to buy and re-read after many years. I forgot how much I love Merry and her men!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 869 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 44