Customer Reviews for

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 862 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Unique and Refreshing!

The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her...
The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her Anita Blake series is better but I find this series to be so imaginative that it blows everything else out of the water. (mind you all of her books are good!)
This book lays the ground work for all of the rest and the story just keeps getting better and better! A MUST read if you enjoy Paranormal Fantasy Romance!

posted by 8149 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog...
I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog was extremely confusing, I could not connect with any of the characters and there was a lot gratuitous sex. I am certainly not a prude but the author uses these sex passages just to get from one disjoint idea to another. The 'Dead' series by Charlaine Harris and the 'Twilight' series by Stephenie Meyer are far more creative than this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 866 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique and Refreshing!

    The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.<BR/>The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her Anita Blake series is better but I find this series to be so imaginative that it blows everything else out of the water. (mind you all of her books are good!)<BR/>This book lays the ground work for all of the rest and the story just keeps getting better and better! A MUST read if you enjoy Paranormal Fantasy Romance!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog was extremely confusing, I could not connect with any of the characters and there was a lot gratuitous sex. I am certainly not a prude but the author uses these sex passages just to get from one disjoint idea to another. The 'Dead' series by Charlaine Harris and the 'Twilight' series by Stephenie Meyer are far more creative than this book.

    9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE, Laurell K. Hamilton!!!

    This is the first book of hers that I have read, but I know much about her others series. I am hooked completely on this author now! She combines fantasy with sex so beautifully. (It's the mystical lusty sex that all women dream about!) :O) On top of that the story line is very good, and keeps you wanting to know more. Can't wait to progress further in this series and soon the 'Anita Blake' series also!!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laurell K Hamilton.

    My twin sister got one of her books from the library. And she was telling me about what kind of author she was. And at first I thought her book was going to be lame, and about vampires. And it wasn't, it was totally different then what I aspected. I really enjoyed this book,but a WARNING for anyone who never read her writings before. If you do not like erotica books. DON'T GET IT!!!

    This book is a non stop read. LOL. I read ths book in 5 days, I would have read it quicker. If it wasnt for me working. But if you have low expectations about this book. Please give a shot and try it out. Because believe me, I thought the same thing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    The guy had tentacles! There's something wrong with that!

    A KISS OF SHADOWS by Laurell K. Hamilton (2 stars). Rape. Sex. Sex. Rape/sex and liking it. What? Yeah. That's what I thought too. Just pass this whole series unless you want to read the kinky. Just don't expect there to be any decent dialog, character development, or plot.

    I'm pretty sure Merry either humped, sexed, licked, bit, or out-right prostituted herself out to every male in this book, or she tried. I mean really! When do you draw the line? The guy had tentacles for Christ's sake! And testicles too, I'm sure. I was so distracted by this that I can't even remember what the plot was. Something about a fey queen? I dunno. I can't recall.

    Regardless, I know I will pick up book two eventually and give this series another try. Where's the Hamilton writing goddess I fell in love while reading the Anita Blake series? Bring her back, please.

    Ahem. I can't believe so many people have given this book such a high star rating. Unless you're rating it as being an erotica novel?

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    Seriously? How did this book get so many good reviews?

    Honestly I am only writing this review because I can't believe how many great reviews this book got. The story was pretty good and original, and I had more trouble putting it down than I should have. The most disapointing thing about this book is the way that it written. I don't think the author or her editor did their job properly. The story is a jumbled mess that doesn't flow well and she spent to much time on descriptions that aren't important or interesting, and not enough time describing other things (like main characters and personaltiy traits) that are necessary to get you involved in the story. Also the grammar was horrible. You had to reread passages and then just try to guess what she meant. And as you got to the last couple chapters she just ran through the ending. There was no real detail. It was like she was bored with the book herself and just wanted it to end. Honestly I think the only reason I liked this book at all was because it was so original and I was intigued by the world that she created. I think that if this was wirtten better it could have been one of my favorite books, however I was left very disapointed that she could create such an amazing story and then so thoroughly distroy it with her writing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    A nice change

    I am a big fan of Laural K Hamiltons Anita Blake series and thought I would check out her less complicated (as in lead character) Merry Gentry series. I was plesantly surprised. It started off a little bit slow for me but I think that was only because the Fey vs Vamp differance. It didn't take me long to get hooked. It has the adventure, death threats, crazy family, and wonderful sexual tention. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts a little slow

    Kiss of Shadows, the first book in the Meredith Gentry series, starts out a little slow. You have to get a few chapters in before it really starts to pick up but it is well worth it. The series is great fun. Every book has humor, and I mean laugh out loud humor, at least once in it, usually several times spaced through out. The sex is graphic, but so much a part of who the characters are that it is all just part of the story being told. I recommend this series to anyone looking for a good time, but keep away from children. LOL Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    What?

    I can not finish the story. Lost in the language; too many characters to keep up with; lost my attention. I was in the 200's and i still dont understand the cover nor the title. She went from an investigator to a princess on the run. This story was not for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Re-reader

    I can read these books over and over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Not good

    This book was terrible - I didn't even finish it. I'm irritated that I paid for it and can't figure out where all of the great reviews came from! Really people? I would like to see more "real" reviews on this website, not "fake" reviews from individuals clearly associated with the author or from whom are profiting from the sale of the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    NOT SURE ABOUT THIS SERIES

    I have read other books by this author. I found this book to be disappointing. I dont think I will read the next in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good alternative series

    I picked this book up because I was dying for more or LKH Vampire Books. I thought it was very well written and engaging. She is a very creative writer no matter what the topic. The characters are great, the plot is imaginative and I will definitely pick up the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    I found this book while surfing the shop on my nook and the title sounding interesting, so I thought I would check it out. I was pleasantly surprised and found that I could barely put my nook down while reading this book. I really enjoyed Laurell K. Hamilton's writing style. It did seem odd that the story completely twisted away from what I thought it would be after the first couple of chapters, but it was still a very fun read. I hope to read more from this series, and have already added them to my ebook wishlist! I certainly recommend this book to anyone looking for a break from the ordinary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than Anita Blake

    I have read over 50 paranormal romance books. I have been making my way reading all the different series in this catagory. I did all the Anita Blake books, the first 6 or so were good, then went down hill fast. I was leary to read the Gentry series and was very suprised, it was original.I tend to look for vampire/were stories, this is all about the Fae world. I felt the books were far more "thought out" and put together better than the birdwalks that Blake had. Hamilton seems to write with purpose in this series. Merry is far more likeable than Anita, and her world is colorful. I must say I couldn't wait for the kids to go to bed to pick it up every night. This series shows a softer, more sweet side of Hamilton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent Adult Fae Dark Urban Fantasy Romance

    There are over 300 reviews for this book already, so my review will be brief. I've never read anything from this author before but decided to take advantage of the free download from Kindle. Even though I'm sure some of the complaints concerning Laurell's writings have merit; I let a lot of the negative reviews surrounding Laurell's books get in the way of me discovering a fantastic author. If you are disturbed by multiple sex partners or frequent sexual activity, I don't recommend you read this book. This book was a very exciting, creative, dark and dangerous fantasy that completely delivered. I enjoyed this book so much; I greedily devoured it and could hardly put it down. I am always looking for dark urban fantasy books that involve the fae and cater to adults, and I very pleased to be able to add Laurell's Meredith Gentry series to my short list. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to reading the next book A Caress of Twilight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Less then good

    It was the first book in my entire life that was so awful I gave it to the library to raise funds.I was embarrassed that I even owned the book. It was total shmutt from beginning to .... where I finally said enough!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A suprisingly good series

    I was honestly surprised by how much I enjoyed this series. Being a fan of Hamilton's Anita Blake series I was familiar with her writing style and thus wasn't shocked by the amount of sexual context. It's not a series for the prudish or squeamish, if BDSM freaks you out you might have trouble seeing past it and to the entertaining plot line. I highly enjoyed this series and can't wait for the release of future books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Little Too Hardcore

    I really enjoy scifi/fantasy, especially of the romantic fiction variety, but this one takes it one step further and, for me, that was one step too far. The story line was nothing particularly new and the "romance" was a little too S&M for my taste. The author seemed more interested in the shock value of the relations than the interest of the plot. I was not impressed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    I CAN'T STOP BLUSHING!!!

    OMG!!! This is AMAZING! I can't stop...I finished this book in 1 day! i was just soooo into the story and the SEX!!! WOW! I better stop and breath now. LOL. Am defenectly Hooked on this one, am going to start the second book right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 866 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44