Customer Reviews for

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 862 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Unique and Refreshing!

The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her...
The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her Anita Blake series is better but I find this series to be so imaginative that it blows everything else out of the water. (mind you all of her books are good!)
This book lays the ground work for all of the rest and the story just keeps getting better and better! A MUST read if you enjoy Paranormal Fantasy Romance!

posted by 8149 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog...
I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog was extremely confusing, I could not connect with any of the characters and there was a lot gratuitous sex. I am certainly not a prude but the author uses these sex passages just to get from one disjoint idea to another. The 'Dead' series by Charlaine Harris and the 'Twilight' series by Stephenie Meyer are far more creative than this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    A nice change

    I am a big fan of Laural K Hamiltons Anita Blake series and thought I would check out her less complicated (as in lead character) Merry Gentry series. I was plesantly surprised. It started off a little bit slow for me but I think that was only because the Fey vs Vamp differance. It didn't take me long to get hooked. It has the adventure, death threats, crazy family, and wonderful sexual tention. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts a little slow

    Kiss of Shadows, the first book in the Meredith Gentry series, starts out a little slow. You have to get a few chapters in before it really starts to pick up but it is well worth it. The series is great fun. Every book has humor, and I mean laugh out loud humor, at least once in it, usually several times spaced through out. The sex is graphic, but so much a part of who the characters are that it is all just part of the story being told. I recommend this series to anyone looking for a good time, but keep away from children. LOL Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good alternative series

    I picked this book up because I was dying for more or LKH Vampire Books. I thought it was very well written and engaging. She is a very creative writer no matter what the topic. The characters are great, the plot is imaginative and I will definitely pick up the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    I found this book while surfing the shop on my nook and the title sounding interesting, so I thought I would check it out. I was pleasantly surprised and found that I could barely put my nook down while reading this book. I really enjoyed Laurell K. Hamilton's writing style. It did seem odd that the story completely twisted away from what I thought it would be after the first couple of chapters, but it was still a very fun read. I hope to read more from this series, and have already added them to my ebook wishlist! I certainly recommend this book to anyone looking for a break from the ordinary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than Anita Blake

    I have read over 50 paranormal romance books. I have been making my way reading all the different series in this catagory. I did all the Anita Blake books, the first 6 or so were good, then went down hill fast. I was leary to read the Gentry series and was very suprised, it was original.I tend to look for vampire/were stories, this is all about the Fae world. I felt the books were far more "thought out" and put together better than the birdwalks that Blake had. Hamilton seems to write with purpose in this series. Merry is far more likeable than Anita, and her world is colorful. I must say I couldn't wait for the kids to go to bed to pick it up every night. This series shows a softer, more sweet side of Hamilton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Entertaining

    A different type of Fairytale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Adult only!

    As a lover of paranormal/horror/and romance, I love the books. I tried this series after reading the Anita Blake novels, which I love more. I am far from a prude, but there is a little too much sex with too many different people even for me. (That is why it is a 4 instead of a 5) I'd rather she just stick with one or two. The story line, and the characters, though? I love them. Her Aunt "The Queen of Air and Darkness," is horrifying and demented. Laurell K. Hamilton is some author! She has quite an imagination! (I'll bet she's pretty open-minded, kinky, and has some dark fantasies in real life!) P.S: If you like this you will like the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter novels. And there is at least 20 of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    It's good.

    I have read the Anita Blake series prior to Meredith Gentry series both written by Laurell K Hamilton. Can't help but to compare the writing style and story plots. Both series has a story of a mixed girls petite and big breasted. Of course multiple men in both stories. Anita lets you get to know her before craziness happen, where Meredith slams you with everything at once. Both are adventurous. If your tired of all the VAMPS this series with get you into fairies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    pretty good

    ok, it is not all that bad, seriously surprised how much magic is done within the story, yes it has a ton of sex, but overall i thought it was really an interesting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Different....

    I have always read fiction books and mostly having to do with vampires. I liked the Anita Blake series so much I thought to myself give this series a try... eventhough it's different... I loved it a wonderful surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love for the Sidhe!

    I love this series! I can escape into a fantasy world that is not only sexy, but thrilling, and full of mystery. Merry and her men just make me happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    intriging

    drags on sometimes but not to bad. i was kinda hoping more of the both worlds would mingle. im hoping the next book is a little more exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Great book, not so great narrator.

    I love this series. I have them all in written format, but I wanted them in audio as well so I could listen to them while I work. I do not like the narrator though, I think she sounds too old. She has that kind of raspy voice that smoker's get. It is really noticable when she does some of the guys voices, she makes them sound weird. She also makes Merry sound different from how she sounded in my head. Still, I love the books, I just recommend reading them not listening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    sexy and fantasy

    Hot book! First time read by Hamilton's book. I will definitly ready the second, third, and more of Merdith Gentry's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Great

    One of the best books I've ever read, right up there with 'Ring War' by Logan Robert Bingham and 'The Eye of the World' by Robert Jordan, 'Ender's Game,' and 'Darkly Dreaming Dexter.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2001

    wow....another hit series

    I just loved this new and very exciting book by laurell k. hamilton. This book has drawn me in just like her previous anita blake novels have and still will do in the future. This book is excellent, but one thing that got me annoyied was the abrubt ending, w/ out futher details... i know its a new 'series', but i was waiting for more to happen with meredith, cel, the queen of air and darkness, doyal, frost and galen... now i am deffinatly waiting rather impatiently for the next and new installment of the new meredith nicEssus princess, books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    Sexy and Frightening

    Ms. Hamilton's done it again! This is another excellent book by the same author of the 'Anita Blake' series. I had a time putting it down, and was ever so tempted to read it cover-to-cover in one sitting. If you like your horror with a little spice, look this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    She Does It Again

    Again Laurell K. Hamilton has been able to build a modern scene slightly twisted to include The Fey as reality. Be prepared for great setup for scenes, brisk dialog, and an intense female lead character. Since these characters are Fey, do not expect human moral guidelines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    This is not Anita Blake!

    Friends of mine complain about the sex in Guilty Pleasures. Trust me, compared to A Kiss of Shadows there is NO sex in all of the Anita Blake books. Once you make it through all the sex - trust me reading this book and being single is not a good idea - it gets into an interesting story. Sensual is not the word I would use to describe this book. Interview with a Vampire was erotic, this book is just downright sexy . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    A Unique Blend

    Employing a savory blend of fantasy and reality, 'A Kiss of Shadows' will fascinate and horrify simultaneously. Laurell K. Hamilton's story of a faerie princess with a sardonic wit and an overactive libido is a unique blend of magical and mundane, beauty and beastliness, sensitivity and sexuality. Princess Meredith must forge a path through the tangled intrigue of the Faerie Court, when all she really wants is to remain obscure and at peace in today's modern, human world. The tale will draw you in, and keep you, spellbound. Beware of faerie magic! A warning to those sensitive to such things -- Hamilton's writing includes numerous violent and sexual situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11