Customer Reviews for

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 846 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(499)

4 Star

(216)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Unique and Refreshing!

The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her...
The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her Anita Blake series is better but I find this series to be so imaginative that it blows everything else out of the water. (mind you all of her books are good!)
This book lays the ground work for all of the rest and the story just keeps getting better and better! A MUST read if you enjoy Paranormal Fantasy Romance!

posted by 8149 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog...
I love surfing B&N reviews looking for great new books and authors. I was thrilled when I saw how many readers thought this book and its' series was fabulous. DID I MISS SOMETHING? I got about 150 pages into this book and realized it was a huge waste of time. The dialog was extremely confusing, I could not connect with any of the characters and there was a lot gratuitous sex. I am certainly not a prude but the author uses these sex passages just to get from one disjoint idea to another. The 'Dead' series by Charlaine Harris and the 'Twilight' series by Stephenie Meyer are far more creative than this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 499 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    K430

    I absolutely love scify/fantasy/paranormal novels. To name a few series, Anita Blake, Rachel Morgan, Sookie Stackhouse, Mercy Thompson, and many more. When I dive into a new series I like to read the bad reviews, to sort of read between the lines of the ranting. Most of the bad reviews on this book (series) say that it is hard to follow and too much sex. Well to clarify, sex is a key part in this Fairie world. The first book starts out a little slow but it is laying the ground work for a whole new fascinating world. If you are anything like me, the biggest reason for my love of this genre is the "unrealness" of it. When you dive into a book you want to envision a different reality.
    This book does exactly that. The detail and complexity makes this series so much more than a typical "the world is normal but with vampires" plot. You may be feeling a little left behind when you dive into this series, but the plots and characters are unique and original.
    I also appriciate that at times Merry does appear "weak." It makes her believable. Sure, everyone loves a kick-ass heroine, but that can be boring when the main character is so strong that she miraculously saves the day every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    FOREVER FAN

    Once i started reading this novel i couldn't put it down. It's just as captivating as the Anita Blake series, can't wait to start on the second novel in the Merideth Gentry series. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Addictive

    Hooked me from the first page and am always impatiently waiting for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    one of my favorites.

    Ive read more than one of the merry gentry series, and they are honestly one of my absolute favorites. There are not many others that can even compare to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is a great book. Remember this the 1 st book in the
    series. Fun read, some sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Fantastic Fairy adventure

    Read this book and needed more. Bought every one of the Mededith Gentry novels, I can't get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put this down

    This is the first book of Laurell K. Hamilton that I have read and I have to say that I loved this book. I have never read any fae books but this one got me hooked to her books and the paranormal genre. Meredith goes from fleeing her family to having to confront her aunt whom she fears for things that happened in the past. Hamilton's characters were great and I couldn't get enough of them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome series!!!

    I started reading the Anita Blake series first. I flew through all of that series and moved on to the Merideth Gentry and Love it!!! Laurell Hamilton is such a imaginative, detailed writer and her novels are all page turners!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great series!

    I absolutely love Laurell K Hamilton's imagination! The characters are awesome and the plot is always interesting. I would recommend the whole Meredith Gentry series to everyone, especially if you like the Anita Blake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Laurell Rocks!!

    Anything written by Laurell K. Hamilton is a must have!! I love the Princess Meredith series and I cant' wait for her to keep it going!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!! Merry is an excellent read!!!

    There are few other authors that can draw me in so completly...but Laurell Hamilton does it everytime!!! There hasn't been a book of hers that i have picked up and haven't instantly been hooked too!!! And this series is no different!!! Merry and her group of delicious men whats there not to like!!! She mixes mystery and sex and passion with such ease that i was unable to put this book down!!! I would def. reccomend this series it is awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Great Writer, keeps the story moving with characters you want to know more about.

    Hamilton knows how to write to keep the reader moving through the story, engaged by the characters and wanting to learn more about the decisions and interactions they make. And the descriptions are to die for...ok maybe not die literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy

    This is the first Laurell K. Hamilton book I've read. I must say I am addicted! I love the plot lines and the characters are great! It can be a little dark and it is VERY sexy. Definitely one of my new favorite writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly Entertaining!!

    This is a new series for me and boy am I loving it!! I'm a big fan of the strange and unusual and love the twists and turns of this storyline. Part of the point in reading is to escape and experience another world. With Laurell K. Hamilton behind the wheel you will not be disappointed! I couldn't wait to read more and have already started book 2 of the series, and will definitely read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great follow up for Anita Blake lovers

    I was lost once I finished the Anita Blake series, but decided I wanted to give LKH another shot since I loved her others. I am so glad I did. This series takes a little more imagination, but so worth the effort. Can't wait to read more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Fantastic!

    A Kiss of Shadows is the work of a truly talented mind. I have not experienced a more creative writer in urban fantasy yet. Laurell K. Hamilton has created a vast and diverse world of magic, intrigue and lust. Her leading lady is neither too much the hero nor too much the victim. Merry Gentry easily tops my favorite heroine list. She is either the target or prize for those around her, but she is definitely what they all desire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Anita Blake, or Meridith Gentry books

    OMG. Laural K. Hamilton is my FAVORITE author. I recommend her to everyone who is interested in her kind of writing. I read all 16-17 books of the Anita Blake series in 2 weeks, and the Mereidith Gentry in 1 week I couldn't put them down.










    h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Detail

    This is my second fairy story and I thought it was wonderful. The first book I read was too gory and didn't really have a good storyline. This book on the other hand had so many great details and I'm really enjoying the story of a mix fairy princess. I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Merry Gentry!

    The first of Laurell K. Hamilton's, Merry Gentry Series and absolutely epic! I love this book so much, I own the entire series now. The storyline is enticing and entrancing, it ties you in from the very beginning and the plot unfolds into a serious page turner. The mood is dark and mysterious as well as the tone. The characters are amazing and each unique. The description is perfect, not too much to bore you or too little to confuse you. Just enough to tie you and then shackle you. There is alot of sexual situations in this novel, so if you love romance novels with an amazing story this series is perfect for you. A must have and highly highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    A kiss of shadows

    Very good book loved the anita blake series so tried this book. Great read waiting for the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 499 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25