Customer Reviews for

Kiss of Steel

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was not expecting a book this good. All the characters are vi

I was not expecting a book this good. All the characters are vibrant and complicated, with very unique voices. The dialogue is generally excellent. There are multiple subplots that keep twisting, never ending quite where you expect them. The world if very fleshed ou...
I was not expecting a book this good. All the characters are vibrant and complicated, with very unique voices. The dialogue is generally excellent. There are multiple subplots that keep twisting, never ending quite where you expect them. The world if very fleshed out and the author does a good job of explaining the history and the society.

Most importantly, you care about everyone in the book. Blade is fascinating, a multi-dimensional 'bad boy' hero with a sexy accent. If anything, he is just a hair too perfect. Honoria, the heroine, is smart and proud but inexperienced and overwhelmed with the responsibility of caring for her family and hiding from an evil, insane villain. She makes mistakes, but she accepts responsibility and deals with the consequences. She does not whine or bemoan her fate, nor is she unbelievably stoic and strong. I rarely like female leads, but she was my favorite character in a book full of great people.

There are side characters that could be very one dimensional -- for example, Honoria's young, slightly ditzy sister -- that manage to be sympathetic and interesting. While this book focuses on Honoria Todd and Blade, there are many other characters who are just as important to the story.

Also, everyone's motivations are completely believable: Blade doesn't fall mindlessly in love with Honoria's cleavage and Honoria's problems are not magically solved by his throbbing manhood. Overall, this was a great book and I highly recommend it.

posted by LaurenY on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book that I have read in the new Steampunk Gen

This is the first book that I have read in the new Steampunk Genre and I really enjoyed the world the author has created. I really like how strong and independent Honoria was and how Blade was patient with her.With Honor he was gentle but to everyone else he was a badas...
This is the first book that I have read in the new Steampunk Genre and I really enjoyed the world the author has created. I really like how strong and independent Honoria was and how Blade was patient with her.With Honor he was gentle but to everyone else he was a badass. I enjoyed the authors take on blue bloods, vampires, and verwulfen. I was disappointed that blue bloods have to use a razor to cut their prey in order to feed. But I am looking forward to reading the other books in this series. Mainly Will but I think Esme and Rip will have a good book too. I recommend to anyone looking for something different with a historical/paranormal/Victorian twist.

posted by Brandi1979 on October 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    We need more books like this

    I wish there were more authors who knew how to wrap a romance story up with great steam punk and paranormal themes. She creates a whole knew amazing world that is also relatable. We really need more stories like this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was not expecting a book this good. All the characters are vi

    I was not expecting a book this good. All the characters are vibrant and complicated, with very unique voices. The dialogue is generally excellent. There are multiple subplots that keep twisting, never ending quite where you expect them. The world if very fleshed out and the author does a good job of explaining the history and the society.

    Most importantly, you care about everyone in the book. Blade is fascinating, a multi-dimensional 'bad boy' hero with a sexy accent. If anything, he is just a hair too perfect. Honoria, the heroine, is smart and proud but inexperienced and overwhelmed with the responsibility of caring for her family and hiding from an evil, insane villain. She makes mistakes, but she accepts responsibility and deals with the consequences. She does not whine or bemoan her fate, nor is she unbelievably stoic and strong. I rarely like female leads, but she was my favorite character in a book full of great people.

    There are side characters that could be very one dimensional -- for example, Honoria's young, slightly ditzy sister -- that manage to be sympathetic and interesting. While this book focuses on Honoria Todd and Blade, there are many other characters who are just as important to the story.

    Also, everyone's motivations are completely believable: Blade doesn't fall mindlessly in love with Honoria's cleavage and Honoria's problems are not magically solved by his throbbing manhood. Overall, this was a great book and I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book One of the London Steampunk series. This review is for the

    Book One of the London Steampunk series.

    This review is for the narration:

    The narrator made this story a six star rating for me.  She is fantastic and goes above and beyond.  I can't imagine reading the print copy after hearing the audio version.

    Blade and Honoria both have to overcome numerous complications throughout the story.  They both have pasts that are catching up with them, but together they have a chance to make a future.

    I highly recommend this audiobook/story to anyone at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I didn't want to put this book down!

    At first, I wasn't sure I was going to like this story, but then I was hooked and lost too much sleep because I couldn't make myself stop reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful from start to finish

    I really enjoyed this book. I found the characters relatable, liked the plot and the incorporation of the paranormal—finding blue-bloods vs. vampires a fun dichotomy—and simply adored the world that was created in this book. The blending of historical facts with imaginative creatures worked for me and the societal structure was both fascinating and believable, if a bit under-explored—but that is only to be expected in a series—something to explore in books to come. I did have a small disconnect with the hero’s dialect and accent written into the dialogue, but after I discovered that it did have a plot purpose I was able to re-gig my mind from heavy-handed to character clue. I would also say that the “steampunk” elements in this book were, in my opinion little more than window dressing. Seam-powered mechanical servers and a few mechanical limbs—they didn’t really have an effect on the book other that a small amount of aesthetic. With a series title of “London Steampunk” I kind of expected them to play a more predominant role. I don’t feel that this hurt the book, however if one is looking for a truly steampunk read, I am not sure that I would recommend this, as it was more of a paranormal book with steampunk overtones. Perhaps further into the series the steampunk elements will develop further, or perhaps they were incorporated to capitalize on the current steampunk fascination, in either case they helped to create a beautiful cover and enhance a good book. I give Kiss of Steel four smiling stars with every intention of picking up the next book in this series Heart of Iron with it is released. As a side not, I also have to add and give props to the publishing company of this one, Sourcebooks Casablanca. This is a beautifully published paperback, with quality paper that was a joy to read. As a comparison, if anyone is interested, I weighed both this book and Ilona Andrews Bayou Moon (which has just slightly more pages) and Bayou moon came in at around 8ozs while Kiss of Steel was 11ozs. The quality of the paper was substantially above the normal mass market and made this book much cleaner to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well-Blended Story

    I’m just venturing into the Steampunk genre and author Bec McMaster’s debut release made me glad I am branching out to read new things. McMaster’s first installment in the London Steampunk Series is KISS OF STEEL. It is a well-blended mixture of genres rolled into a tantalizing read. It gives you Steampunk, romance, paranormal and mystery all in one intriguing setting. Honoria Todd has no choice but to take refuge in Whitechapel, the last bastion of safety for those who fear the rule of the mighty Echelon in the steam-fueled world of Victorian London. She cares for her two siblings while protecting her father’s research diary from the clutches of the Duke of Vickers. The diary is the key to a vaccine against the craving disease that turns its victims into vampires. For help she must turn to the only man the Echelon don’t dare touch - Blade. Since infected with the craving, Blade is almost immortal. He is the master of the rookeries, but fears himself more than others. When Honoria seeks his help, he is torn between using her as bait against his enemy or giving in to his feelings. McMaster has created a most believable world incorporating various gadgets of Steampunk with the vampire lore and blue blood nobility for a truly entertaining read. She weaves in suspense and mystery with a big dose of steamy romance. The characters are well-developed and likable. Honoria is a spunky heroine who fiercely protects those she loves. Blade is a strong hero with a tender side. The cast of supporting characters add another layer to mix. KISS OF STEEL flows at a steady pace with enough action and adrenaline rush to keep you on the edge of your seat as you quickly turn the next page. With this first installment in a new series, McMaster has put her mark on this fascinating genre and I look forward to what comes next. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    YES

    This was a new genre for me. Dark, dirty and sexy as heck. I wil be referring it to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book that I have read in the new Steampunk Gen

    This is the first book that I have read in the new Steampunk Genre and I really enjoyed the world the author has created. I really like how strong and independent Honoria was and how Blade was patient with her.With Honor he was gentle but to everyone else he was a badass. I enjoyed the authors take on blue bloods, vampires, and verwulfen. I was disappointed that blue bloods have to use a razor to cut their prey in order to feed. But I am looking forward to reading the other books in this series. Mainly Will but I think Esme and Rip will have a good book too. I recommend to anyone looking for something different with a historical/paranormal/Victorian twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Read this book and now this woman is one of my new favorite auth

    Read this book and now this woman is one of my new favorite authors! That baloney Publishers Weekly said about confusing overlapping storylines is just that - baloney! It was fascinating, engaging, couldn't put the book down, reading it in traffic good! I can't believe this is her first ever novel! She very wonderfully puts together a fascinating whole new world that is loosely based on our own and familiar enough to navigate. She somehow manages to masterfully combine vampires, werewolves, steampunk cyborgs. She is just beyond amazing as an author! I was TOTALLY transported into her world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I could not put this book down! I cannot wait for the next book

    I could not put this book down! I cannot wait for the next book in the series! Highly recommend if you like paranormal/fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Steampunk and vampires, woohoo!!

    Good story with appealing heroine and hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Excellent read!!

    Great storyline and plot! Excellent blending of the steampunk genre! Can't wait for the next book in the series. The author does a good job of keeping the story flowing and moving forward. I highly recommened this book to vampire, historical and steampunk readers alike.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Lots of fun and romance, too

    Not your average para romance. Steampunk plus an unusual take on worldbuilding sets this novel apart from the mainstream. Characters are interesting and the plotline is filled with adventure. Am looking forward to the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Pretty fun

    Over all I enjoyed this book. The hero and heroine are attracted to each other but the author doesn't throw them into bed after a day or two. Honoria's pride sometimes grated on me, but there was a goodness in her that you had to respect and admire. She loved her family and fought hard for them. I'm looking forward to the next book continuing with Will and Lena's story 3yrs after book Kiss takes place. Fun read, more than just sappy, over the top romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Love love love this book I couldn't put it down!! A great read a

    Love love love this book I couldn't put it down!! A great read and a great writter!! Can't wait to read more by her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Great read with plot twists!

    A must read...
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am so glad I purchased it. On to the next one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Really good read!

    Buy it. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    AMAZING read and much LOVE for Bec McMaster

    Bec McMaster has a way with words that just draws you in and gets you addicted to her storyline to the point it makes it almost heartbreaking to have to put down the book without finishing it if you haven't done so in one reading. Love the characters of Honoria and Blade. Love that Bec is able to give you plenty of adventure with touches of Romance and more. Once you start Bec's books, you're hooked, and you can't get enough. If you're looking for a heart pounding ride and plesant reading than I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful! I was thrilled by how good this book turned out to b

    Wonderful!

    I was thrilled by how good this book turned out to be. Steampunk can spend a great deal of time on the punk and not the steam robbing the love story of its sparkle. 




    In this book with fine world building, which blends the regency period, paranormal creatures, and the imagined steamed era perfectly. You can easily imagine yourself as a character in this world. 




    We have a vampire tale but the anthology of the vampire in unique and compelling. Our Crime Boss Alpha Hero is just ROAR! He is great. Our down on our luck heroine is practical and one can easily see why he loves here. 




    The plot is action packed with great secondary characters. 




    What I adore about this book is that takes the best of Regency books in terms of details, manners, and constraints, and trope and shakes them up in an believable and absorbing paranormal steampunk world. 




    Historical romance loves should feel just at home with live romance as paranormal loves. 




    Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Wonderful new imaginative world created by McMaster

    McMaster is first rate with her creative imagination and fine writing. She has put her own creative twist to steampunk, vampires, werewolves and other things that go bump in the night. Honoria and Blade both have rich backstories which fleshes out both the characters and the world of her creation. Her whole cast of characters are a treat to read and left me looking forward to their stories being written too. This is my first time reading McMasteres work and I eagerly look forward to the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3