Customer Reviews for

Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals after Dark Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 654 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(431)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hoo-yah! The sexiest yet!

¿Stop your grinnin¿ and drop your linen¿ Kresley Cole has delivered another knock-out punch with her newest Immortals After Dark installment ¿ Kiss of a Demon King. And trust me this is the sexiest yet :) Rydstrom, deposed demon king of Rothkalina, has met his mat...
¿Stop your grinnin¿ and drop your linen¿ Kresley Cole has delivered another knock-out punch with her newest Immortals After Dark installment ¿ Kiss of a Demon King. And trust me this is the sexiest yet :) Rydstrom, deposed demon king of Rothkalina, has met his match in the sorceress Sabine, sister of the evil Omort, Rothkalina¿s current ruler. To fulfill a prophecy, Sabine has used her magic to capture and seduce Rydstrom. Of course, Rydstom fights his attraction to the sorceress with everything he has within himself ¿ but it is a losing battle. When the opportunity presents itself Rydstrom turns the tables on Sabine and now she is his prisoner. Rydstrom feels he is entitled to his revenge and plans to do what he wants to Sabine, even though Sabine believes differently. He pledged himself to her and now she has becomes his obsession with an overwhelming need to protect his female. Sabine is used to getting her way and is quite devious, merciless and resourceful when she is not allowed to be in control. They each have their own agendas, Rydstom¿s to regain his kingdom and free his people from Omort¿s tyranny and Sabine to stay alive and protect her sister Melanthe - but their attraction gets in the way.

It¿s a wild ride, poignant, laugh out loud amusing and sexy. For those of you new to Kresley Cole¿s books, lucky you! You¿re in for a treat with her previous installments ¿ A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter¿s Night, Dark Needs at Night¿s Edge, Dark Desires After Dusk and don¿t miss the novella in Playing Easy to Get. For those of you who are already fans, score! Another hit! And of course, you¿ll be left anticipating Ms. Cole¿s next wonderful installment

posted by OpheliaTX on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hated it

I was expecting to love this book as much as I loved Pleasure of a Dark Prince. Unfortunately, this one was awful. The character of Sabine had no redeeming qualities. She was selfish, egotistical, and borderline evil. Rydstrom was too weak and practical to be a real alp...
I was expecting to love this book as much as I loved Pleasure of a Dark Prince. Unfortunately, this one was awful. The character of Sabine had no redeeming qualities. She was selfish, egotistical, and borderline evil. Rydstrom was too weak and practical to be a real alpha male. It seemed the miscommunications between these two were placed just to prolong the plot. Their problems were nothing that a 5 minute conversation couldn't solve. I grew bored very quickly.

posted by fleurfairy on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Did not meet my expectations

    I was so drawn to Rhydstrom's character in the previous books, and this is not what I would have expected his book to be like. The whole thing is sex. The plot line is very weak and overshadowed by the sexual tension. Some people may like this. But I just wasn't into it. And there was no real connection between the character but sex. I found myself reading half the book, then got tired of reading and skipped to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well...

    This is not my favorite of the series, but, I did enjoy the read. If you like the Immortals After Dark characters, you will enjoy this one, as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun book

    This was my first book by this author. After reading the reviews, I thought it would be great. This was a fast paced novel, with interesting characters, and a fun plot. There were some pretty big issues however. I thought the editing was poor. There were times when you would be reading along, and then all of a sudden you would say, "what?" Then you would have to re-read a small passage a few times to understand what she was talking about. Almost like the author got so excited as she was telling the story that she got ahead of herself. I found this numerous times through the book. This book did have a one of a kind plot that I thought was very fun to read. However towards the end she did not flesh out the story. Almost like she had wrote to many pages and had to hurry up and finish. You can read the book in a few days as it's a quick read, but I don't think you will place this in your permanent library. However, it was good enough that I would try the author again. If the same issues are in other books, I wouldn't try another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the power struggle between these two alphas, Rydstrom an

    I liked the power struggle between these two alphas, Rydstrom and Sabine. I didn't think they would ever reconcile and it really grated on my nerve. Sabine was annoying me with all her lies and devious behavior. Don't get me wrong, I can see why she did it but I still didn't like it. The sexual tension was really hot but the sex was just ok for me. Maybe Im just missing the mischievous, witty and snarky Valkyrie and those party hound witches. Although Sabine was pretty snarky herself. I do like the few movies references that are thrown in there occasionally. The Princess Bride "as you wish" is the only one that comes to mind right now. Im still in love with this series and cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was my least fav of the series

    This was my least fav of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    good read

    THis was not one of my favorites,mildly entertaining. A bit boring at times. I have read the first three books and they were all fabulous. This one fell a little flat for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, but a wee bit of a let down, after its predecessor

    I was reading Cole's Immortals After Dark series, and a little out of order, I'll admit, but after reading Dark Desires After Dusk (Holly and Cade), I expected the next book, Kiss of a Demon King, to be just as great and witty. It wasn't. It was interesting and well written but the plot was weak and pretty much devoted to the two main characters just having all kinds of D/S sex. And don't get me wrong, I'm all for it. But when it was time to return to the actual plot, I got a little bored and I skipped a few pages which I never do with a Cole book.

    Rydstrom (Cade Woede's brother) is kidnapped by Sabine the Sorceress and taken prisoner at her brother's castle. Sabine wants to have Rydstrom's baby, I forget why, and so a chunk of the book is devoted to him in her bed, tied up, and Sabine trying to get pregnant. She can't get pregnant unless Rydstrom takes her as his wife. However, this was weird since a demon can only impregnant his fated female, and as we find out, Sabine turns out to be his fated female. Yeah, okay, I'll go with it. Anyway, later, Rydstrom escapes, and takes Sabine prisoner and they both head to Rydstom's home. The tables turn. You guessed it, he dominates her now and they have more hot sex.

    While I get that these two characters are suppose to be strong and domineering type folks and they have to reach a mid-point in their characters in order to love each other, I thought it took a long time to get there, and I really, really missed the humor and wit we found in Cade and Holly's story. Granted, there were a few cute lines when Sabine would interact with children and other females, it was too little, too late for me to salvage the story.

    The next one was Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Lucia and Garreth). This is also a too dark book for me (no pun intended), but I really liked it. In August 2010, I'll be reading Demon From The Dark. I'm hoping that Cole will write another great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3