Customer Reviews for

Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals after Dark Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(429)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hoo-yah! The sexiest yet!

¿Stop your grinnin¿ and drop your linen¿ Kresley Cole has delivered another knock-out punch with her newest Immortals After Dark installment ¿ Kiss of a Demon King. And trust me this is the sexiest yet :) Rydstrom, deposed demon king of Rothkalina, has met his mat...
¿Stop your grinnin¿ and drop your linen¿ Kresley Cole has delivered another knock-out punch with her newest Immortals After Dark installment ¿ Kiss of a Demon King. And trust me this is the sexiest yet :) Rydstrom, deposed demon king of Rothkalina, has met his match in the sorceress Sabine, sister of the evil Omort, Rothkalina¿s current ruler. To fulfill a prophecy, Sabine has used her magic to capture and seduce Rydstrom. Of course, Rydstom fights his attraction to the sorceress with everything he has within himself ¿ but it is a losing battle. When the opportunity presents itself Rydstrom turns the tables on Sabine and now she is his prisoner. Rydstrom feels he is entitled to his revenge and plans to do what he wants to Sabine, even though Sabine believes differently. He pledged himself to her and now she has becomes his obsession with an overwhelming need to protect his female. Sabine is used to getting her way and is quite devious, merciless and resourceful when she is not allowed to be in control. They each have their own agendas, Rydstom¿s to regain his kingdom and free his people from Omort¿s tyranny and Sabine to stay alive and protect her sister Melanthe - but their attraction gets in the way.

It¿s a wild ride, poignant, laugh out loud amusing and sexy. For those of you new to Kresley Cole¿s books, lucky you! You¿re in for a treat with her previous installments ¿ A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter¿s Night, Dark Needs at Night¿s Edge, Dark Desires After Dusk and don¿t miss the novella in Playing Easy to Get. For those of you who are already fans, score! Another hit! And of course, you¿ll be left anticipating Ms. Cole¿s next wonderful installment

posted by OpheliaTX on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hated it

I was expecting to love this book as much as I loved Pleasure of a Dark Prince. Unfortunately, this one was awful. The character of Sabine had no redeeming qualities. She was selfish, egotistical, and borderline evil. Rydstrom was too weak and practical to be a real alp...
I was expecting to love this book as much as I loved Pleasure of a Dark Prince. Unfortunately, this one was awful. The character of Sabine had no redeeming qualities. She was selfish, egotistical, and borderline evil. Rydstrom was too weak and practical to be a real alpha male. It seemed the miscommunications between these two were placed just to prolong the plot. Their problems were nothing that a 5 minute conversation couldn't solve. I grew bored very quickly.

posted by fleurfairy on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 429 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hoo-yah! The sexiest yet!

    ¿Stop your grinnin¿ and drop your linen¿ Kresley Cole has delivered another knock-out punch with her newest Immortals After Dark installment ¿ Kiss of a Demon King. And trust me this is the sexiest yet :) Rydstrom, deposed demon king of Rothkalina, has met his match in the sorceress Sabine, sister of the evil Omort, Rothkalina¿s current ruler. To fulfill a prophecy, Sabine has used her magic to capture and seduce Rydstrom. Of course, Rydstom fights his attraction to the sorceress with everything he has within himself ¿ but it is a losing battle. When the opportunity presents itself Rydstrom turns the tables on Sabine and now she is his prisoner. Rydstrom feels he is entitled to his revenge and plans to do what he wants to Sabine, even though Sabine believes differently. He pledged himself to her and now she has becomes his obsession with an overwhelming need to protect his female. Sabine is used to getting her way and is quite devious, merciless and resourceful when she is not allowed to be in control. They each have their own agendas, Rydstom¿s to regain his kingdom and free his people from Omort¿s tyranny and Sabine to stay alive and protect her sister Melanthe - but their attraction gets in the way. <BR/> <BR/>It¿s a wild ride, poignant, laugh out loud amusing and sexy. For those of you new to Kresley Cole¿s books, lucky you! You¿re in for a treat with her previous installments ¿ A Hunger Like No Other, No Rest for the Wicked, Wicked Deeds on a Winter¿s Night, Dark Needs at Night¿s Edge, Dark Desires After Dusk and don¿t miss the novella in Playing Easy to Get. For those of you who are already fans, score! Another hit! And of course, you¿ll be left anticipating Ms. Cole¿s next wonderful installment

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Cannot wait for this book!

    I recently discovered Kresley Cole, and in no time at all I had devoured everything she has written! The Immortals After Dark series is by far the sexiest and most fun series I have ever read. I am banking on this book being every bit as great as the rest!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful urban romantic fantasy

    Rydstrom Woede knows how far he has fallen when he rejects the human females¿ offer of a lap dance at the Tongue and Groove Strip Club in Louisiana. The former Demon King of the Rothkalina plane plots to regain his Castle Tornin throne lost to the sorcerer Omort the Deathless who cannot die. Hell he beheaded his foe nine centuries ago and instead of victory Rydstrom was fortunate to escape alive. His current ally Groot is Omort¿s brother who wants the Deathless one dead; Rydstrom¿s theory is simply your enemy¿s enemy, etc.<BR/><BR/>Omort¿s half-sister Sabine the Sorceress of Illusions is as evil as her siblings with one exception; her need especially when she was a tweener more than a century ago is to protect her younger sister Lanthe from their kin and the Vreckners. When she meets and captures Rydstrom, she makes him prisoner of her body. However, though she knows she needs to deliver his head on a silver platter to Omort, something strange occurs as he somehow conquers her heart: Likewise Rydstrom knows he must kill her before she betrays him, but somehow she has captured his heart and soul (though he doubts he has the latter as that is a human frailty). As they fall in love, both need to team up to survive her family especially Omort, but neither trusts the other; instead they make love, fight foes and anticipate duplicity.<BR/><BR/>The latest Immortals After Dark saga (See DARK NEEDS AT NIGHT'S EDGE, NO REST FOR WICKED and A HUNGER LIKE NO OTHER) is a wonderful urban romantic fantasy starring two fascinating individuals whose respective morality differs radically from most Americans. The story line is fast-paced from the onset as the demon warrior and the sorceress queen compete for the top position in their relationship. Fans of the Cole mythos will relish this superb entry succinctly summed up at the beginning by Rydstrom: ¿This sorceress might be an evil b*tch, but she¿s my evil b*tch. And I¿ll have no other.¿<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great one

    Immortals after dark is one of my favorite series and I was not let down in the least with this installment. We have been waiting to hear Rydstrom's story since early on and it was all that I could hope for. Kresley Cole's writing is fun, imaginative, and erotic, she makes it easy to relate to the characters and situations. His struggle to regain his kingdom and claim his mate, who was exactly what he wasn't expecting, made this a book that I couldn't or wouldn't put down until the end. She had me on the edge of my seat one moment and laughing out loud the next. I can't wait for the next story from the Lore.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Couldnt be better!

    This book wrapped up great and as always, I cant wait to read the next one. But the people who were dissapointed...seriously? It's strange how when the supposed hero turns from bad to good its all sexy and dreamy...i wont disagree there but why is it so "dissapointing" when its a woman that ends being redeemed? Some people just dont understand a good story when reading one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    ;)

    My second favorite in the series after the first one. And for those who complain about the sex scenes, ummm...really??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    In Love With Rydstrom and Immortals After Dark series!!

    Kresley Cole has not taken a wrong step and this installment might just be my favorite of the series thus far. The story centers around Rydstorm Woede, a rage demon, trying to regain this place as King. Rydstorm is captured by Sabine, a sorceress of illusion and sister to the sorcerer who currently hold the crowd to Rydstorm's kingdom. Sabine's main purpose is to be impregnated by Rydstorm since she is Rydstorm's mate. Rydstorm, being the level head and "mission before pleasure" type of guy, refuses to give into his desire for Sabine. Sabine, on the other hand, begins to fall for Rydstorm during her many attempts to seduce him. But is their romance possible? Can Rydstorm truly fall in love with the sister of his enemy?
    Kresley Cole once again bring us a romance novel that keep readers asking for more IAD installments. Highly recommended novel and a highly recommended series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hot and action

    I love Coles Immortals After Dark Series. It is just great to read about strong women and the men that want them. The world she as made is beautiful and deadly at the same time. With the time always slipping away. So you don't have to worry about it going to slow. But I will admit that I did have a hard time wait til the end because of the give away in the book before this one. But it was still good. I hope you will enjoy it as much as me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TOTTALY AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    I absolutely loved it, finally we get to see a badass female who is tottaly evil- yet not at the same time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HOT!!!!

    I would give this 6 stars if I could. I love Kresley Cole!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    HOT HOT HOT

    I absolutely loved this book. The characters, the story, everything was wonderful. Steamy hot! Hope there will be more books to follow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The "Immortals After Dark Series" is one of the best I have ever read and I enjoy Kresley's style very much. Both descriptive and steamy!

    I am a huge fan of Kresley Cole's now. I started reading Christine Feehan novels first after reading the whole Twilight Series. As you can see I am into vampires and books of this nature. I love this series and have read them all and will be picking up "Kiss of a Demon King" in a couple of hours!!! The characters are fascinating and their relationships are steamy, to say the least! Once I start the book I usually can not put it down until I am done, which takes me about 2 days!!!! She has a way of bringing you into their world and you feel like your there. I love her use of different accents with the gorgeous guys and her descriptive, detailed love scences!!! My husband is one lucky guy after I get done with one of her books!!!!! I still enjoy reading Christine Feehan's novels but Kresley has done a good job with so many different characters that mix with the human world! Keep them coming!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Great Adventure and Characters!

    Actually, I usually continue to read books whose characters have captivated me. Kresley Cole once again, recaptured the unique character relationships and plot that makes this series great. It started the same time as the previous book, but kept it going and fresh with new twist and plot. At the end, it leaves readers wanting more out of the series and looking forward for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE the WOEDE Brothers!

    This is Rydstrom book and I must say it was very exciting to read but the ending I felt there should have been more to it. I love the Immortals After Dark and just absolutely LOVE the fact Gena Showalter's awesome Lords of the Underworld hotties were mentioned in it!!!! (I have read all the books so for for LOTU) Rydstrom story is exciting to read from start to finish, I couldn't put the book down until I was done! There isn't too much action compare to the other books but it has my thumbs up for IAD Series! Accession going down soon sooo... Will it be the twin Lykae brothers or maybe Regin story with that berserker next? Let's see... I can't wait to see who Ms. Cole will write about next in the Lore!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Was way better then I expected

    At first I tried not to like Sabine(Say-Been) but I really started to warm up to her powers & some of her attitude. I've been a fan of Rydstorm from the first time he was introduced into the series. Reading about his story was a real treat. This has to be my second favorite in the series. But I'm not done yet =>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great read

    Never knew I had a thing for demons...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    REAALLY GOOD

    REAALLY GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this whole series and rydstroms was no different it was sexy and had great action also. Great reas you shoud totally buy it along with all of her other books even from her other series. Kresly cole is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Awesome!

    Loved it! Totally wonderful read. I couldnt put it down, I'm addicted to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 429 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22