Customer Reviews for

Kiss of the Goblin Prince (Shadowlands Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

From now on Shona Husk will always hold a pole position in my ga

From now on Shona Husk will always hold a pole position in my gargantuan TBR list: I fell in love with the fertile imagination, fluid prose, and introspective sensitivity of this Australian paranormal, fantasy novels author. My only regret, if any, is that I should hav...
From now on Shona Husk will always hold a pole position in my gargantuan TBR list: I fell in love with the fertile imagination, fluid prose, and introspective sensitivity of this Australian paranormal, fantasy novels author. My only regret, if any, is that I should have started my journey through this captivating Shadowlands series with the novella ”The Summons: A Goblin King Prequel” and the first full length installment “The Goblin King”, in order to fully appreciate the fairy-tale world structure that holds together The Shadowlands (a desolate land populated by the heartless Goblins), The Fixed Realm (our world), and The Birch Foundation (a mysterious organization that facilitates the transition between these two worlds). Reading the series in this order would have certainly helped me to understand from the start the main characters’s backstories, the role played by the secondary characters, and the connections existing between them. These introductory readings add to the enjoyment of a book that can be read as a stand-alone anyway without loosing any of its alluring qualities.
Amanda Coulter is a young widow who has given up on happiness after the sudden death of her husband. She works as a youth counselor at the local high-school and her daughter, Brigit, is affected by severe asthma. At the wedding of her sister-in-law Eliza, Amanda meets the enigmatic and fascinating Dai King. Sparks of attraction fly immediately between them. Dai is Eliza’s husband’s brother. He’s apparently a normal young man, a Welsh scholar, world traveler, and an expert of ancient civilizations and dead languages. In reality, Dai is a Celtic Prince, as old as our civilization, a man who has been spending the past 2,000 years fighting against Romans, Druids, and Goblins, before breaking a curse and being reintegrated in the XXI century Fixed Realm (our world) as a free human, like his brother Roan.
Dai is physically and emotionally scarred: in order to protect his younger sister Mave from the perverse attentions of the Roman General Claudius, he had to endure Claudius’ vicious tortures and abuses. Dai was eventually cursed by the King Goblin and held captive for centuries in the Shadowlands, only to endure more unspeakable acts of violence from the Goblins and to be turned into a goblin himself. He used to be a mage, a man endowed with magical healing powers, but now that his curse is broken and he is back in the Fixed Realm, he is straggling with his new identity provided by The Birch Foundation and a deep sense of dislocation. In the transition between worlds he had to leave behind most of his treasures, but what bothers him the most is that he cannot get a hold of that wealth of knowledge he has accumulated over the centuries: all his books about magic are being retained by The Birch Foundation and without them he feels like he cannot recall his magical powers.
The Shadowlands series fictional worlds are built on the assumption that our universe is ruled by magic and held together by invisible strings: Dai and his brother Roan are able to control them in order to manipulate the fabric that makes the world. I like the way Shona Husk opens her slow-paced narration describing the chemistry and the bond existing from the start between Dai and Amanda. They are both initially unaware of the magical golden threads connecting their souls; although drawn to each other, they’re both very tentative at the beginning of the story and they will keep being hesitant for a good part of it. The emotional baggage made of sorrow, secrets, family tragedies, and responsabilities they both have to carry is too heavy for them to be rid of it and yield to emotions and desire, let alone love, no matter how bad they both need it. Dai has been “out of touch with the world for too long…to obsessed with the dead and obsolete.” Amanda can perfectly relate to his emotions, because she has been holding on her deceased husband’s memory for years, without being able to move on and look forward to another love relationship.
They are both very likable characters: the tortured and troubled soul Dai, the calm and caring counselor Amanda. It seems to be like a very good characters combination, perfect material for a sweeping and soulful romance. Dai’s numerous scars make him insecure: he’s afraid Amanda will loath him and reject him because of them. The darks secrets of his real identity and his past hold him from revealing his feelings for her, although the attraction is slowly consuming him. The biggest obstacle standing in the way is in his chest in the form of talons clutched around his heart, a magical grip placed there by the evil King Goblin as a reminder of the evil Dai has been a victim of and a perpetrator. Forgiveness is the only remedy that could set him free, but he is still prisoner of his resentment: the hideous tortures he has suffered for centuries fuel his hate and give strength to the King Goblin’s grip. Dai’s decision to remain celibate and avoid any kind of physical touch with other creatures poses an interesting challenge to his attraction for Amanda, but it also helps to build up an intoxicating and heart-melting sexual tension between them. They seek physical contact every time they meet, they haunt each other’s dreams, they leave each other breathless with stolen kisses and caresses, they hold hands interlacing their fingers in a promise of scorching sensuality, without abandoning themselves to a complete enjoyment. Every time they seem to be ready to get closer and open their hearts, their past stands in the way and breaks the momentum, prolonging that sweet torture up to the last chapters of the novel, when the barriers will finally break down and the two lovers will find an extremely gratifying release. As a whole, action and major developments are pushed at the end and my feeling is that the author aims to set up the scene for the sequel rather than advance the plot of this installment. The Kiss of The Goblin Prince mainly focuses on Dai’s and Amanda’s quest towards emotional freedom and self-forgiveness, in a pattern of healing that will involve also Amanda’s daughter. I really appreciate this introspective tone and character development versus an action-driven storyline.
I personally loved the way Shona Husk uses the idea of the invisible threads to describe the different kinds of connection existing between characters and their world: gold strings binding Dai and Amanda, gray and thin strings connecting Dai and The Shadowlands, colorful and numerous strings connecting Amanda and her ill daughter Brigit, loose and pale strings connecting Dai to his brother Roan, fine as spider silk the strings connecting Dai to Brigit. Shona Husk did a great job building Dai’s and Amanda’s characters, painting them with the brushes of her rich and sensuous prose and the great emotional impact of her narrative style. I simply loved Husk’s description of Dai as a man in pieces like an image reflected in a broken mirror, a dislocated man who needs to borrow a life in the same way he needs to borrow furniture in order to start all over again and live in a different world, a man who has been studying hundreds of dead languages for century, but who will remain speechless in front of the woman he loves. I loved the fact he is a book hoarder, spending a good part of the story in the search of his magic books, when the real magic is in his own body (written all over with tattoes and undecipherable spells just like a book) and in his love for Amanda.

posted by MinaD1 on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was ok

I had a hard time getting through the whole book. I think it would have been a good story line but it took a little long to get into it.

posted by 2900644 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    From now on Shona Husk will always hold a pole position in my ga

    From now on Shona Husk will always hold a pole position in my gargantuan TBR list: I fell in love with the fertile imagination, fluid prose, and introspective sensitivity of this Australian paranormal, fantasy novels author. My only regret, if any, is that I should have started my journey through this captivating Shadowlands series with the novella ”The Summons: A Goblin King Prequel” and the first full length installment “The Goblin King”, in order to fully appreciate the fairy-tale world structure that holds together The Shadowlands (a desolate land populated by the heartless Goblins), The Fixed Realm (our world), and The Birch Foundation (a mysterious organization that facilitates the transition between these two worlds). Reading the series in this order would have certainly helped me to understand from the start the main characters’s backstories, the role played by the secondary characters, and the connections existing between them. These introductory readings add to the enjoyment of a book that can be read as a stand-alone anyway without loosing any of its alluring qualities.
    Amanda Coulter is a young widow who has given up on happiness after the sudden death of her husband. She works as a youth counselor at the local high-school and her daughter, Brigit, is affected by severe asthma. At the wedding of her sister-in-law Eliza, Amanda meets the enigmatic and fascinating Dai King. Sparks of attraction fly immediately between them. Dai is Eliza’s husband’s brother. He’s apparently a normal young man, a Welsh scholar, world traveler, and an expert of ancient civilizations and dead languages. In reality, Dai is a Celtic Prince, as old as our civilization, a man who has been spending the past 2,000 years fighting against Romans, Druids, and Goblins, before breaking a curse and being reintegrated in the XXI century Fixed Realm (our world) as a free human, like his brother Roan.
    Dai is physically and emotionally scarred: in order to protect his younger sister Mave from the perverse attentions of the Roman General Claudius, he had to endure Claudius’ vicious tortures and abuses. Dai was eventually cursed by the King Goblin and held captive for centuries in the Shadowlands, only to endure more unspeakable acts of violence from the Goblins and to be turned into a goblin himself. He used to be a mage, a man endowed with magical healing powers, but now that his curse is broken and he is back in the Fixed Realm, he is straggling with his new identity provided by The Birch Foundation and a deep sense of dislocation. In the transition between worlds he had to leave behind most of his treasures, but what bothers him the most is that he cannot get a hold of that wealth of knowledge he has accumulated over the centuries: all his books about magic are being retained by The Birch Foundation and without them he feels like he cannot recall his magical powers.
    The Shadowlands series fictional worlds are built on the assumption that our universe is ruled by magic and held together by invisible strings: Dai and his brother Roan are able to control them in order to manipulate the fabric that makes the world. I like the way Shona Husk opens her slow-paced narration describing the chemistry and the bond existing from the start between Dai and Amanda. They are both initially unaware of the magical golden threads connecting their souls; although drawn to each other, they’re both very tentative at the beginning of the story and they will keep being hesitant for a good part of it. The emotional baggage made of sorrow, secrets, family tragedies, and responsabilities they both have to carry is too heavy for them to be rid of it and yield to emotions and desire, let alone love, no matter how bad they both need it. Dai has been “out of touch with the world for too long…to obsessed with the dead and obsolete.” Amanda can perfectly relate to his emotions, because she has been holding on her deceased husband’s memory for years, without being able to move on and look forward to another love relationship.
    They are both very likable characters: the tortured and troubled soul Dai, the calm and caring counselor Amanda. It seems to be like a very good characters combination, perfect material for a sweeping and soulful romance. Dai’s numerous scars make him insecure: he’s afraid Amanda will loath him and reject him because of them. The darks secrets of his real identity and his past hold him from revealing his feelings for her, although the attraction is slowly consuming him. The biggest obstacle standing in the way is in his chest in the form of talons clutched around his heart, a magical grip placed there by the evil King Goblin as a reminder of the evil Dai has been a victim of and a perpetrator. Forgiveness is the only remedy that could set him free, but he is still prisoner of his resentment: the hideous tortures he has suffered for centuries fuel his hate and give strength to the King Goblin’s grip. Dai’s decision to remain celibate and avoid any kind of physical touch with other creatures poses an interesting challenge to his attraction for Amanda, but it also helps to build up an intoxicating and heart-melting sexual tension between them. They seek physical contact every time they meet, they haunt each other’s dreams, they leave each other breathless with stolen kisses and caresses, they hold hands interlacing their fingers in a promise of scorching sensuality, without abandoning themselves to a complete enjoyment. Every time they seem to be ready to get closer and open their hearts, their past stands in the way and breaks the momentum, prolonging that sweet torture up to the last chapters of the novel, when the barriers will finally break down and the two lovers will find an extremely gratifying release. As a whole, action and major developments are pushed at the end and my feeling is that the author aims to set up the scene for the sequel rather than advance the plot of this installment. The Kiss of The Goblin Prince mainly focuses on Dai’s and Amanda’s quest towards emotional freedom and self-forgiveness, in a pattern of healing that will involve also Amanda’s daughter. I really appreciate this introspective tone and character development versus an action-driven storyline.
    I personally loved the way Shona Husk uses the idea of the invisible threads to describe the different kinds of connection existing between characters and their world: gold strings binding Dai and Amanda, gray and thin strings connecting Dai and The Shadowlands, colorful and numerous strings connecting Amanda and her ill daughter Brigit, loose and pale strings connecting Dai to his brother Roan, fine as spider silk the strings connecting Dai to Brigit. Shona Husk did a great job building Dai’s and Amanda’s characters, painting them with the brushes of her rich and sensuous prose and the great emotional impact of her narrative style. I simply loved Husk’s description of Dai as a man in pieces like an image reflected in a broken mirror, a dislocated man who needs to borrow a life in the same way he needs to borrow furniture in order to start all over again and live in a different world, a man who has been studying hundreds of dead languages for century, but who will remain speechless in front of the woman he loves. I loved the fact he is a book hoarder, spending a good part of the story in the search of his magic books, when the real magic is in his own body (written all over with tattoes and undecipherable spells just like a book) and in his love for Amanda.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is the third in a series - the first being a shorter story that introduces the characters. Very different and creative. I liked them and look forward to the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great read

    Wonderful but not as good as the goblin king.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I'd read the first story in the Shadowlands series, and figured

    I'd read the first story in the Shadowlands series, and figured I'd enjoyed it enough (spelled "devoured it like candy") I'd give the sequel about Dai a shot.

    I was hooked rapidly, and in this case the second book was even better. While you deal with the hesitant romance of Amanda, Widow, and Dai, several millennium virgin, (Which is a sweet romance, by the way), the focus is much more on other things. Reincarnated souls from Dai and Roan's past popping up here and there, bound by the curse they broke and it's results still. A mysterious man's journey of confusion. Roan and Eliza as happy newly weds. A mother trying to make the right choices for her daughter. Wonderful writing-can't wait for the third.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Good Read!!!

    This was a good book a little slow in some parts but over all well written, i enjoyed reading this book and can't wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Marine's bio

    A black she wolf with aqua blue paws, stripes, eye (the other eyes is amber), rings around her tail and blue scarf. She is kinf and loyal. She is part british, so se has a slight accent.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Bloodfang

    Name: Bloodfang. Description: Red and black fur with red eyes ((do not be alarmed, she is only threatning when necessary)). Personality: funny, kind, fierce when necessary, friendly. Mate: none. Crush: none. Pups: Juniper.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Great read

    Sucks u into the story in the first page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A darkly enticing read! Ok I will admit the first thing I though

    A darkly enticing read!
    Ok I will admit the first thing I thought of (or rather the first person) was Jareth the goblin king. While he is no David Bowie, Dai has a charm all his own. The story is a bit slow at first, but picks up the pace rather quickly. The story is sure to pull at your heart strings. It’s about coming to terms with who and what you are. Both characters have undergone many changes some good and some bad. Throughout the story we get to see how each of them come to accept and embrace this new life they have been given and learn to give love a chance.
    Dai is a warrior through and through. He has been hardened by the hardships of living in the Shadowlands. Even so he treats Amanda and her daughter with nothing, but gentle kindness. I loved seeing this big warrior fall in love with both Amanda and her cute daughter.
    Amanda is a hardworking woman who has no time for any nonsense, especially not with a young daughter to look after. It is even harder to find a good man when all she can think about is her dead husband. I really liked her character and loved seeing her get to know more about herself and learn that it is okay to love again.
    Great addition to an amazing series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Loved it

    Ohhhhh soo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Great sequel to the Goblin King. Can't wait till the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Oh My!

    I think I liked this one better than the first! Para-romance at it's best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I loved it...

    I loved it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Loved it, excellent book

    This is the second book in this series, and both books are great. I cannot wait until the third book comes out. This series is great. I do recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2