BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kiss of the Night (Dark-Hunter Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A little to sweet

Oh, how I had high hopes for this book, but I should of known it would be hard to follow up Dance with the Devil. In no way was Kiss of the Night a bad book, in fact this story is sugary sweet. Maybe a little to sweet after such a tormented predecessor as Dance with the...
Oh, how I had high hopes for this book, but I should of known it would be hard to follow up Dance with the Devil. In no way was Kiss of the Night a bad book, in fact this story is sugary sweet. Maybe a little to sweet after such a tormented predecessor as Dance with the Devil.
Trapped in an existence hunting evil only in the night, Wulf Tryggvasen the viking warrior, is an easily forgotten man, literally. Everyone but Wulf's direct blood-line forgets him within five minutes of his leaving their presence. Everyone that is until he meets the beautiful half-human, half-Apollite Cassandra. Cassandra is going to die in eight months on her twenty seventh birthday, and as if that wasn't bad enough, she's man kinds last hope for survival. If Cassandra dies without producing an heir, the god Apollo dies with her and so does the sun. With Daimons chasing her in hopes of killing her before a heir can be produced, Cassandra must turn to the feared Dark Hunter. The only questions is, can Wulf overcome the taboo of Cassandra's heritage and face the truth of what he truly is.
Kenyon's novel, Kiss of the Night, was a nice read that held my attention. The plot is lacking depth, the characters are a little cheesy, and there was no real sexual tension, the characters just come together quickly and then grow to love each other. The last quarter of the books story line is what saved this book from a trip down boredom lane. I enjoyed appearance of past Dark-Hunters and my all to favorite Demon - Simi. Again, kudos to Sherrilyn Kenyon for her amazing intertwining of stories. Every book in this series flows into each other with such ease and grace and within such tiny details, it commands respect for Kenyon's storytelling abilities. My new favorite game in the Dark-Hunter series has become "guess which supporting character will have a future book". I am starting to read the books with that as my main purpose. All in all, this is an OK read. Fans of the series will enjoy it, but readers just picking it up will not understand most of what is going on.

posted by 3monstersmom on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Most confusing of the series...

It might just be me, but the begining threw me completely off. If Apolomy was barren, then miraculously had 1 child, how were 2 seperate ones born - 1 stolen/slaughtered and 1 sent out??? And born to different gods? What??? [I didn't get it, even after reading 10 times]...
It might just be me, but the begining threw me completely off. If Apolomy was barren, then miraculously had 1 child, how were 2 seperate ones born - 1 stolen/slaughtered and 1 sent out??? And born to different gods? What??? [I didn't get it, even after reading 10 times] Then Katra had no idea who she was at first? Really??? Plus Spathi Damions, Dream-Hunters and Were's were inter-mixed, but still made little sense to me. I think there was an over-kill of information. Cassandra and her friends kinda bored me, too. And why kill Cass if she's gonna die in 8 months anyways? Alot of feelings were explained over-and-over. Hearing it twice is usually good enough for me. It's worthwhile to read for the series, Wulf's funny, the loves scenes were HOT, and I'll always love Ash - but it's not one of my favs. <3

posted by KLBooksAZ on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST SERIES EVER

    I loved this book! There wasn't as much sex and a lot more plot! Wulf and Cassandra were great characters. No human remembers Wulf five minutes after meeting him except for Cassandra and that made for some very funny situations. I loved the humor in this book. Chris, Wulf's squire, was an extremely intertaining character and I enjoyed all the interactions with him. I like the way Sherrilyn Kenyon brings in past characters from other books. We get to see Kyrian, Julian, Thalon, Zarek and most of all my favorite, Ash. Anyone looking for a strong, tall, tortured, dark, handsome hero should pick up this series. As I'm trying to read them in order, that's what I've noticed most - the books do tend to follow a certain pattern, most typically that Dark-Hunter meets girl, protects/falls in love with girl, almost loses girl, and gets the girl plus a little something from Acheron to boot. But there are times when predictable is good, and this is one of those times. You can count on a description of the hero that will make your mouth water. You can count on the tortured bit for sure. And you can definitely count on some very hot love scenes, some of which have made me blush! Finally, you can count on falling for the DH hero of each story and find yourself rooting for him to find a happy ending. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and favored this one over the others in the series so far.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deep entertainment

    The Dark-Hunter novels are truely worth staying up late reading, even rereadable. Everytime you turn the page you are drawn in deeper.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was Amazing!!!

    I actually was not looking forward to Wulf's story since I knew so little of him and was intrigued with another character. Boy am I glad I did not skip this one! This was the best one I have read so far. I absolutly love the difficult situation they are both placed in and to see them rise together strong. A very entertaining story and romantic!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the first Sherrilyn Kenyon book I have read and I was enticed and loving it from the moment I opened the book. I am hooked, just bought the first four books in the series (this was the 5th) and the next four that follow too. My sister calls me daily to see if she can read the next in the series 'as I finish them'...she's crazy about the Dark Hunter series too. Just sit back and enjoy a fantastic story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    This is a must read.

    I believe this book is the 5th in the Dark Hunter series. I have to say is is my favorite. Full of action and romance. I couldn't stop reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Laugh and cried

    Before reading the book i read the reviews. And I read the ones with 4 stars or less. I thought this book was good. I laughed and I cried. Sometimes its nice to have a book that you can actually laugh at the charactors. Then cry alittle too, it pulls you in. I wasnt really expecting to enjoy this one. We didnt know much about the Dark Hunter going in. But coming out, I really liked all of the personalities of all the new people. It was a change and it was a good change. I would and will read this again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    loved it

    I have not read one of the Dark Hunter Series I didn't like...The story about Wolf was one of my favorites. I read all 7 books in a two week period and loved everyone. I can't wait until another Dark Hunter book is out...I'd like to find out more of the mistery behind Achron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    The best novel in romance history

    These books hold you captive until the last minute. The greatest novels written in these times. Very mysterious and catching. Must read the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Wulf is great!

    Making his preveiw in 'Night Embrace' with a hillarious line that i wont say on here, he by far has the best sense of humor out of all of the hunters. They all have their own powers, Wulfs is definatly his humor. I would give it ten stars, but fives the highest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Anne

    Im not a kid im 14 gosh whats your deal? Hes got a girlfriend you know?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    To hunter

    U dont believe me go to charlie res ten i have proff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Julia

    Hey guys i am back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Nate to joy

    Nods in a friendly way walking over

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Joy

    Joy blushed "T-thank you Jon." She looked away for a bit rocking Emily, Emily smiled a toothless smile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    EM

    Great Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great read

    I love it. All the previous heros show up for the big..... Not gona spoil it. Highly recommend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Awesome book

    Awesome series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Violet

    Me. She said standing thire in a red dress

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Good

    Not my fave from this series but still a greatbook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20