Customer Reviews for

Kiss of the Vampire

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved the story, not so much the world...

My Review:

For simply the entertainment value of this read, this book rated very high for me. I loved both Nix and Tobias' characters and I loved their romantic story line. The history of their ill-fated love affair was gorgeous. I loved the fact that they are both s...
My Review:

For simply the entertainment value of this read, this book rated very high for me. I loved both Nix and Tobias' characters and I loved their romantic story line. The history of their ill-fated love affair was gorgeous. I loved the fact that they are both still in love with each other regardless of the fact that they broke up 5 years ago. I liked the story of the conflict with Nix being half-demon/half-human and that being around Tobias put her demon half at odd with her human half to the point where it threatened Nix's sanity. I like the relationship (both of them) between these characters and Dante. Even though he is human, I loved what he added to the story and that he wasn't automatically a hindrance with their investigation because he isn't as strong as the preternatural beings.

When it came to the story, I liked pretty much everything about this book. What I didn't like though was the basis for the entire world upon which the book was built. I understand that the vampire/paranormal market is saturated and everyone is trying to find a creative new way to present their vampire stories. But I just didn't really enjoy the way that the basis for this supernatural world was created. In this world, the preternatural beings are aliens, most of them criminal aliens, who have been banned here as punishment. When they come across the rift, they occupy a body and make it their own. So not only are most of them (Tobias excluded...he came to earth chasing a criminal as a law enforcer) criminals, but they are also body snatchers. And they wonder at the not-so-friendly reception that humankind has given them since they discovered the truth about these beings? With those facts, I just have a hard time wanting to like all these preternatural characters, regardless of who they are in the story line.

BUT, if I ignore all those facts that I just stated above, and pretend ignorance about the details of how the preternatural beings came to be on earth, this book is really good. Do you see my conundrum? Overall, I did really enjoy this book. There is great chemistry between Nix, Tobias, and Dante as their friend. As investigators, they make a great team with some really entertaining and funny scenes which is especially surprising with the gruesome murders that they are investigating. The suspense line was great and the resolution to the romantic conflict was a complete surprise. I do plan to read Dante's book, Secret of the Wolf, simply because I did enjoy Dante's character so much.

It should be noted that Dante is human, Nix was born on earth, and Tobias came to earth as a law enforcement agent and not as a criminal. His only crime is the body-snatching part of the transition into earth, so the issues that I have with this preternatural world hardly apply to the main characters in this book. I assume that won't stay the case though as we move further into the series. It will be interesting to see if my offense over it stays especially if all the books read as good as this one did.

posted by SmittenWithReading on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Does our past have to cloud any future we have together?

Being an enforcement officer under all circumstances is tough. For Nix de la Fuente she lives in a time where vampires, demons, and all sorts of creatures of the day and night roam. She is half-demon herself so her position is a help and a hindrance because not everyo...
Being an enforcement officer under all circumstances is tough. For Nix de la Fuente she lives in a time where vampires, demons, and all sorts of creatures of the day and night roam. She is half-demon herself so her position is a help and a hindrance because not everyone trusts the non-human breed. Nix finds herself even further complicated at a crime scene when her former lover Tobias Caine, Vampire Liaison shows up.

Nix has shown she can control her demon except when Tobias shows up then all she can think about is the feel of her fingers as they brush against his skin. He ran from her five years ago and now coming back is going to complicate everything unless she gets a handle on her passion, which never happened before. The murder they stand at now is the second attack where the victim was eviscerated. These murders have not been done by a human leading everyone to wonder who could have taken down a vampire. Tobias and Nix have to work together to figure out who or what is doing this, establish a motive, and stop the mayhem before another creature is killed. To further muddy the waters there is someone or something that has opened a small rift between dimensions. This is being used to send cryptic radio transmissions and perhaps more nefarious things no one wants to talk about.

Tobias and Nix have a past full of secrets but a present that seems to show they have each grown into better more controlled people. The desire to solve the crime is as strong as the need to be in each other’s arms and let the tenderness of their relationship smooth out the rough edges. They are determined to find the mysterious mechanism everyone seems to want so badly and figure out its’ power in all dimensions.

This book starts with a full-on blast of fascinating characters and an unbelievably amazing storyline and never stops going. The reader will love the interaction with all the characters because it is so well written you understand everyone’s dynamics to the story. This is something only a great author like Ms. Garner can do and do well. I cannot wait for the next book in this series.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the story, not so much the world...

    My Review:

    For simply the entertainment value of this read, this book rated very high for me. I loved both Nix and Tobias' characters and I loved their romantic story line. The history of their ill-fated love affair was gorgeous. I loved the fact that they are both still in love with each other regardless of the fact that they broke up 5 years ago. I liked the story of the conflict with Nix being half-demon/half-human and that being around Tobias put her demon half at odd with her human half to the point where it threatened Nix's sanity. I like the relationship (both of them) between these characters and Dante. Even though he is human, I loved what he added to the story and that he wasn't automatically a hindrance with their investigation because he isn't as strong as the preternatural beings.

    When it came to the story, I liked pretty much everything about this book. What I didn't like though was the basis for the entire world upon which the book was built. I understand that the vampire/paranormal market is saturated and everyone is trying to find a creative new way to present their vampire stories. But I just didn't really enjoy the way that the basis for this supernatural world was created. In this world, the preternatural beings are aliens, most of them criminal aliens, who have been banned here as punishment. When they come across the rift, they occupy a body and make it their own. So not only are most of them (Tobias excluded...he came to earth chasing a criminal as a law enforcer) criminals, but they are also body snatchers. And they wonder at the not-so-friendly reception that humankind has given them since they discovered the truth about these beings? With those facts, I just have a hard time wanting to like all these preternatural characters, regardless of who they are in the story line.

    BUT, if I ignore all those facts that I just stated above, and pretend ignorance about the details of how the preternatural beings came to be on earth, this book is really good. Do you see my conundrum? Overall, I did really enjoy this book. There is great chemistry between Nix, Tobias, and Dante as their friend. As investigators, they make a great team with some really entertaining and funny scenes which is especially surprising with the gruesome murders that they are investigating. The suspense line was great and the resolution to the romantic conflict was a complete surprise. I do plan to read Dante's book, Secret of the Wolf, simply because I did enjoy Dante's character so much.

    It should be noted that Dante is human, Nix was born on earth, and Tobias came to earth as a law enforcement agent and not as a criminal. His only crime is the body-snatching part of the transition into earth, so the issues that I have with this preternatural world hardly apply to the main characters in this book. I assume that won't stay the case though as we move further into the series. It will be interesting to see if my offense over it stays especially if all the books read as good as this one did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Does our past have to cloud any future we have together?

    Being an enforcement officer under all circumstances is tough. For Nix de la Fuente she lives in a time where vampires, demons, and all sorts of creatures of the day and night roam. She is half-demon herself so her position is a help and a hindrance because not everyone trusts the non-human breed. Nix finds herself even further complicated at a crime scene when her former lover Tobias Caine, Vampire Liaison shows up.

    Nix has shown she can control her demon except when Tobias shows up then all she can think about is the feel of her fingers as they brush against his skin. He ran from her five years ago and now coming back is going to complicate everything unless she gets a handle on her passion, which never happened before. The murder they stand at now is the second attack where the victim was eviscerated. These murders have not been done by a human leading everyone to wonder who could have taken down a vampire. Tobias and Nix have to work together to figure out who or what is doing this, establish a motive, and stop the mayhem before another creature is killed. To further muddy the waters there is someone or something that has opened a small rift between dimensions. This is being used to send cryptic radio transmissions and perhaps more nefarious things no one wants to talk about.

    Tobias and Nix have a past full of secrets but a present that seems to show they have each grown into better more controlled people. The desire to solve the crime is as strong as the need to be in each other’s arms and let the tenderness of their relationship smooth out the rough edges. They are determined to find the mysterious mechanism everyone seems to want so badly and figure out its’ power in all dimensions.

    This book starts with a full-on blast of fascinating characters and an unbelievably amazing storyline and never stops going. The reader will love the interaction with all the characters because it is so well written you understand everyone’s dynamics to the story. This is something only a great author like Ms. Garner can do and do well. I cannot wait for the next book in this series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting take on the Supernatural

    Kiss of the Vampire takes a very fresh approach to vampires, shifters, demons, fae and many other supernatural beings. You see, these beings have actually come through from another dimension, but they take the bodies and lives of humans when they come through the rift. They live in secrecy for thousands of years, but now their existence is out in the open.


    Humans haven’t been alone for quite some time, so it isn’t any wonder why they have become upset. Not only do they have the Extra-dimensional (ED) beings to deal with, but now, after many centuries of procreating with humans, there are half-breeds too…


    Nix de la Fuente is the human liaison to the Council of Preternaturals, and she is also a half-breed mix of human and demon. While she hides this due to the prejudice she would likely receive, she doesn’t hide it from her friend Dante MacMillan who is a detective on the Special Case Squad. They find themselves at a crime scene where a vampire (a once close friend of Nix) has been brutally murdered. While she must find a way to grieve through her passing, she has a nail thrown in when the new vampire liaison arrives on scene: Nix’s ex, Tobias Caine.


    Now Nix is forced to work alongside Tobias, the man who broke her heart yet still drives her crazy, all while investigating multiple vampire murders. Tobias still loves Nix, but left so she could hold on to her humanity. It takes every ounce of strength, for both, to hold back what each truly feels inside.


    Will they succeed? Can they solve the case without hurting each other again? Is there a deeper entity at play with the murders? I guess you’ll have to read it to know.


    My goodness I really enjoyed this book. The story alone was worth its weight in gold. It was an easy read with a lot of mystery, suspense, and romance. Add in a sprinkle here and there of action and it all adds up to a pretty great story.


    Originally Reviewed at: Mother/Gamer/Writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Supernatural investigation

    The book is 313 pages. Enjoyed reading this. Has everything your looking for. Hope you enjoy this as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Hot

    This book is awesome. If anyone likes vampires and demons, This is the book to read. Very romantic. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out

    This was a new author for me, and I was pleased to find a good story and characters. Couldn't wait to read more of Cynthia Garner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    good book, solid sotryline, good romance, interesting new look on the paranormal and where it all comes from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL DEBUT AUTHOR!! A RIFT BETWEEN TWO WORLDS! KISS OF THE


    WONDERFUL DEBUT AUTHOR!! A RIFT BETWEEN TWO WORLDS!
    KISS OF THE VAMPIRE by Cynthia Garner is an exciting debut paranormal romance. It is the first in the "Warriors of the Rift" series. A rift between two worlds,the paranormal and the human world is opened. Where half-breed,Nix de la Fuente,(half-human/half demon)detective,will have her second chance with her true love. And Tobias Caine,special agent,a vampire,and Nix's true love but who is one a mission to find the friend him and his world. Together, they face passion,danger,murder,and a chance to save the world of humans,demons,vampires,shapeshifters,from an evil that could destroy them all. A must read. Written with depth,a twist or two,complex plot and a cast of characters who are strong,determined,and passion. This is an author to watch for and a series to be on guard for in the future. While you are wondering what's next for this group of characters. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Forever,an imprint of Grand Central Publishing,the author's website,and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVEIWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulatastic Paranormal Suspense!

    This was a fabulous story! Cynthia Garner is a new to me author and I'll definitely be checking out more of her work in the future! Her writing style is highly unique and she instantly captivated me with her preternatural world. She takes the paranormal realm and twists is up with vampires, shifters,demons and other beings being from another planet, crossing over the "rift" and stealing the bodies to live among us. Definitely a new twist for this reader! Nix de la Fuente is a demon-human who is helping to solve the many crimes arising from the humans and supernaturals. Only one person she knows, knows of her demon-human life, and that's her close friend and partner Dante. Together they are working to solve the unrelenting crimes of the world. But, when a vampire friend is murdered, her world turns upside down. There's a new vampire in town. And it's not who she expected. Tobias Caine is the newest vampire investigator on the scene of his murdered friend and he comes face to face with the one person he never expected to see again: his ex, Nix. Seeing her again brings back all the emotions he thought he could get over. Turns out, he was wrong. But, there's a murderer on the loose and he has to find out who's behind it before it's too late to tell Nix the truth. This is an excellent new paranormal romantic suspense novel that's overflowing with amazing characters and a plot line that will make your head spin! I loved the complexity of the issues at hand in the preternatural world, and passion that sparks between old lovers is absolutely fantabulous! This is a 5 Book worthy and beyond start to yet another wonderful paranormal series that will be high on my recommendations list! I absolutely can't WAIT to Dante's story in Secret Of The Wolf!!! It will be on the top of my wishlist, for sure! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    With Reservations

    I agree with the previous review by “SmittenWithReading.” The relationships between the main characters were well written and interesting. Where the book fell about for me was the supernatural’s back-story. I had a hard time thinking of Tobias as a noble character when in reality he basically killed an innocent person so he could occupy their body as a vampire. I like that it was a new twist to paranormal romance but at the same time it bothered me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great characters.

    Every 73 years a comet passes by the earth causing a rift between dimensions, and the Extra-Dimensional (ED) beings would push their criminals through the rift as punishment for their crimes, not even knowing or caring where they would end up. (Making Earth the Australia of the universe.) The only exception to this is Tobias Caine, who was a secret service agent who followed the assassin of their king through the rift. Now Tobias is a vampire special investor to the Council of Preternaturals. He has returned to Arizona after a phone call from an old friend who needs his help. Only he returns a day too late, and his friend is among those killed in a series of vampire slayings. The Council has assigned him to find out and stop whoever it is able to kill a vampire, the most dangerous of the preternaturals. Arizona is the last place that Tobias wants to be. When he left five years ago, he needed to get away from Nix de la Fuente, the beauty that stole his heart. Nix is half-human, half-demon, and Tobias’s vampire nature would bring out her demon side. Since that usually leads to insanity in the half breeds, Tobias knew he had to stay away from her for her own good. The time of the comet’s arrival is quickly approaching again, and humans are not happy knowing there will soon be another influx of the stronger preternatals. Five years after Tobias left town, Nix is now the human liaison to the Council, and she has been assigned to this vampire killings in case the killings are being done by disgruntled humans. She is not happy when Tobias walked onto her crime scene. She has finally moved on from her heartbreak, or so she hopes, but she is not ready to spend the time with Tobias necessary to solve this case. While they investigate they slayings, they will also delve into the issues of their past and hopefully they can move on to the future. This was a well written story, and the characters were very enjoyable, including Nix’s full-human partner, Dante. My one complaint is that the story seemed to end abruptly. Although the who and whys of the vampire slayings are given by the end of the story, there were still many issues that I felt were not covered before the end of the story. This appears to be book one of a series and I hope that it will simply be a continuing investigation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1