Customer Reviews for

Kisses From Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The story of being called by God and answering that call! LIFE CHANGING!

    The average, eighteen-year old girl, when she graduates from high school begins to plan her future. When she has a wonderful boy she's in love with, graduated at the top of her class and her parents have told her she can attend any college she wishes, that is the perfect stepping off point towards her adult life.

    Yet for Katie Davis, she leaves it all behind. ALL OF IT! Breaks up with her boyfriend, packs up enough personal belongings and leaves for Uganda, Africa. No college plans, no getting married, just leaves for a missionary life helping out in the orphanages in Uganda.

    It started off as a year long project with promises to her family she would return and begin college, yet Katie could leave behind the new friends and children who truly needed her. Even though she was only one person, sometimes that's all it takes to get the process moving. To quote Katie in her own words:

    "Sometimes working in a Third World country makes me feel like I am emptying the ocean with an eyedropper. And just when I have about a half a cup full of water, it rains: More orphaned children from the north migrate to where I live, more abandoned and dead babies are found, more people are infected with HIV. It is enough to discourage even the most enthusiastic and passionate person. And yet the discouragement lasts only a moment and God tells me to keep going. That He loves me. That He loves these people. That He will never leave or forsake any of us, not one. That my work is important to him. That love is the reason I just keep filling up my little eyedropper, keep filling it up and emptying my ocean one drop at a time. I'm not here to eliminate poverty, to eradicate disease, to put a stop to people abandoning babies. I'm just here to love. "

    In the novel, Kisses From Katie by Katie Davis and Beth Clark, we see how one person is making a difference in the lives of children, one child at a time. This is the story of Katie Davis and how she is telling the story through this book of how God is changing lives through her hands and heart. She is showing people who can't communicate with her, the love of God and Jesus, and it shows in every single page. While at times she gets frustrated with efforts to not be able to help fast enough or big enough, Katie teaches us all through this book, we can all work towards helping to put an end to starving, orphaned children. God does provide enough, we simply have to ALL be willing to do our part to help.

    I received this book compliments of Simon and Schuster for my honest review and was so deeply touched by Katie's story. How could you not? Katie's message is very clear. We may not all have a call of being a missionary on our lives, but we can all help. We can all begin today to make a difference in the lives of people all around us, we simply need to be willing. Once God finds a willing heart, watch out for the amazing things He will be able to do! I rate this novel a 5 out of 5 stars

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Outstanding... This book is life changing

    This girl just loves Jesus. And she makes loving and working for Jesus simple. The way it is meant to be. This is a book that changes the way I am grateful for feeding my daughters, for being LOVE itself for my own family. Buy it. Share it with a friend. I have a dear friend in the midst of a long-term crisis. And this is the uplifting, joy-restoring book I am sending. It is that good. I was halfway through the book in one sitting at Barnes and Noble, and realized that I had to own it. I bought it. I talked a stranger into buying it. All the lady wanted to know in that Texas bookstore: "Honey, is it sad? No? Huh. Sounds like she just loves Jesus." Katie does. And she succinctly reminds us all how we can say yes to Christ every day. As a former Middle School Reading Teacher, I can say that this subject matter is appropriate for sixth grade and older. To compare, our classes taught about the Holocaust, which I felt to be much tougher subject matter to wrestle with and answer questions. This will be easy. The nature of Katie's stories is not very graphic, except for the funny rat story, but that will be perfect for12-year-old humor. There is some discussion of illness, but we all are ill at one time or another and know the drill. It is life. This is a story that will provoke much discussion about how we can help the poor, feed the hungry, how we can take action to help those around us, and also to answer why we care for our elderly when they become infirmed. This story is about Christ and how he uses our hands in the world today. I recommend this highly to parents of high school and older. In our culture, the world of convenience and ease is all children (and truly- we adults) know in America. This may alter that reality a bit, just enough to make children dwell on how much they have to rely on God. As a reader, I believe you will find this story earnest, endearing, and honest. I could not stop turning the pages. Please enjoy!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Incredible!

    One of the best books I've read in many years. I read it aloud to my boys, ages 7 and 9, every night and they absolutely loved it! It will very quickly right-size your priorities!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!!! Only 22 years old!

    What a personal and inspiring story! This book will touch your heart. I had to keep reminding myself that Katie Davis is al real person, who actually lived this book. Her story is, for a lack of better words, amazing. Katie Davis changed lives. Katie is continuing to change lives, to save them. And she's only 22. I won't rehash the entire storyline, you can get that from the synopsis, but I can tell you that this book will inspire a change in you as well. You cannot read this young woman's tale of love and redemption without being motivated to help others as well. Katie let God work through her and the result was astounding. Katie is only 22 and has literally made miracles happen. This memoir will open you heart and make you realize that we are all much more capable than we think we are. God is waiting to work through us, we just have to be willing to allow it to happen, to give up control and let him lead. Ms. Davis is a shining example of what happens when we do.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    This book is amazing! It touched me in away that I will never be

    This book is amazing! It touched me in away that I will never be the same!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Very inspirational book!

    A must read! So inspirational to read this amazing journey of a young girl that gives herself completely to Christ. I could not put it down. It had me in tears at times and smiling with joy at other times. I loved every minute of it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was incredible. It totally changed my outlook on life and people. I may not be able to travel around the world, but this book inspired me to do something in my community. It transformed my relationship with my creator. I truly loved every page. Totally recommend, especially if you feel you lack something in life.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was so inspirational; very moving. Katie is an amazing soldier of God. Her story tells how she went to Uganda to minister to the children there and became "Mommy" to so many. Katie is doing God's work in Uganda. She left behind her family, her boyfriend, college and her life in the United States to answer God's call for her.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!

    This is an awesome book. I recommend it to anyone

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Katie Davis' debut book is so filled with love and personal touch that it comes with a journal entry after each chapter. It is so personal that you can feel her talking to you through the pages, where you just want to keep reading while wrestling a hard time to put it down.

    Three years ago, Katie was just an ordinary senior class president, homecoming queen and top of her class from Nashville, Tennessee with college education all planned out by her middle class parents. After what was supposed to be a 10-month commitment as a kindergarten teacher turned into a lifetime commitment of bettering and serving Uganda, Katie is now an extraordinary mum to 14 girls and a founder/mummy who runs the Amazima Ministries, sponsoring over 400 children and feeding over 1,600 orphans who are also provided with medical care, Bible study and general health training.

    It takes a very strong-willed teenager to give up the comfort and abundance of America - family, friends, love of her life, education - to move to Uganda. A country with a population of approximately 33 million of which she only knew 1 person at that time, a totally foreign country where she didn't even know any of the language!

    I love this book because it makes a perfect curl-up-with-a-cup-of-tea light reading that reminds us of the Heavenly Father's love and reflections of hope at the intersection of life and faith. I learnt that the true meaning of life is to find our gift or talent, and the purpose of life is to give it away - to bless others. After reading this book, it makes me more aware of where my money is spent and it sure leaves a knock on my heart's door to sign up for mission.

    However, this book tries too hard to portray Katie as some kind of saintly protagonist, with clear relations to Mother Theresa. She is presented too perfectly righteous in the book, which makes her less humanly. I also feel uncomfortable when the Ugandan children are called 'chocolate coloured' children.

    Otherwise, I wholeheartedly support the mission she is doing in Uganda, loving one person at a time, caring one person at a time and saving one life at a time. I would recommend this book to everybody, anybody - young and old - kids, teenagers, parents, reminding them of how blessed they are compared to the children in Uganda.

    Heartiest thanks to the publisher for making a complimentary copy of Kisses From Katie for review via NetGalley.

    jamieywrites 4/5 for Kisses From Katie by Katie Davis and Beth Clark.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Life Changing!

    My family and I have recently decided to move to Honduras. Although I will have to continue doing computer consulting work in the U.S., over the Internet, our primary motivation is to join in doing ministry work.

    One of our daughters was having a hard time coming to grips with the upcoming move. A friend recommended we read this book.

    It has proven absolutely life changing. God has richly affirmed our decision to be obedient and step out in faith to serve Him.

    This daughter recently shared, "I'm starting to get excited about moving to Roatan." This was a major answer to prayer. Later that same day, we finished this book.

    Katie is a true servant of God and a powerful inspiration.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Katie Davis is a role model to all of us Christians for her will

    Katie Davis is a role model to all of us Christians for her will to follow God's plan for her life. Throughout the Bible, Jesus says that you have to give up everything to follow him, and that’s just what she did. She left her nice comfy lifestyle of the United States, the mainstream life a girl her age should take, her family, and a boyfriend that she was in love with to move to Uganda to change the life of many people and share Jesus with them. This is an awesome story of how one person can really make a difference in the world. It inspires me to do more with my life and to follow God’s plan instead of mine. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Best book ever

    You will laugh and cry and smile and be changed forever.Jesus used this book to change me, and it will for you, too.
    You can't put it down, either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    A wonderful heartwarming book. Great read.

    Kisses from Katie is a story about a young girl who taken a year off after school and travels to Uganda to work in an orphanage. The book is an interesting account of her life there. I enjoyed it very much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Inspiring Story - Could not put it down!

    This is an inspiring account of a young woman who followed her heart. God is using her life in amazing ways to bless the people of Uganda. Made me laugh, cry, and sit in amazement at the sacrifices Katie has made...and then rejoice with her at the joy she experiences in giving her life away!
    Having been on a recent two-week stay in Kenya, I could understand exactly what she saw and felt at times. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Perfectly inspiring!

    Perfectly inspiring!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Touched my life and heart-a must read!

    The is book really touched my heart. It made me sit back and really take a look at my life. To think what Kate has accomoplished in her 20 years of life is amazing. We should all take to heart that we probably can't save the world but we can save one life at a time. God Bless

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Yes!

    I couldnt put it down. After reading, it made me reflect on my own life, beliefs, and choices. I am forever changed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Transforming Love!

    I'm forever changed by God's love lived and expressed through Katie Davis.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    God's Grace At Work

    "Kisses From Katie" is an encouraging book about a young girls journey of faith. It details Katie Davis' transition from high school student to being the adoptive mother of 17 children and "Aunt Katie" to hundred of kids in war torn Uganda.


    I have enjoyed reading her story and have found it to be uplifting to see what God can do through one committed individual. The author makes it clear that the choices she made were not always easy, "hard" is sometimes an overused word - though how these difficulties were evident in her life is not always spelled out. Having said this, it becomes clear that God has worked through those difficult times and used Katie in some truly miraculous way.


    It has been some time since I picked up a true missionary's story - I am glad that I picked "Kisses From Katie" up and spent time this summer reading it.


    This review is based on a free, electronic copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating an unbiased review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9