Customer Reviews for

The Kissing Hand

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

For any mommy who sends their youngest off to school.

This is a story that picks up where'Love You Forever' left off. A compelling read to children of all ages who are facing fears of the unknown.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love this book, but...

We love the paper version of this book, but when I purchased it for our Nook I was really disappointed. The layout is terrible and the words are very small and not always matched with the right pictures.

posted by 9456621 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    For any mommy who sends their youngest off to school.

    This is a story that picks up where'Love You Forever' left off. A compelling read to children of all ages who are facing fears of the unknown.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Love this book, but...

    We love the paper version of this book, but when I purchased it for our Nook I was really disappointed. The layout is terrible and the words are very small and not always matched with the right pictures.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Beautifully Illustrated!

    A wonderful message for children facing separation from a parent, especially those just starting school. This book is reassuring in stating that love continues even when a child is apart from a mother. There's also an element of learning in that the story brings out information about nocturnal animals. It was a delight to read to four and five year olds.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Not Just for Toddlers! Great for Those Going Off to College.

    I got this book for my daughter who was going away to college. I helped her set up her room and snuck it under her pillow before I left. She called me later that night when she found it and LOVED IT.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    A Touching Story

    An absolutely delightful book to share with toddlers. Such a good way to ease the difficulty of saying good-bye, even for just a short time. My grandchildren, ages 7 and 5,occasionally still ask for that kiss on the hand when leaving. I now give this book as a baby gift to all new mothers, so they too can share it with their little one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    1st day off to pre-k

    This book is very helpful for both the parent and the child. It lets your child know that while away from mommy/daddy that they are close at heart. It's sort of from my heart to yours we will always be together. Think of me and I'm there close to your heart, just a kiss away. No need to be scared because I am always with you, in your thoughts and in your heart. It was great for me and my 4 year old. I love it and read it to her over and over.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    Touching book for pre-schoolers

    A wonderful book to introduce the concept of leaving home for school to your little ones. My 3-year-old wanted me to read it to her over and over again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    The Kissing Hand

    I like to buy this book to give as gifts. It is a wonderful book to illustrate about caring for others. My grandchildren love it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Wonderful story, Nook not a good venue!

    I was dissappointed since this is sucha a great story. But buy the book instead. Nook is too small to accomodate pictures consistently with the text. Perhaps a larger tablet would work fine, but Nook doesn't.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    WHAT A WONDERFUL BOOK Highly Rated

    This is one of the most touching stories to help your child going to
    nursey, pre-school or school. I personally knew about this book several years before my first Grandaughter was even born. It should go to every child in every home.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Perfect Reassurance Book

    Throughout the years all of my children have been read or have read on their own this book. It is a book that has been a "staple" in our home. I get the pleasure of now reading it to my littlest one, like a handed down tradition.

    This book, as most of you know, has been used in schools and for introducing new situations. I will admit that it is perfect for the "First Day of School Jitters", but I have shared it with my kids because it is a wonderful book all on its own.

    The kids have always loved the pictures and they could not resist a baby racoon. All my kids were able to relate to how Chester was feeling, which in turn allowed them to see that it was normal.

    The thing I love most about this book is the simple way that it teaches kids about feeling anxiety. The way it is written and the pictures allow all ages to be drawn into the story.

    This book is such a sensation that you can easily do a search to come up with extra activities to do with your children while you read the book. This allows for more sharing and teaching about feelings. (I will post a few of those links to activities at the end of this post)

    I have only read to my littlest a few times, but he does not fidgit during the story. I think even he is loving the pictures that go with the experience that Chester and his mother goes through.

    I recommend this book for every household. It really is a classic and a perfect example of a "tradition" to hand down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    From a Child's Heart to a Mother's Soul

    The Kissing Hand
    By Audrey Penn
    Illustrated by Ruth E. Harper and Nancy M. Leak
    Age Range: 4 to 8
    Tanglewood Press IN, 2006 (32 pp, $12.95, paperback)

    Rating 5/5

    Audrey Penn's simple, but powerful text would touch anyone's heart. A young raccoon, who is having doubts about the first day of school, decides he would much rather stay home with his mother. Unfortunately, staying home is usually not an option and Mrs. Raccoon shares a "wonderful secret" to help him feel safe while at school. A simple kiss on a hand and a touch on a cheek is all that takes for this young Raccoon, Chester, to take a leap into his first journey alone.

    Although this book is listed for children ages 4 to 8, I believe any person who has a child within themselves would appreciate the warm feeling you get after reading The Kissing Hand. The illustrations are simple. To some, that might affect how a child reacts to a book however, the purpose of the book and the illustrations match flawlessly. The simplest action, like kissing a hand, can have the everlasting feeling of comfort and love. Through this secret and heartwarming reassurance, Penn captures the doubt in a child's mind and the heartache of mothers letting go for the first time.

    I highly recommend this book to parents who want to reassure their children, and even themselves, the love that will always be with them even away from home. The Kissing Hand would be an excellent classic to add to a library in any home or classroom.

    visit my blog at blogspot -> Beyond The Cover

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    OMG! i love this book!

    O my go this is the best book to read to little kids cause they will do the kissing hand for ever. My mother read this to me as long as i can remeber i guess i was 6 and we have been doing the kissing hand scene and im 13 years of age.HAHA! I love this book it is great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is so beatiful i remember my mother reading this to me this book is very dear to me read this to your children they will enjoy it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Tell me more!!!!!!!

    I am ten and love this book! My mom used to read this to me all the time and I loved it so much it is one of my favorite books!!!!!I would buy it but I don't have enough money on my gift card!!!!!!!!!!!! :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    my son kissed my palm, so cute

    The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn
    This story is about a little raccoon that has a fear of going to school until his mother fills him in on an old family secret "the kissing hand". This book is applicable to all the things children may fear at one point or another; school, camp, sleeping at a friend's house. It has beautiful pictures that sparked my children's interest and kept it until the end of the book. They wanted to talk about what they saw. When the book was done my son opened my hand and kissed my palm, so adorable!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So cute

    This book is so cute, my mom read it to me when I was 5.But anyway it was one of my favorite books then. I recamond it for ages 4-7.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic!!!

    The Kissing Hand is such a touching and sentimental story. A true classic and a great read for parents and children who are getting ready for the first day of Kindergarten, the first day of preschool, or the first separation. My kids absolutely love this book and so do I!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Love it

    I love this book! I read it to my kids all of the time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    repeat purchase

    I purchased The Kissing Hand several years ago for my own children after my daughter's kindergarten teacher read it to her and she fell in love with getting the stickers. I recently purchased it again for my grandson ( and his parents) It is a very sweet story of parental love. A classic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6