Customer Reviews for

The Kissing Hand

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

For any mommy who sends their youngest off to school.

This is a story that picks up where'Love You Forever' left off. A compelling read to children of all ages who are facing fears of the unknown.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love this book, but...

We love the paper version of this book, but when I purchased it for our Nook I was really disappointed. The layout is terrible and the words are very small and not always matched with the right pictures.

posted by 9456621 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Great for day care and pre-scholers as well

    This book was great for my son when he had any kind of separation anxiety, whether it be school, a babysitter or whatever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    The Kissing Hand

    This book id a good book to read to a four year old. My cousin is a four year old and I can read this to her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Precious book!

    This book is one of the best I have read for teaching children about separation issues. I loved it and so did my four year old great granddaughters! I would recommend this for anyone to read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    A wonderful gift for mothers and their children!

    My very favorite baby shower gift is a basket consisting of THE KISSING HAND, as well as other books written by Audrey Penn, and the stuffed "Chester the Raccoon". Nothing shows love and best wishes for happy times like Audrey Penn's books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    He loves it

    My boyfriend's little boy read this in his class and he asked so nicely we had to get it for him. He loves it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Lovvvvved this book!!!

    My mom use to read this book to me and for years after i would always ask my mom for a kiss on my hand before i would leave to school!!! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Omg

    This was my favorite book when i was little i luved this book soooooooo MUCH u should totally get this book. Kids will luv the kissing hand!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Run4fun247

    Ilove this book i read it like 100 time its a great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    A must read for children

    I remember my kindergarten teacher reading this story to our class on tthe pre first day. My mom fell in love withthe story and everyday ii went to school my mom always did kissing hands just like mrs. Raccoon... now as i am older i use this technique when i banysit. THE Kissing Hhand ia an inspiring childrens book and im glad i had the chance to hear it. Every child who is leaving a parent fof the first time in a new place should read or listen to ths story it has a great lesson and is a heart warming story!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    The kissing hand

    This book was awsome because it teaches u a lesson. I loved it .The book was about a racoon who wants to stay home with his mommy , but has to go to school. His mommy kisses his hand which brings back memories about his mommy. Who ever the author is this is a beautiful story. The illustrater worked very hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Great story

    After reading/listening to this story, my son didn't say much about it. But about a week later, he grabbed my hand, kissed it, closed it and told me, "Don't worry when you wash your hands, it will stick." So cute :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Leaving Mom doesn't have to be scary

    This story will help you find a way to teach your child about your love for her and that being separated isn't really scary. Every parent faces this situation at some time with their little one. The sweet caring mother and the child's fears make the story real. And the solution is so simple. I have read this book hundrends of times to children aged 3 to 10 and they ask to hear it again and again. I add a chocolate kiss at the end for a special surprise

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Great book!!

    This book saved my sanity. My son really didn't like pre-school. His attitude literally changed over night after I read him this book. He hasn't cried once at school since we started reading this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Awesome book for kids.

    I am a single mother with a little boy that needed some reassurance.. my son started kindergarten and he would cry everyday because he said he would miss me.. that brought tears to my eyes and one of the mom's at the school came up to me and recommended this book. I bought the book and read it to my son and he loved it.... he would put the kisses that I gave to him in his hand in his pocket and he said that when he thought of me he would put his hand on his cheek and feel my kisses.. he is now in second grade and he still tells me to kiss his hand everyday... this is a must read for kids. This book is simply wonderful and I thank the author for writing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Great Night-Time Reading

    I read this to my toddler everynight before bed. It has helped him with the night-time 'fears' knowing that my love is with him wherever he goes. Each night after reading the book I kiss both hands, and he kisses both of mine and we say goodnight. I love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    A blast from the past

    My Kindergarten teatcher read this to my class, and it has always stayed in my heart. I just started intermediate school, and the story came out when i needed it most.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Loved it

    When I was in first grade, I would hate to go to school because I missed my parents. But one day I saw this book at the library.What chester's mom says to him really helped me not miss my parents so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    Kindergarten- or College-Bound

    This year I have four daughters off to college. As each one started her first year of undergrad I sent a book to her new address. Daughter #2 received the Kissing Hand. Her first night away, after meeting a gaggle of new girls on her floor, she read them her book and handed out the (included in the book) little heart stickers to each one as they expressed their excitement and reticence at being away from home for the first time. It's a great tradition to start as your nest starts to empty out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Must Read

    My son and I read this last night..it is a wonderful book...my son asked me this morning to kiss his palm..Any mother would love that..you have to read this book..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Excellent

    This book is outstanding. My son had a little hesitation about going to 3K , but after reading this book, he moved right in with no problems. After only a couple of days, he was givnig me kissing hands, too. Now we use our 'kissing hands' for special times when we will be apart. A must-have for any book collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5