Customer Reviews for

Kissing Kate

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Grrr

Peop need to grow up. If you dont like how these people live there life then maybe you should just be quiet. Its not their fault if they are gay they cant help it so why cant you just accept them for who they are and move on with your life? I dont think being gay should...
Peop need to grow up. If you dont like how these people live there life then maybe you should just be quiet. Its not their fault if they are gay they cant help it so why cant you just accept them for who they are and move on with your life? I dont think being gay should be something to be ashamed of and people like you who think its wrong make me so angry because you are all immature people who dont understand. And if youre going to bring religion into this then why dont you think about how god made them that way and if the are sinning by being gay then why would god make them that way? How would you feel if yoi were mean to someone for being gay and then you found out they killed themselves? Or what if your best friend who you had known for years came out and told you they were gay? Would you treat them any differently? If you said yes then you are a horrible person and deserve to be shunned for your entire life. I kniw this probably wont change anyones mind about being gay but i hope you at least think about it before you go and say something about it. And to ms myracle i say You rock!

posted by 8536015 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

it was ok

It was an OK book. It helped pass some time for me.I just think so much more could have been done with it.It explores feelings most of us go through from lonliness,embarrassment,to anger and confusion when we are younger and having feelings for others for the first time...
It was an OK book. It helped pass some time for me.I just think so much more could have been done with it.It explores feelings most of us go through from lonliness,embarrassment,to anger and confusion when we are younger and having feelings for others for the first time .Although it's through a girl(Lissa) who is in love with her best friend Kate. One night before school began at a party Kate gets drunk and kisses Lissa. Lissa who isn't drunk has all these feelings because of it. She tries to talk to Kate about it but Kate chooses to ignore her for a couple weeks. Lissa soon realizes she has feelings for a girl and doesn't know if she's gay. And when Kate finally does decide to be friends with Lissa again she refuses to talk about the kiss with her. And it makes it harder on Lissa.

posted by lilmudduckmuffineater on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    it was ok

    It was an OK book. It helped pass some time for me.I just think so much more could have been done with it.It explores feelings most of us go through from lonliness,embarrassment,to anger and confusion when we are younger and having feelings for others for the first time .Although it's through a girl(Lissa) who is in love with her best friend Kate. One night before school began at a party Kate gets drunk and kisses Lissa. Lissa who isn't drunk has all these feelings because of it. She tries to talk to Kate about it but Kate chooses to ignore her for a couple weeks. Lissa soon realizes she has feelings for a girl and doesn't know if she's gay. And when Kate finally does decide to be friends with Lissa again she refuses to talk about the kiss with her. And it makes it harder on Lissa.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Grrr

    Peop need to grow up. If you dont like how these people live there life then maybe you should just be quiet. Its not their fault if they are gay they cant help it so why cant you just accept them for who they are and move on with your life? I dont think being gay should be something to be ashamed of and people like you who think its wrong make me so angry because you are all immature people who dont understand. And if youre going to bring religion into this then why dont you think about how god made them that way and if the are sinning by being gay then why would god make them that way? How would you feel if yoi were mean to someone for being gay and then you found out they killed themselves? Or what if your best friend who you had known for years came out and told you they were gay? Would you treat them any differently? If you said yes then you are a horrible person and deserve to be shunned for your entire life. I kniw this probably wont change anyones mind about being gay but i hope you at least think about it before you go and say something about it. And to ms myracle i say You rock!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Some of you are

    IGNORANT. That is the worst thing to be in this day & age. Very sad. I would gladly read this book, & I'm in my 30's. Gay, straight, black, white, Muslim, Christian, who cares? As long as you are a decent person & kind & good hearted. That is ALL that should matter.
    ~Hippie Chick~

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    love is love

    being gay isnt nasty . if u love a girl and you are a girl. or if you love a boy and you are a boy it is still love. love is love no matter in what form. we r still humans with emotions we love with our hearts not our eyes. love sees no race gender or age. we dont say ur love is degusting why should u say ours is. when we are no different than you!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Best Book I've Read So Far

    Kissing Kate is, hands down, the best book I have read in a very long time, if not forever. I read it in two days and loved every second of it. Her sister reminds me so much of my sister. This book is sensitive, funny, touching, and so realistic. The characters stick with you and I can relate so much to both Lissa and Ariel. Kate not so much, but I can see what she might be thinking at a situation like this. She must be scared and feeling awkward and angry at herself and Lissa. I feel sympathetic for her, but I HATED what she called Lissa towards the end. Same with what Vanessa called Beth! Ariel and Finn are much better friends to Lissa. I love Darlin's character. Same with Jerry's. As you can see, BUY THIS BOOK PLEASE!!! It is amazing! One more thing: I am Christian and BEING GAY OR LESBIAN IS NOT A SIN. Jesus loves you so much He doesnt care who His children are born to love! He made you that way, and God is such perfection and loves His children so much He makes you just how He wants you and whether you are gay or straight , that is God's plan and ut will all work out if you STAY STRONG AND LOVE WHOEVER YOU ARE BORN TO LOVE. JESUS IS PERFECT AND LOVE IS LOVE! Y'all can know both! Love is Love and back off haters!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book that puts reality in your face.

    Kissing Kate is a well written reminder to girls everywhere to never settle for less. All over the country I know girls can relate to this book. Sure, not the majority of them, but in a country with millions of people a minority is a lot. Reading this book may help girls confused about their sexuality become a little more comfortable with it. It might push them to find out more about the situation there in so they don't feel left out in the dark. Coming out can be a very scary thing in the world, this book and other could make it feel not so bad.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Someone confused

    I loved the book I read it multiple times. I fell for something like that similar the friends and then loving them. I do believe I'm different like kate's friend. I do relate so much because it happen excalty the same. Well I would tell you, you should read this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Wrong

    Being gay is not right. The bible says that God will not let any homosexuals into even so whkever wrote this needs to figure out what she writes before she starts brain washing people. I'm christian and I am not trying to judge anyone but think about what your saying befire you say it or dont say it all

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    To seriously

    I THINK YOU'RE RIGHT GOD MADE US THIS THIS WAY FOR A REASON EVEN IF IT ISN'T CLEAR TO US

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    i love love love love this book , i read it not to long ago and

    i love love love love this book , i read it not to long ago and i fell in love , i do recommend reading this book! im a lauren myracle lover , her books have been a favorite of mine for sometime.(:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Doesn't help..

    First of all, that ignorant comment didnt help me decide if I want to read this book. Second of all, I dont take offense to your comment, I'm not religous but my family is catholic and if God does not accept the community than why was I taught ""we were ALL made in God's image and liking"? You're ignorance isn't needed. Thank you

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ok

    its okay but not great

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Not as great as everyone said

    This book was ok... it wasnt anything amazing I was waiting the whole time for it to really get going but it never did. I would reccomend this book to someone who likes to read something with no meaning.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    Less Than Expected

    I enjoyed Kissing Kate, even though it really let me down. I had been expecting a better plot, although the character development was okay. I liked Kate's character, but I couldn't get emotionally attached to her fate. It's a nice book, but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Hi

    Being gay and lesbian is a sin if ppl knew god more they would know that read the bible its wrong being gay and lesbian

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    A new favorite

    I really enjoyed this story. I feel like it was a very realistic look into the life of an lgbt teen. It was honest and the characters are extremely relatable. I wanted more at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Amazing

    I know this book is about a topic people dont like to talk about but it is an amazing book. I wish people would give it a chance. My best friends friend is bi but that doesnt change a thing between our friendship. Just like it is in the book. Give it a chance you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I find Kissing Kate to be a pretty cute yet realistic coming of

    I find Kissing Kate to be a pretty cute yet realistic coming of age story. I related to the main character, Lissa, a lot throughout the story. It's a pretty short novel and I read it in two days, but I was captivated by the plot and writing. The secondary characters are great, too. There isn't that happy ending that so many people long for here, so it makes the book more realistic to me. Don't get me wrong, I love a happy ending like the next person, but I get a little sick of it when I read it all the time. Life doesn't work that way. I wish I had read this novel earlier, I think it would have helped me a lot with my own sexuality. Lauren Myracle is a great writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    To below

    You are so right i truely think u are an inspiration to all. That was a beautiful thing u said there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Ehh

    So i was really into this book amd it was something i could relate to, to an extent but what got me was i was all i to this book waiting for what was going to happen next then it just ended. The ending is what really left me a little annoyed but i still loved the story and i still reccomend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7