Customer Reviews for

Kissing in Manhattan

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Accidental find

I sat down on the floor in Barnes and Noble to change out of my heels into comfortable shoes, looked to my left saw Kissing In Manhattan. I bought it on impulse and ended up loving it. What a great book for the non-judgmental reader. Very rich and quirky. Would make...
I sat down on the floor in Barnes and Noble to change out of my heels into comfortable shoes, looked to my left saw Kissing In Manhattan. I bought it on impulse and ended up loving it. What a great book for the non-judgmental reader. Very rich and quirky. Would make a great book club book, if you're into that sort of thing.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a good one-

I could not get into this book! I love to read and tried three times to give it a try. I really didn't relate to the characters, didn't get the story and thought it was very bland. The reviews said a sexy book?? What?? No, this book was boring and dumb. It was yucky, do...
I could not get into this book! I love to read and tried three times to give it a try. I really didn't relate to the characters, didn't get the story and thought it was very bland. The reviews said a sexy book?? What?? No, this book was boring and dumb. It was yucky, do not waste your time. The best thing about the book is the cover (and that is why I picked it up) I like the old door and key hole but that is where the good ends. Please, don't waste your time on this one.

posted by tchrreader on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Complex Puzzle Made Simple

    I picked up Schickler's book in a used book store because I liked the title. It is a collection of short stories, that you'll soon discover are interwoven into a different sort of novel. You can't help but understand the small town feeling that a city like New York can have. Each character has a distinctly different voice, making it a perfect read for any person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    A Great Read

    This is one of those books that you can get through in one day. It is thoroughly enjoyable great for a long sitting (like airplane ride or inside on a dreary day). Extremely entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    One of Manhattan's best kept secrets.

    I had a very vivid dream about his book, and makes me wish that NYC's underground was as exciting as this! Maybe I need to do a little more exploring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Sassy and smart

    A true delight to read. Being a teacher and off for the summer, I polished this off in one day of marathon reading. I adored this book and the stories and how everything ended up being connected toward the end. A true treat for those of y'all who are tired of the same hum drum fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Great Read

    This one is a page turner! Lots of surprises, some you would not expect...but that's what makes it great. Kind of dark,but very entertaining. Read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    One Of A Kind

    I loved this book! Each night I looked forward to getting back to it. I loved the way that the author created all of these quirky characters and story. I agree, read it if you like human dynamics w/o all the mushy stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Must Read for People-Watchers!!

    I definately have to disagree with the comment that is book has some degradation of women...I quite a feminist and haven't read that one bit. Yes, there are men in this book that aren't your average Joe, but that's what's so awesome because that's how life really is! I think this is one of the most fabulous books I have read in such a long time...I even find myself dreaming that I am one of the many different characters at night. I love how he shows the true side of human nature...not the 'we are all alike and looking for the same thing' type of people that are in most books. I can't rave enough...I can't wait to read more of his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    A breath of fresh air...

    I saw it in the store, but didn't buy it at the time. Finally got around to ordering it on a whim...and it was such a great book! I loved his writing style and can't wait for his next project. Read a chapter each night, and couldn't wait for the the next! A definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Enthralling

    I read this book in one sitting. I cannot wait to see what Schickler will create next...I know I will certainly buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    EXCELLENT

    I loved this book so much I think I'll read it again. Can anyone recommend any books that are similar to this one? I liked how one chapter would tell about 2 people for example and mention someone else. Then another chapter would have these people in it, but be about the people that were mentioned in the earlier chapter. EXCELLENT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Richard.....

    Great book here. Richard, you asked if anyone could recommend other novels where characters who don't know one another cross paths. Mall by Eric Bogosian, excellent story and a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Outstanding

    Mr. Schickler's eloquent storytelling weaves all of these vignettes together in a masterful way. You're unable to predict how each story will draw to a close, which is the beauty of this novel. The complexity and depth of each character is something to behold. A real page turner, read it, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    great style

    I really enjoyed the style of Kissing in Manhattan. Also I recognized a lot of the landmarks he spoke of (except the Preemption). The story of the bath tub couple is wonderfully intimate yet makes you smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Masterfully done

    Fate and destiny are alive and thriving in a lightly enchanted Manhattan. I devoured this book- it completely awed me. It is by turns charming, disturbing, wrenching, and touching, but Schickler is completely in control of his prose, and every word rings true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    A Guy Wrote This?!

    I say that, because the characters, both male and female, are so three-dimensional that, at times, I couldn't remember the gender of the author. Every single character has a "moment". This book is a technical masterpiece, but its real strength is that indescribable something that hooks you and haunts you long after you've read the last page. For reasons unknown to me, I felt such a raw saddness at the end of this collection. Not a surface sympathy for the characters. Not even empathy. It was that one irrational emotion that makes you cry at a sunset, or laugh at a funeral. That sudden realization that something is just so beautiful that your senses overload, and you succumb to a very deep and seemingly ancient feeling that you just can't quite distinguish or (apparantly) verbally describe. I'm quite aware that this review sounds melodramatic and, maybe stupid, too, but this story brought forth in me, the loneliness of living in New York and feeling anonymous, not knowing how every life touches someone, from the most popular celebrity to the most secluded hermit. This book has affected me, and because of it, I don't think I'll ever be quite the same. Wow, I'm a giant dork.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    INCREDIBLE

    I have just one word to describe this book, INCREDIBLE!! I finished it in a day, it was so intense and I genuinely cared for the characters! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    hilarious, dark, and captivating

    loved it...from donna's story of finding the man her body belonged to, to douglas and nicole's "arrangement"- and of course james and rally. the small stories of the characters and how their eccentric lives entangle made a fascinating book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    The Secret that Connects us to the Universe

    "Kissing in Manhatten" is a well developed, insightful collection of intertwined short stories. It reminds us the world is a small place and every little personal secret you've held is the key to a connection with another human being, thus a connection with the world or universe itself. Absolutely incredible and deserves to be read more than once! Excellent detail, inventive stories, and will keep you at the edge of your seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    engrossing

    i can't stop thinking about this book. it is still haunting me, but in the best way. i can still smell patrick rigg from the story "in black." i highly suggest reading it twice because there are things that seem like irrelevant details but are highly significant in later stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Absolutely LOVED this book!

    I am an avid fiction reader, who hardly ever reaches for books of short stories. But, these short stories were impossible for me to put down! The author's way of intertwining the characters from each story is brilliant! Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2