Customer Reviews for

Kissing the Maid of Honor (Entangled Bliss)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true This

Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull o...
Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull on the heartstrings a little.

Sela and Luke were both wonderful easy to love realistic characters. Sela, a nurse is a homebird; she's kind, compassionate, caring, has never left her hometown and is determined to be the best Maid of Honour her best-friend Vanessa could wish for. Luke is her complete opposite: he's travelled the world as a sports photographer, enjoys the more extreme of sports and dates like-minded women. Not only is he Vanessa's big-brother, Sela's brother Shane's best-friend and the Best Man, he's also the guy who, ten years previously, declared to his team-mates that Sela, who had a huge high-school crush on him, `kissed like a corpse'. Needless to say there's a touch of dislike there, her hurt has never gone away, nor can she forgive him. But Luke has returned home with a secret and Sela works it out...

Even though I had an idea where the story was heading with the whole best man-maid of honour-who-can't-avoid-each-other scenario, there were lots of little surprises thrown in, the sparks flew between Sela and Luke and they complimented each other perfectly. I swooned over Luke, I smiled those little happy smiles at all the lovely heartwarming moments yet at times I wanted to shout at the pair of them to get their act together! There's plenty of build up and `almost moments' between them but when it comes down to the steamy stuff, it's all left to your imagination. And it has fabulous secondary characters who all are integral to the story.

This most definitely a book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and I hope Robin Bielman gives us further books in the series as I would love to see more of Shane, who brought humour pretty much every time he opened his mouth.

I received this book as an ARC from the publisher for an honest and unbiased opinion.

posted by Nicola_1202 on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slow and boring

This was a sweet romantic story but it bored me to death. It was painfully slow, full of details about the wedding preparations but then no details at all about the most romantic scenes. I am not looking for something too explicit, but this is a romance book so I want t...
This was a sweet romantic story but it bored me to death. It was painfully slow, full of details about the wedding preparations but then no details at all about the most romantic scenes. I am not looking for something too explicit, but this is a romance book so I want to read about the budding romance, their feelings and live experiences. I'd much rather read details about their first time together than pages and pages about how they wrap the wedding favors. Pity because the story could have been much better.

posted by EmmaGR on May 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    This is the first in a series and the whole series was great!  L

    This is the first in a series and the whole series was great!  Loved Sela and Luke.  Their history and families make this one of my favorite reads.   It has humor, romance, and just an all. Around good story.  Would recommend to everyone.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    This is the first time I've read a Robin Bielman book and I abso

    This is the first time I've read a Robin Bielman book and I absolutely loved it.  She is a great contemporary romance writer, really knows how to weave a beautiful love story.  I'm so glad she doesn't all the graphic sex scenes in her book.  She is now one of my top 5 favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    **Review found on Redheads Reviews it Better** Robin is a new t

    **Review found on Redheads Reviews it Better**

    Robin is a new to me author. After reading the blurb (yes I actually read one this time ;) ) it looked like something I would thoroughly enjoy.
     I'm going to changed things up a bit and break this down by characters, plot, and my overall opinion of the book. 

    ~Characters - The characters in this story stood out in a good way to me. We have Sela, who is a caring nurse by day but also writes an
    advice column anonymously. I love that she does that. I really couldn't tell you why other than I like that she has a passion writing. And
    Sela was just plain loveable. I would love to have someone like that as a best friend. And Luke-he jumped off the pages as this confident,
     successful, handsome guy that I wanted for my own. And his vulnerable side I loved so much! Between that and his personality, it was
    hard not to love the guy. And the secondary characters rocked. I can't wait to read the next two in the series with Shane and Erin.
    Especially Shane. He was all sorts of YUMMY. And Erin seems like she could have an adorable vulnerable side. Guess I'll have to wait
    and see!

    ~Plot - I love the storylines that involve best friend's siblings hooking up. It's one of my favorites. I guess watching their love unfold,
    especially if they have known each other for a while, is beyond wonderful for me to read. The story itself was great and even felt like an
    additional character all on it's own. Sibling falls for best friend. Those are always a good read. I do wish there was more spice when they
    finally get together but I also felt like it didn't take away from the story in the least.

    ~Overall Opinion - I LOVED this book. And I'm going to assume this series even though I haven't read the other two books yet. I'm just
    basing this on how much I loved the characters and just plain enjoyed this one. I read it in one sitting, ignored my kids and house chores.
     (And any excuse not to clean is fine by me.) Better believe I'm going to get the next two and get started on those soon. I'm adding this
    series onto my list of ones to follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    This book take me to my HAPPY Place!  Simply a lovely, contempor

    This book take me to my HAPPY Place!  Simply a lovely, contemporary romance...


    After I'd read HER ACCIDENTAL BOYFRIEND, the 2nd book in Robin Bielman's Secret Wishes series, I immediately purchased this 1st book. I finally got to read it! 




    OMG! It's absolutely a FABULOUS (note all the capitals!) read! I loved every single page and I didn't want it to ever end.




    Since I finished it, I've actually gone back to it a few times just to re-read parts as the book gives me a happy high! This is a story I can see myself reading over and over. 




    Years ago, Sela had a crush on Luke, her brother's best friend AND the brother of her own best friend. With those connections, Luke should have been off-limits relationship-wise anyway, but her feelings for him were publicly and embarrassingly squashed when he ruined her reputation by proclaiming after a shared kiss at their small town fair's kissing booth that he'd had better kisses from a corpse.




    Now, Sela Sullivan is the Maid of Honor for her long-time best friend and Luke Watters is the best man at the same wedding. As the story begins, she is asking the town's wishing well to help her survive seeing Luke again so her best friend will have the best wedding and Sela can be the best Maid of Honor ever. We get to enjoy how that works out!




    This is an absolutely lovely contemporary romance with a bit of HEAT... just the right combo.




    AWESOME Read!




    5 STARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Really cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Really cute read. Loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    I've read her novellas, but this is the first full-length novel

    I've read her novellas, but this is the first full-length novel I've read. Count me a fan of everything Robin Bielman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Light, sweet and tasty. A book with "kissing" in the t

    Light, sweet and tasty. A book with "kissing" in the title should feature lots of it, and the author does not disappoint.

    "...He moaned and deepened the kiss, His body pressed hers into the bed. What started as a slow, careful exploration turned hot and unyielding. Then after a while, it slowed again, as if Luke wanted to savor every sensation. She didn't want him to stop. She didn't want this dream to end.

    She ran her fingers through his hair and pulled him tighter. He tasted of mint and hot chocolate and whatever he was doing with his lips had her toes curling. She kissed him with every bit of passion she had inside her and matched his explosive pace. Her body hummed with oh-so-welcome quivers."

    Likewise, a book about the Maid of Honor should include lots of wedding prep, and that's in here, too: dinners and showers and wedding preparation.

    The emotional traumas and barriers that keep Luke and Sela from becoming a couple are thin and transparent as a bridal veil, but that didn't bother me. Fun, quick, sexy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    This was a really cute story full of family devotion that I fell

    This was a really cute story full of family devotion that I fell in love with.  With Sela being Luke’s little sister’s best friend and his best friend’s little sister, she’s all kinds of off limits to him.  That doesn’t stop his body from wanting or his mind from wandering.  He doesn’t handle it outwardly very well though and there lies the drama.  Watching the two of them iron out their history and dance around the present is cute and fun, though occasionally frustrating as they’re continually being told to stay away from each other and not talking about the important things.
     
    The love scenes are closed door unfortunately, but the chemistry is so strong and tangible that you don’t mind it.  The only particular complaint I have is Sela’s name.  People call her “See” as a nickname on occasion, and I never picked up on it until the last third of the book because of how I’d been pronouncing her name in my head.  It was pretty off-putting as I just thought the characters talked a little funny now and then.  Other than that, it’s truly an endearing and sweet read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews by Kim

    Luke Watters is a world renowned extreme sports photographer. Luke thrives on adventure. The riskier, the better. Unfortunately for Luke, his job has almost cost him his life. Forced to take some time off, he uses his sister's wedding as a chance to recover from his injuries and spend time with his family. The last thing Luke expected was to come face to face with one his biggest regrets, Sela Sullivan.

    Living in small town Cascade, Oregon your whole life is not so bad. Being a pediatric nurse at the local hospital can be rewarding at times. Being the maid of honor at your best friends' wedding, a dream come true. Being the BEST maid of honor a girl could ever have, easy peezy. Having the best man get stuck in a war zone, not so good. Having the best man be replaced by your high school crush turned nemesis, Luke Watters, calls for desperate measures. Welcome to the life of Sela Sullivan.

    KISSING THE MAID OF HONOR is the story of two people who have been interested in each other for years, but because of who they are, they have to keep their distance. Sela Sullivan is the best friend of Vanessa, who happens to be the younger sister of Luke Watters, Sela's teenage crush. Luke is also the best friend of Sela's older brother, Shane. In high school, Sela got her chance to kiss the guy of her dreams. Unfortunately, the guy didn't say, "Wow, that was fantastic". No, no, Luke said, "You kiss like a corpse". So for ten years, Sela has despised Luke.

    The story starts off with Sela making a wish at Cascade's notorious wishing well. Sela's wish is a little different from most. She's not looking for love, long-term happiness, or wealth. No, Sela is wishing that Luke keeps his distance from her and that their interactions are kept to the minimum.

    This is what I love about this book: KISSING THE MAID OF HONOR allows you to watch two people fall in love against the wishes of those who are supposed to love them. Sela and Luke are great together. They allow the other to discover new things about themselves. They have a teasing relationship, which quickly becomes flirtatious.

    What I didn’t like about the book, was Luke and Sela's families. Vanessa and Shane, Sela's older brother and Luke's best friend, don't want the two together. They even go as far as to say that they can’t have anything to do with each other, outside of the wedding.

    Bottom line.... If you’re looking for a wonderful romance, this is the book for you. Luke and Sela are people who you would want to know and will root for them to be together. Assuming this is the first book in a series, there are several characters I can't wait to read more about (Shane and Kagan, Erin, the younger sister of Vanessa and Luke).

    Source: NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful romance that plucks the heart strings Kissing the M

    Delightful romance that plucks the heart strings


    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet and endearing romance. Robin Bielman pens a tale of unrequited love that will warm the reader’s heart. It’s a delightful novel with engaging and likeable characters, and a story line that flows smoothly. 

    Sela Sullivan has had a crush on her best friend’s brother, Luke, for years. After being humiliated by Luke’s derogatory comment after the kiss they shared at the high school kissing booth, she learned to go on to become a respected pediatric nurse at the local hospital.  Now she finds herself having to come face-to-face with the nemesis that she hasn’t seen in years. Not only does she have to confront him, but she also has to interact with him, as the maid of honor in his sister’s wedding.  

    Luke Walters has come home, after a ten year absence, for his sister’s wedding and finds himself partnered with his best friend’s sister, Sela. He never forgot the amazing kiss they shared at the high school kissing booth, or the remark he was forced to utter in order to save face in front of his friends. When he starts feeling things for Sela he has no right to feel because she’s his best friend’s sister, Luke finds himself in a dilemma. 

    This is an entertaining read that will have you sighing with pleasure. It has laughter, passion, strong family relationships, compassion, romance, and will hold your attention from the first page to the last. If you like sweet romances that pluck at the heart strings, then this novel is for you.


    I received a copy of this book from Entangled Publishing
    in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sela Sullivan is determined to be the best maid of honor ever, e

    Sela Sullivan is determined to be the best maid of honor ever, even if it means tolerating the best man. Luke Watters is not only the guy who humiliated her at a kissing booth in high school, but he also happens to be her best friend’s older brother. Positive he’s the same arrogant jock, Sela vows to focus on her duties and steer clear of the sexy man. She even drops a wish into a well to make it so they spend as little time together as possible. As a world-renowned extreme-sports photographer, Luke is used to risking his life. But risking his heart? Never. Especially to someone who so clearly hates him. But the more time they spend together, the more he craves her. But can he prove to the maid of honor he’s become a man of honor?

    I fell in love with this book from the start. Quick wit, smooth writing, deft dialog, and lovable characters. The setting was great and the secondary characters were a wonderful addition. The plot was perfectly paced. The wishing well was just fabulous. The tension and snark between the hero and heroine was palpable and added apprehension and heat you can't ignore. The only downside was the internal conflict. Sela hated him for what he once did to her, and Luke had the typical can't commit mentality. External conflict was stronger. Neither deterred me from reading. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I absoultely loved this book! Once I started I could NOT put it

    I absoultely loved this book! Once I started I could NOT put it down. Sela and Luke are jsut too cute and very believable characters. Reminded of me and my husband :)

    Definitely recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First off, I thought this story was sweet. I adore Sela and Luke

    First off, I thought this story was sweet. I adore Sela and Luke. I think they were so cute together. I love how they were really going against the odds here. Here's why: Sela is best friend's with Luke's younger sister and Luke is best friend's Sela's older brother. Let's be honest there are so many friend codes that are being broken with these two coming together. But hey, how can you stop love? 
    Honestly, this is a feel good book. Something sappy and happy that will brighten anyones day. I love how they both try to keep each other at arms length, but that just doesn't work. Plus, you gotta love a small town setting where everybody knows your name and business. 
    I'm serious, when I say this is a feel good book it's a feel good book. This would be the essence of pure romance sweet and simple. Sometimes I love that and the Bliss line truly knows how to bring it. So, if you are looking for a romance that is pure, I would say grab yourself a copy of Kissing the Maid of Honor. I'm sure you will have that feel good feeling after your read this. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    5 stars

    So, I dont want to mess up the rating for my question....... but, I'm wondering why every review said it's "sweet" ???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet story about second chances.

    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet story about second chances. Sela and Luke are fantastic together – their interactions are full of both wit and tenderness. Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch (dot) wordpress (dot) com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Robin Bielman has delivered a sweet story that will have you cap

    Robin Bielman has delivered a sweet story that will have you captivated from the start. This heart-warming story has realistic characters, a great story line and is an easy read. Just when you think you know exactly what is going to happen next, there is just enough of a twist to leave you guessing again! Sela Sullivan and Luke Watters have amazing chemistry throughout the book that makes you cheer for them as they discover how to conquer the past and heal old wounds. Can two people with a not-so-great history find a way to forgive and forget for the sake of love and happiness? I loved this book from the first chapter and would recommend this book to any fan of sweet romance! I look forward to reading more books by Robin Bielman.

    Rating: 4

    Heat Rating: Sweet

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Review Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    A sweet contemporary romance with "closed door" love s

    A sweet contemporary romance with "closed door" love scenes. I was impressed with the story, how well written it was, with realistic characters the reader instantly connects with. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating:  4 1/2 stars With summer and wedding season just around

    Rating:  4 1/2 stars

    With summer and wedding season just around the corner, what better way to celebrate than by reading Robin's book.  It's one that you can get read in either one or two days - depending on how much time you have.  It's one that will have you reminiscing about a wedding you have participated in or gone to.

    The setting is Cascade, Oregon.  I couldn't find a town of Cascade per se but I did find a town called Cascade Locks, Oregon.  It sounds like a lovely place to visit - one I will have to add to my bucket list.

    This story takes you through the weeks leading up to Sela's friend, Vanessa's, wedding.  One interesting point in the story is the bachelor/bachelorette party which included a cake - this was a point in which I would have loved a picture.  This is where your imagination will have to come into play.

    It's a sexy story without having the actual sex act.  I can imagine this being turned into a Hallmark channel movie.  They do a lot of the romance movies without having sex but you don't always need to see it to know how much the couple enjoys each others company.  Sometimes movies give the viewers too much - when they don't, your own creativity comes into play where you can fill in the blanks yourself.

    This is one book that I would read again - especially once the series is over.  You can go back and read all the books one right after the other.  One hope I have is that Robin will go back and tell us Vanessa's story.  I want to know how she came to make her wish at the famous Cascade wishing well.

    This book would also make a great gift.  Maybe you are getting ready for your own wedding.  Not sure what to give your bride's maids?  Your own maid of honor?  If they love reading romances, why not give them the gift of this book.  Maybe get some cake ideas.  How can you go wrong?

    I was happy to see that this is a part of a series.  I tried to find out what book two will be about but I'm sorry to say that I couldn't find out anything.  For now we'll just have to be patient.  
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This was such a good book. Robin did such a good job. Sela like

    This was such a good book. Robin did such a good job. Sela like many other girls was hurt by a boy that she had a crush on. Luke like so many boys said things to get out of a sticky situation. How hard would it be if you were completely crushed by your best friends older brother? Sela has to decide if she can get over the awful things Luke said in high school. Luke must decide if he is ready to start a relationship that will mean him settling down when the adventurous life calls. I loved all of the characters and I hope that she follows it up with another family members story. Maybe Shane. 
    I wills definitely be reading other books by the authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4