Customer Reviews for

Kissing the Maid of Honor: A Secret Wishes Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true This

Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull o...
Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull on the heartstrings a little.

Sela and Luke were both wonderful easy to love realistic characters. Sela, a nurse is a homebird; she's kind, compassionate, caring, has never left her hometown and is determined to be the best Maid of Honour her best-friend Vanessa could wish for. Luke is her complete opposite: he's travelled the world as a sports photographer, enjoys the more extreme of sports and dates like-minded women. Not only is he Vanessa's big-brother, Sela's brother Shane's best-friend and the Best Man, he's also the guy who, ten years previously, declared to his team-mates that Sela, who had a huge high-school crush on him, `kissed like a corpse'. Needless to say there's a touch of dislike there, her hurt has never gone away, nor can she forgive him. But Luke has returned home with a secret and Sela works it out...

Even though I had an idea where the story was heading with the whole best man-maid of honour-who-can't-avoid-each-other scenario, there were lots of little surprises thrown in, the sparks flew between Sela and Luke and they complimented each other perfectly. I swooned over Luke, I smiled those little happy smiles at all the lovely heartwarming moments yet at times I wanted to shout at the pair of them to get their act together! There's plenty of build up and `almost moments' between them but when it comes down to the steamy stuff, it's all left to your imagination. And it has fabulous secondary characters who all are integral to the story.

This most definitely a book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and I hope Robin Bielman gives us further books in the series as I would love to see more of Shane, who brought humour pretty much every time he opened his mouth.

I received this book as an ARC from the publisher for an honest and unbiased opinion.

posted by Nicola_1202 on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slow and boring

This was a sweet romantic story but it bored me to death. It was painfully slow, full of details about the wedding preparations but then no details at all about the most romantic scenes. I am not looking for something too explicit, but this is a romance book so I want t...
This was a sweet romantic story but it bored me to death. It was painfully slow, full of details about the wedding preparations but then no details at all about the most romantic scenes. I am not looking for something too explicit, but this is a romance book so I want to read about the budding romance, their feelings and live experiences. I'd much rather read details about their first time together than pages and pages about how they wrap the wedding favors. Pity because the story could have been much better.

posted by EmmaGR on May 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Kissing the Maid of Honor by Robin Bielman is the story of Sela

    Kissing the Maid of Honor by Robin Bielman is the story of Sela Sullivan and her childhood crush, Luke Watters. Sela pined over her best friend's brother for years until he humiliated her as an adolescent and now he's back in town for his sister's wedding and stirring up old feelings for the maid of honor. 
    Kissing the MOH was really well plotted with engaging characters and I absolutely loved the small town setting of the book. I really look forward to reading more of the Secret Wishes series. 
    Note: I received my e-book copy from Entangled with the promise for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received my e-book copy from Entangled with the promise for an

    I received my e-book copy from Entangled with the promise for an honest review.




    Kissing the Maid of Honor was a truly well written sweet story.  I enjoyed the various relationships between all the characters.  The friendships and sibling relationships were so realistic and relatable.  I laughed and smiled while reading this book.  It was such an honest and endearing journey of love between Sela and Luke.  I like how they tried to stay away from each other only to realize it was no use.  It had me hooked from the beginning and I had to keep reading.




    I have read all Ms. Bielman's books and thoroughly enjoyed each one.  I am hoping their is a second book to this one showcasing Sela's brother, Shane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    This is the first in a series and the whole series was great!  L

    This is the first in a series and the whole series was great!  Loved Sela and Luke.  Their history and families make this one of my favorite reads.   It has humor, romance, and just an all. Around good story.  Would recommend to everyone.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Really cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Really cute read. Loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Light, sweet and tasty. A book with "kissing" in the t

    Light, sweet and tasty. A book with "kissing" in the title should feature lots of it, and the author does not disappoint.

    "...He moaned and deepened the kiss, His body pressed hers into the bed. What started as a slow, careful exploration turned hot and unyielding. Then after a while, it slowed again, as if Luke wanted to savor every sensation. She didn't want him to stop. She didn't want this dream to end.

    She ran her fingers through his hair and pulled him tighter. He tasted of mint and hot chocolate and whatever he was doing with his lips had her toes curling. She kissed him with every bit of passion she had inside her and matched his explosive pace. Her body hummed with oh-so-welcome quivers."

    Likewise, a book about the Maid of Honor should include lots of wedding prep, and that's in here, too: dinners and showers and wedding preparation.

    The emotional traumas and barriers that keep Luke and Sela from becoming a couple are thin and transparent as a bridal veil, but that didn't bother me. Fun, quick, sexy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    This was a really cute story full of family devotion that I fell

    This was a really cute story full of family devotion that I fell in love with.  With Sela being Luke’s little sister’s best friend and his best friend’s little sister, she’s all kinds of off limits to him.  That doesn’t stop his body from wanting or his mind from wandering.  He doesn’t handle it outwardly very well though and there lies the drama.  Watching the two of them iron out their history and dance around the present is cute and fun, though occasionally frustrating as they’re continually being told to stay away from each other and not talking about the important things.
     
    The love scenes are closed door unfortunately, but the chemistry is so strong and tangible that you don’t mind it.  The only particular complaint I have is Sela’s name.  People call her “See” as a nickname on occasion, and I never picked up on it until the last third of the book because of how I’d been pronouncing her name in my head.  It was pretty off-putting as I just thought the characters talked a little funny now and then.  Other than that, it’s truly an endearing and sweet read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews by Kim

    Luke Watters is a world renowned extreme sports photographer. Luke thrives on adventure. The riskier, the better. Unfortunately for Luke, his job has almost cost him his life. Forced to take some time off, he uses his sister's wedding as a chance to recover from his injuries and spend time with his family. The last thing Luke expected was to come face to face with one his biggest regrets, Sela Sullivan.

    Living in small town Cascade, Oregon your whole life is not so bad. Being a pediatric nurse at the local hospital can be rewarding at times. Being the maid of honor at your best friends' wedding, a dream come true. Being the BEST maid of honor a girl could ever have, easy peezy. Having the best man get stuck in a war zone, not so good. Having the best man be replaced by your high school crush turned nemesis, Luke Watters, calls for desperate measures. Welcome to the life of Sela Sullivan.

    KISSING THE MAID OF HONOR is the story of two people who have been interested in each other for years, but because of who they are, they have to keep their distance. Sela Sullivan is the best friend of Vanessa, who happens to be the younger sister of Luke Watters, Sela's teenage crush. Luke is also the best friend of Sela's older brother, Shane. In high school, Sela got her chance to kiss the guy of her dreams. Unfortunately, the guy didn't say, "Wow, that was fantastic". No, no, Luke said, "You kiss like a corpse". So for ten years, Sela has despised Luke.

    The story starts off with Sela making a wish at Cascade's notorious wishing well. Sela's wish is a little different from most. She's not looking for love, long-term happiness, or wealth. No, Sela is wishing that Luke keeps his distance from her and that their interactions are kept to the minimum.

    This is what I love about this book: KISSING THE MAID OF HONOR allows you to watch two people fall in love against the wishes of those who are supposed to love them. Sela and Luke are great together. They allow the other to discover new things about themselves. They have a teasing relationship, which quickly becomes flirtatious.

    What I didn’t like about the book, was Luke and Sela's families. Vanessa and Shane, Sela's older brother and Luke's best friend, don't want the two together. They even go as far as to say that they can’t have anything to do with each other, outside of the wedding.

    Bottom line.... If you’re looking for a wonderful romance, this is the book for you. Luke and Sela are people who you would want to know and will root for them to be together. Assuming this is the first book in a series, there are several characters I can't wait to read more about (Shane and Kagan, Erin, the younger sister of Vanessa and Luke).

    Source: NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful romance that plucks the heart strings Kissing the M

    Delightful romance that plucks the heart strings


    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet and endearing romance. Robin Bielman pens a tale of unrequited love that will warm the reader’s heart. It’s a delightful novel with engaging and likeable characters, and a story line that flows smoothly. 

    Sela Sullivan has had a crush on her best friend’s brother, Luke, for years. After being humiliated by Luke’s derogatory comment after the kiss they shared at the high school kissing booth, she learned to go on to become a respected pediatric nurse at the local hospital.  Now she finds herself having to come face-to-face with the nemesis that she hasn’t seen in years. Not only does she have to confront him, but she also has to interact with him, as the maid of honor in his sister’s wedding.  

    Luke Walters has come home, after a ten year absence, for his sister’s wedding and finds himself partnered with his best friend’s sister, Sela. He never forgot the amazing kiss they shared at the high school kissing booth, or the remark he was forced to utter in order to save face in front of his friends. When he starts feeling things for Sela he has no right to feel because she’s his best friend’s sister, Luke finds himself in a dilemma. 

    This is an entertaining read that will have you sighing with pleasure. It has laughter, passion, strong family relationships, compassion, romance, and will hold your attention from the first page to the last. If you like sweet romances that pluck at the heart strings, then this novel is for you.


    I received a copy of this book from Entangled Publishing
    in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sela Sullivan is determined to be the best maid of honor ever, e

    Sela Sullivan is determined to be the best maid of honor ever, even if it means tolerating the best man. Luke Watters is not only the guy who humiliated her at a kissing booth in high school, but he also happens to be her best friend’s older brother. Positive he’s the same arrogant jock, Sela vows to focus on her duties and steer clear of the sexy man. She even drops a wish into a well to make it so they spend as little time together as possible. As a world-renowned extreme-sports photographer, Luke is used to risking his life. But risking his heart? Never. Especially to someone who so clearly hates him. But the more time they spend together, the more he craves her. But can he prove to the maid of honor he’s become a man of honor?

    I fell in love with this book from the start. Quick wit, smooth writing, deft dialog, and lovable characters. The setting was great and the secondary characters were a wonderful addition. The plot was perfectly paced. The wishing well was just fabulous. The tension and snark between the hero and heroine was palpable and added apprehension and heat you can't ignore. The only downside was the internal conflict. Sela hated him for what he once did to her, and Luke had the typical can't commit mentality. External conflict was stronger. Neither deterred me from reading. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I absoultely loved this book! Once I started I could NOT put it

    I absoultely loved this book! Once I started I could NOT put it down. Sela and Luke are jsut too cute and very believable characters. Reminded of me and my husband :)

    Definitely recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet story about second chances.

    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet story about second chances. Sela and Luke are fantastic together – their interactions are full of both wit and tenderness. Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch (dot) wordpress (dot) com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Robin Bielman has delivered a sweet story that will have you cap

    Robin Bielman has delivered a sweet story that will have you captivated from the start. This heart-warming story has realistic characters, a great story line and is an easy read. Just when you think you know exactly what is going to happen next, there is just enough of a twist to leave you guessing again! Sela Sullivan and Luke Watters have amazing chemistry throughout the book that makes you cheer for them as they discover how to conquer the past and heal old wounds. Can two people with a not-so-great history find a way to forgive and forget for the sake of love and happiness? I loved this book from the first chapter and would recommend this book to any fan of sweet romance! I look forward to reading more books by Robin Bielman.

    Rating: 4

    Heat Rating: Sweet

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Review Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    A sweet contemporary romance with "closed door" love s

    A sweet contemporary romance with "closed door" love scenes. I was impressed with the story, how well written it was, with realistic characters the reader instantly connects with. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating:  4 1/2 stars With summer and wedding season just around

    Rating:  4 1/2 stars

    With summer and wedding season just around the corner, what better way to celebrate than by reading Robin's book.  It's one that you can get read in either one or two days - depending on how much time you have.  It's one that will have you reminiscing about a wedding you have participated in or gone to.

    The setting is Cascade, Oregon.  I couldn't find a town of Cascade per se but I did find a town called Cascade Locks, Oregon.  It sounds like a lovely place to visit - one I will have to add to my bucket list.

    This story takes you through the weeks leading up to Sela's friend, Vanessa's, wedding.  One interesting point in the story is the bachelor/bachelorette party which included a cake - this was a point in which I would have loved a picture.  This is where your imagination will have to come into play.

    It's a sexy story without having the actual sex act.  I can imagine this being turned into a Hallmark channel movie.  They do a lot of the romance movies without having sex but you don't always need to see it to know how much the couple enjoys each others company.  Sometimes movies give the viewers too much - when they don't, your own creativity comes into play where you can fill in the blanks yourself.

    This is one book that I would read again - especially once the series is over.  You can go back and read all the books one right after the other.  One hope I have is that Robin will go back and tell us Vanessa's story.  I want to know how she came to make her wish at the famous Cascade wishing well.

    This book would also make a great gift.  Maybe you are getting ready for your own wedding.  Not sure what to give your bride's maids?  Your own maid of honor?  If they love reading romances, why not give them the gift of this book.  Maybe get some cake ideas.  How can you go wrong?

    I was happy to see that this is a part of a series.  I tried to find out what book two will be about but I'm sorry to say that I couldn't find out anything.  For now we'll just have to be patient.  
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This was such a good book. Robin did such a good job. Sela like

    This was such a good book. Robin did such a good job. Sela like many other girls was hurt by a boy that she had a crush on. Luke like so many boys said things to get out of a sticky situation. How hard would it be if you were completely crushed by your best friends older brother? Sela has to decide if she can get over the awful things Luke said in high school. Luke must decide if he is ready to start a relationship that will mean him settling down when the adventurous life calls. I loved all of the characters and I hope that she follows it up with another family members story. Maybe Shane. 
    I wills definitely be reading other books by the authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, I was able to connect with the chara

    I really enjoyed this book, I was able to connect with the characters a little more than I have been able to in the last couple of romance novels that I have read. This is a story about Sela and Luke, they have agreed to be the maid of honour and best man at Luke's sister Vanessa's wedding. Now normally this would not be a big deal at all, however, there is a history between these two as Sela has been Vanessa's best friend since they were young, and there was an embarrassing episode that Sela has still not forgiven Luke for.




    Throughout the book we see them try and work together to make Vanessa's day perfect for her, and try to keep their distance otherwise until the wedding is over, so that they can both try and keep their sanity. Well, that does not seem to be the plan that the "fates" have in store for them, which really is bothering Sela because there is a famous wishing well in town, and when Vanessa's wish came true, she put a lot of faith in it, and made her own wish for Luke to stay away from her, and the exact opposite is happening.




    I really liked the flow of this book, and the way that you see their relationship start to repair, and then move on from there. I found it to be very realistic, and because there was the previous history between the two main characters, I did not get that insta-love feeling, and I thought that it was very well written, I would highly recommend this one for a nice summer beach read as it can definitely be read in one day while lazing by the water, overall rating is a 4/5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Kissing The Maid of Honor is a wonderful book. The sexual chemis

    Kissing The Maid of Honor is a wonderful book. The sexual chemistry between Sela and Like starts out at simmer and finishes with a burn the house down to cinders. Wedding stories always tug at my heartstrings and this one made me smile from cover to cover. Kudos to Robin on an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bielman nails it! This is my first book by Robin Bielman, who sa

    Bielman nails it! This is my first book by Robin Bielman, who says she's surrounded by boys. I want to strangle Luke because he doesn't think the way I want him to. Of course, this is the woman in me talking. And yet Luke is romantic and sweet and clueless about Sela's animosity toward him. Thank goodness for Bielman's boys!

    The conflict within Sela was obvious. At times she wants her pound of flesh, and at others she wants to live happily ever after. It's been close to ten years, and Sela is still  licking her wounds from Luke's offhand comment at the high school kissing booth. Yes, she's grown up, become a respected pediatric nurse, and lives in a Luke-free bubble in her hometown. But when Luke comes home for his sister's wedding, she is forced to interact with him. She many have grown up on the outside, but when it comes to Luke and the bruising her ego took all those years ago, she's still a confused teenager. This has shaped her past romantic relationships, causing her to question whether she's good enough. She still thinks people in town remember Luke's comment as vividly as she does. And yet, the only person who has not moved on is Sela--mostly for lack of closure. But it is something she must overcome if she is to move forward.

    Luke, however, is a changed man. His confidence is shaken, and for the first time in his life he is vulnerable. It is this vulnerability that helps him see Sela as something other than his kid sister's friend. Sela's compassionate nature and her competitiveness are what Luke needs to regain his confidence and face his fears. And during the course of their interactions and Sela's mixed signals, he recognizes that he owes her an apology.

    But there is more at play here than just making amends for the past. There are certain rules you just don't break, and making a play for your best friend's sister is one of them. Sela is also practically a member of his own family. Even his parents have threatened Luke if he hurts her. The interference of both Sela's and Luke's families is selfish, but their intentions are not. A town blog fed by avid busybodies keeps things light with the typical small-town rumor mill.

    I enjoyed how Bielman allows Sela to mature. Yes, she still harbors a crush on Luke while hating him at the same time. But as the book progresses, she slowly lets this go and begins to trust him even without an apology. And Luke slowly becomes aware that he needs to make amends with Sela if he ever hopes to move forward with her.

    Luke continues to infuriate because of his propensity to humiliate Sela throughout the story. He hasn't realized his reactions have consequences, especially with Sela's oversensitive attitude toward him. His ignorance of her feelings frustrates, but it is so wonderfully male that I can't fault the author for being honest. Both characters take a step backward in their progress because of a simple lack of communication with each other. But this again is so true of human nature. We react first to protect ourselves regardless of whether it is the mature thing to do.

    I recommend this book to anyone looking for a light romance with plenty of laughter and emotion. I intent to read more books by this author in the future.

    (I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was super adorable--practically read this in one sitting. A

    This was super adorable--practically read this in one sitting. Another couple with a history, AND siblings-of-best-friends novel. A win-win! I really liked both Sela and Luke, as characters and as a couple. They had some fun banter which I really enjoyed. It's the first in a series, apparently; I'm hoping book two will be about Shane, Sela's brother. (Or Erin, Luke's sister. Really, I'm on board for whomever book two is about. I really liked this one a lot.:)) Nothing groundbreaking or earth-shattering here; just a sweet and satisfying read. I'll definitely be reading more from this author.




    This ARC was provided to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2