Customer Reviews for

Kissing the Maid of Honor: A Secret Wishes Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true This

Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull o...
Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull on the heartstrings a little.

Sela and Luke were both wonderful easy to love realistic characters. Sela, a nurse is a homebird; she's kind, compassionate, caring, has never left her hometown and is determined to be the best Maid of Honour her best-friend Vanessa could wish for. Luke is her complete opposite: he's travelled the world as a sports photographer, enjoys the more extreme of sports and dates like-minded women. Not only is he Vanessa's big-brother, Sela's brother Shane's best-friend and the Best Man, he's also the guy who, ten years previously, declared to his team-mates that Sela, who had a huge high-school crush on him, `kissed like a corpse'. Needless to say there's a touch of dislike there, her hurt has never gone away, nor can she forgive him. But Luke has returned home with a secret and Sela works it out...

Even though I had an idea where the story was heading with the whole best man-maid of honour-who-can't-avoid-each-other scenario, there were lots of little surprises thrown in, the sparks flew between Sela and Luke and they complimented each other perfectly. I swooned over Luke, I smiled those little happy smiles at all the lovely heartwarming moments yet at times I wanted to shout at the pair of them to get their act together! There's plenty of build up and `almost moments' between them but when it comes down to the steamy stuff, it's all left to your imagination. And it has fabulous secondary characters who all are integral to the story.

This most definitely a book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and I hope Robin Bielman gives us further books in the series as I would love to see more of Shane, who brought humour pretty much every time he opened his mouth.

I received this book as an ARC from the publisher for an honest and unbiased opinion.

posted by Nicola_1202 on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slow and boring

This was a sweet romantic story but it bored me to death. It was painfully slow, full of details about the wedding preparations but then no details at all about the most romantic scenes. I am not looking for something too explicit, but this is a romance book so I want t...
This was a sweet romantic story but it bored me to death. It was painfully slow, full of details about the wedding preparations but then no details at all about the most romantic scenes. I am not looking for something too explicit, but this is a romance book so I want to read about the budding romance, their feelings and live experiences. I'd much rather read details about their first time together than pages and pages about how they wrap the wedding favors. Pity because the story could have been much better.

posted by EmmaGR on May 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true This

    Be careful what you wish for...they don't always come true

    This was a pleasure to read. Robin Bielman has given us a book that is written well, has a great storyline, characters who are endearing, humour, romance and heartwarming moments combined with those that pull on the heartstrings a little.

    Sela and Luke were both wonderful easy to love realistic characters. Sela, a nurse is a homebird; she's kind, compassionate, caring, has never left her hometown and is determined to be the best Maid of Honour her best-friend Vanessa could wish for. Luke is her complete opposite: he's travelled the world as a sports photographer, enjoys the more extreme of sports and dates like-minded women. Not only is he Vanessa's big-brother, Sela's brother Shane's best-friend and the Best Man, he's also the guy who, ten years previously, declared to his team-mates that Sela, who had a huge high-school crush on him, `kissed like a corpse'. Needless to say there's a touch of dislike there, her hurt has never gone away, nor can she forgive him. But Luke has returned home with a secret and Sela works it out...

    Even though I had an idea where the story was heading with the whole best man-maid of honour-who-can't-avoid-each-other scenario, there were lots of little surprises thrown in, the sparks flew between Sela and Luke and they complimented each other perfectly. I swooned over Luke, I smiled those little happy smiles at all the lovely heartwarming moments yet at times I wanted to shout at the pair of them to get their act together! There's plenty of build up and `almost moments' between them but when it comes down to the steamy stuff, it's all left to your imagination. And it has fabulous secondary characters who all are integral to the story.

    This most definitely a book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and I hope Robin Bielman gives us further books in the series as I would love to see more of Shane, who brought humour pretty much every time he opened his mouth.

    I received this book as an ARC from the publisher for an honest and unbiased opinion.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Really enjoyed this! I had not read this author before and was

    Really enjoyed this! I had not read this author before and was very impressed. It was well-written and a great love story! I will definitely look for more from this author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet story about past mistakes,

    Kissing the Maid of Honor is a sweet story about past mistakes, forgiveness, change, and how even something you do as a kid can influence how you grow up. I felt personally connected to the story and its characters because the plot is relatable and sincere. The characters are flawed and all the more real for it. Luke is funny, deliciously sexy, and such a great match for Sela. I would be more than happy to nurse and comfort Luke :-p Sela is a caring person with so much to give and personal obstacles to overcome. The supporting characters, like Vanessa and Shane, gave the story depth and assisted in transitions well. Their characters had clearly defined personalities that sparked my interest. Particularly the interaction between Shane and a certain waitress (gotta love the hard to get girls). Once more I was really impressed by Robin’s writing and how she weaves her stories into such a fulfilling package. I felt like I did more than read a book. I had an experience. Don’t miss out on yours! I can’t wait to see what Robin has in store for us next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Robin Bielman has become an auto-read author for me. I know that

    Robin Bielman has become an auto-read author for me. I know that with her books I will get a lot of emotion from her characters and a heartwarming story. The plot in Kissing the Maid of Honor is well constructed and the set-up of characters for more books in the series is done very well. Sela and Luke are characters the reader can relate to and support.  Sometimes I tend to pick a side - hero vs. heroine, but in this story I was really rooting for both them. The romance throughout the story was slow to build which made it even better when they did finally give in and go for it.

    One of the things I like about Bliss books is that they are very clean romances.  There is implied intimacy, but no descriptions.  Thus, all the passion and love the characters show is done outside the bedroom and Robin shows this very well. There are just enough kisses, touches, looks, and words that draw you in as a reader to help you understand the deep feelings Luke and Sela have for one another. While I do like to read hot and steamy books I also like to balance those out with sweet books like Kissing the Maid of Honor.

    There were many times throughout the story that I assumed a plot line was going to go a specific way, but it didn't.  I like to be surprised, even in contemporary romances when you know the hero is going to get the heroine and live happily ever after. The twists in this book were true to the characters of the story, so while I was surprised, it was not out of character for Luke or Sela to respond a certain way. In keeping true to characters, one aspect of the book that made the story feel more realistic, was when Vanessa worried that Luke and Sela getting together would equal unwanted drama for her wedding. I think every bride would feel like this even if they don't want to admit it.  Because, really, when you are the bride, it is YOUR day. You don't want unnecessary drama, so I thought that honesty from Vanessa brought some realism into a fictional story. As for the other characters, I enjoyed Shane (Sela's brother) and Erin (Luke's sister) a lot. Shane seems like a wild one and I look forward to reading about him in the next story.

    It is hard to convey everything I liked about Kissing the Maid of Honor without giving away spoilers. You just need to read it for yourself and experience the laughter and tears that Luke and Sela go through in finding their happy ever after. If you are looking for a clean, classy, contemporary romance, I highly recommend you try Kissing the Maid of Honor!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    What an excellent read, I could not put it down, It has some gre

    What an excellent read, I could not put it down, It has some great one liners with lots of sarcasm. It would be great to see if
    Robin Bielman continues the series and we see what happens to Shane, also another great character and how Luke and Sela are getting on.
    I highly recommend this book it is an absolute page turner and should not be missed.  I'm afraid if you want to know the full story, you will just have to read the book. No Spoilers here!



    The author has definitely excelled herself here, lets hope the story continues. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Another Cute and Quirky!!

    Another short book by Robin Bielman... I enjoy her writing very much... Characters are real people and her story lines are all a little different... I find myself searching for her books... I like short stories as well as full length books... Ms Bielman has a clever writing style and a great sense of humor in her writing... I will continue looking for her offerings which I find very enjoyable...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!  The story and characters progressed perfectly.  The

    I loved it!  The story and characters progressed perfectly.  The story just flowed.  Details were there without being too much. I felt like I was there watching everything unfold :)  It was great!  Forgiveness and second chances was the theme between main characters Sela and Luke.  Now that they are in the same wedding together, there's time for Luke to apologize for the wrong he caused Sela, 10 years ago, in high school but is she willing to listen?  This is my first book by Robin Bielman and I can't wait to read more!  It is a smooth, feel good, Contemporary Romance and PERFECT for Summer days by the pool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Awesome sweet read!!! I loved this book as it made me wax nosta

    Awesome sweet read!!! I loved this book as it made me wax nostalgic for my wedding days. You will root for the characters' romance from the start. The author, Robin Bielman, weaves her words with perfection. Her images are vivid and so easy to digest. I loved seeing past resentment turn to trust, passion and, eventually, all-consuming love. This was the perfect read for the Memorial day weekend!!!! I know you will savor this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This was a great and sweet story to read. This was my first read

    This was a great and sweet story to read. This was my first read of Ms. Bielman’s work and I’ll say it was amazing.

    Sela Sullivan has had a crush on her best friend’s older brother and her own brother’s best friend, Luke, for years. After a humiliating event that took place during their high school years, Sela had vowed never to be in associations with Luke ever again, that is until she found out she was paired up with him as maid of honor and him as the best man at her best friend’s wedding. Vowing to be on her best behavior her vow to stay away from Luke-emotionally- was going to be a piece of cake-or a disaster.

    Luke had finally came back home after years away making a name for himself. When he first arrive back home he didn’t even notice that the beautiful young lady amidst his family was the same little sister of his best friend. Harboring his own secrets and demons it was hard for him to hide it from Sela’s knowing and trusting gaze. As unknown feelings began to cloud his responsibilities as best man and best friend, will Sela be the one to bring him home for good?

    I was hooked from the start of the story till the end. Although towards the middle I got frustrated, but in a good way, and I loved the story.

    I enjoyed seeing Sela try to keep herself sane by keeping her mind occupied with anything else but Luke. And her trying to be the best maid of honor her best friend will ever have even if it means she’ll have to spend time with Luke; she’ll suffer through it. I like her spunk and rational mind of keeping distance from Luke and always thinking of what’s best for her best friend and the wedding. She has a responsible tendency and caring factor that she carries with her throughout the story which I loved and worked very well with her personality.

    Luke on the other hand was a great character. From the gecko he knew it was Sela in his parent’s kitchen he knew where he was to stand on their relationship, being best friends with her brother and all. But he couldn’t help but remember their shared kiss and the humiliating end he brought to it upon her in high school. He regretted humiliating her but he couldn’t bring himself to admit that she was an amazing kisser in front of her brother! And he knew he had to apologize before he had to leave again after the wedding. Yet every time he spent with Sela was like sun shine to his cloudy day and didn’t realized he missed home until Sela came into his life again.

    This was a fun fast paced read and Robin did a great job taking you through their history and obstacles to get them to their HEA.

    This ARC was provided by Entangled Publishing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Love love love this book! the character development is so romant

    Love love love this book! the character development is so romantic. I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    I loved this book from the start. Having my own experience with

    I loved this book from the start.
    Having my own experience with wishing wells I know I would start by wishing I lived in the same kind of small town as Cascade and got to meet a guy like Luke.
    I hope this is the start of a series because I'd love to read Shane's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    I give Robin Bielman¿s Kissing the Maid of Honor 5 stars!! What

    I give Robin Bielman’s Kissing the Maid of Honor 5 stars!! What girl doesn’t have that unrequited love from high school who still enters their thoughts years down the road? Sela certainly does, but it leaves a bitter taste in her mouth from her crush humiliating her in public ten years earlier. But what is a girl supposed to do when she is thrown together with him because it’s her best friend’s wedding, and the guy just happens to be her best friend’s brother? Avoid him at all costs. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately), that is not a possibility. For either of them. Luke has had fantasies of Sela, but could never admit to them since she was his best friend’s little sister. What is a man to do when the young girl that took him by surprise with their fireworks of a kiss ten years ago turns out to be sexy, compassionate, and fiery? Staying away is the easiest thing to do. Or the absolute hardest.
    I fell in love with both Sela and Luke, but more importantly, Sela and Luke together. Robin does a fantastic job of capturing their passion for each other as well as the reality that they cannot be together because of their different lifestyles. You can also feel the turmoil between each of them because of their last encounter in high school that left them on nonspeaking terms, until they are forced together as Best Man and Maid of Honor. This book flowed well, the writing incredible,  and I enjoyed every single second of reading it.




    Thank you Robin for Luke and Sela’s story!!




    *I received an ARC for my honest review and this is my honest to goodness, straight from the heart review!*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Very good read!! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Great True Love Story......Sela is in her Best Friend's Wedding

    Great True Love Story......Sela is in her Best Friend's Wedding and Oh Brother!!!....she will be standing up with Luke....her long time crush. Robin Bielman....does a great job telling the romance of Sela and Luke. Keeps you wanting more. Can't wait for book #2....Her Accidental Boyfriend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    Amazing story! Loved it!

    I moved every minute of this book. Great story about true love and over coming past wrongs,letting go of the past and moving forward. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    This is the first time I've read a Robin Bielman book and I abso

    This is the first time I've read a Robin Bielman book and I absolutely loved it.  She is a great contemporary romance writer, really knows how to weave a beautiful love story.  I'm so glad she doesn't all the graphic sex scenes in her book.  She is now one of my top 5 favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    **Review found on Redheads Reviews it Better** Robin is a new t

    **Review found on Redheads Reviews it Better**

    Robin is a new to me author. After reading the blurb (yes I actually read one this time ;) ) it looked like something I would thoroughly enjoy.
     I'm going to changed things up a bit and break this down by characters, plot, and my overall opinion of the book. 

    ~Characters - The characters in this story stood out in a good way to me. We have Sela, who is a caring nurse by day but also writes an
    advice column anonymously. I love that she does that. I really couldn't tell you why other than I like that she has a passion writing. And
    Sela was just plain loveable. I would love to have someone like that as a best friend. And Luke-he jumped off the pages as this confident,
     successful, handsome guy that I wanted for my own. And his vulnerable side I loved so much! Between that and his personality, it was
    hard not to love the guy. And the secondary characters rocked. I can't wait to read the next two in the series with Shane and Erin.
    Especially Shane. He was all sorts of YUMMY. And Erin seems like she could have an adorable vulnerable side. Guess I'll have to wait
    and see!

    ~Plot - I love the storylines that involve best friend's siblings hooking up. It's one of my favorites. I guess watching their love unfold,
    especially if they have known each other for a while, is beyond wonderful for me to read. The story itself was great and even felt like an
    additional character all on it's own. Sibling falls for best friend. Those are always a good read. I do wish there was more spice when they
    finally get together but I also felt like it didn't take away from the story in the least.

    ~Overall Opinion - I LOVED this book. And I'm going to assume this series even though I haven't read the other two books yet. I'm just
    basing this on how much I loved the characters and just plain enjoyed this one. I read it in one sitting, ignored my kids and house chores.
     (And any excuse not to clean is fine by me.) Better believe I'm going to get the next two and get started on those soon. I'm adding this
    series onto my list of ones to follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    This book take me to my HAPPY Place!  Simply a lovely, contempor

    This book take me to my HAPPY Place!  Simply a lovely, contemporary romance...


    After I'd read HER ACCIDENTAL BOYFRIEND, the 2nd book in Robin Bielman's Secret Wishes series, I immediately purchased this 1st book. I finally got to read it! 




    OMG! It's absolutely a FABULOUS (note all the capitals!) read! I loved every single page and I didn't want it to ever end.




    Since I finished it, I've actually gone back to it a few times just to re-read parts as the book gives me a happy high! This is a story I can see myself reading over and over. 




    Years ago, Sela had a crush on Luke, her brother's best friend AND the brother of her own best friend. With those connections, Luke should have been off-limits relationship-wise anyway, but her feelings for him were publicly and embarrassingly squashed when he ruined her reputation by proclaiming after a shared kiss at their small town fair's kissing booth that he'd had better kisses from a corpse.




    Now, Sela Sullivan is the Maid of Honor for her long-time best friend and Luke Watters is the best man at the same wedding. As the story begins, she is asking the town's wishing well to help her survive seeing Luke again so her best friend will have the best wedding and Sela can be the best Maid of Honor ever. We get to enjoy how that works out!




    This is an absolutely lovely contemporary romance with a bit of HEAT... just the right combo.




    AWESOME Read!




    5 STARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    I've read her novellas, but this is the first full-length novel

    I've read her novellas, but this is the first full-length novel I've read. Count me a fan of everything Robin Bielman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First off, I thought this story was sweet. I adore Sela and Luke

    First off, I thought this story was sweet. I adore Sela and Luke. I think they were so cute together. I love how they were really going against the odds here. Here's why: Sela is best friend's with Luke's younger sister and Luke is best friend's Sela's older brother. Let's be honest there are so many friend codes that are being broken with these two coming together. But hey, how can you stop love? 
    Honestly, this is a feel good book. Something sappy and happy that will brighten anyones day. I love how they both try to keep each other at arms length, but that just doesn't work. Plus, you gotta love a small town setting where everybody knows your name and business. 
    I'm serious, when I say this is a feel good book it's a feel good book. This would be the essence of pure romance sweet and simple. Sometimes I love that and the Bliss line truly knows how to bring it. So, if you are looking for a romance that is pure, I would say grab yourself a copy of Kissing the Maid of Honor. I'm sure you will have that feel good feeling after your read this. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2