Customer Reviews for

The Kitchen Boy: A Novel of the Last Tsar

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    By Far the Best Book I Have Ever Read

    This was defenitely the best book I have ever read. It was a perfect blend of fact and fiction, and it was beautifully researched. At first I wasn't sure if I was going to like it. When I bought it, I thought it would be really light and some Romanov 'what-if' fluffy fantasy. But I was wrong. This took me about a week to read as the text was very small. The way Alexander spins the story is incredible. The story is in the point of view of of ninety-four year old Misha, who is living in a huge estate on Lake Michigan and waiting to die. His wife, May, is two weeks in the grave, and Misha is facing serious inner torment, which he has felt for over eighty years. On a series of recorded tapes made for his granddaughter and heir Kate, he explains the last days of the Romanovs and that he was really the kitchen boy. As those last days in Siberia unfold, Misha reminisces of the family that so quickly ceased to exist and his part in their downfall. By the end, Misha has unvailed the his truth. The end is very confusing, but a reread or two will make it make sense. Overall, this was an amazing book. It was so well written in its simplicity. This is one of those books that everyone should read. Praise for Robert Alexander's The Kitchen Boy!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    The Kitchen Boy is dramatic with a surprising ending.

    The story catches your attention right away. The historical facts are presented in a very interesting plot with amazing insignts to the day-to-day trials of Tsar Nicholas and his family. I enjoyed reading this book, and will recommend it ot all my friends.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    best book i ever read

    this truly was amazing it was riveting it literally had me putting together a million different endings! a must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought I knew how this was going to end---I didn't!

    I'm a fan of the Romanov period in history. I picked up this book because of the cover.
    This book was an easy read, and I thought I knew what was going to happen. But I was wrong. I did not see the ending coming.

    For another book with a surprise ending, see Pat Conroy's South of Broad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Leaves You Begging For More

    The Kitchen Boy is amazing, absolutely amazing! It's the story about when the Russian Imperial family was thrown into exile some of their servants from the palace camewith them, willingly. But along with the Empress's maid, the Tsar's footman, the Tsarevich's doctor, and the cook came a little boy named Leonka who has never been in close contact with let alone in the same boy as the Romanovs. He does though become friends with the young royal prince Aleksei as he starts to earn the trust of the entire family things become more dangerous as the Kommandant starts to grow suspicious could Leonka become one buried with the Romanovs?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Well written story

    The book builds to a strong final life journey.
    Highly suggest reading after ken follitts fall of giants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Gilly willy

    Best book ever you won't belive how good this book is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Great book!

    I love Russian imperial history...so this is my kind of book. I love it and highly recommend. It's was a page turner and hard to put down. I thought I had it all figured out towards the end of the book but there was a surpriseni didn't see coming.....I love novels like that. I can't wait to read the other two novels by Alexander, rasputin's daughter and the Romanov Bride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love This Book

    I am someone who loves all things Russian - from the history, to the language, to the culture to the music. One of the most intriguing stories in Russian history is that of Tsar Nicholas II and his family. While "The Kitchen Boy" is a fictional story, it draws on historical fact to pull the reader into a tale that you will find you are wishing were true. I was completely engrossed in the story and could not put this book down. I had to keep reminding myself that the story was fiction based on fact - that is how spellbound I was. Whether or not you are familiar with the story of the last Tsar and his family, you will enjoy this book. Well written, historically accurate and a real page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I ever read.

    Even though you know the truth of the story, this book is so well written that it makes for engrossing reading. Do not put this book aside when you are halfway through and think you know the ending. Believe me....just don't do it.

    Truly one of the best books I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I loved this book!

    It may not seem like much in the beggining but it gets to be amazing! It just captured me. It was a story with not the best ending, but overall I thought it was phonomenal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! It has tons of historical information on the Romanovs, Russia, and World War 1. I enjoyed reading every chapter. I simply couldn't put The Kitchen Boy down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Awesome Book - 10/10 stars

    I LOVED this book! It was so interesting, although it got confusing towards the end. This is still one of those books that everyone needs to read before they die, though! I had never heard of Nicholas and Alexandria before, but after reading the book, I felt as if I had met them myself, and I was Leonka. An Excellent Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Excellent Book Club Choice

    My book club selected 'The Kitchen Boy' and thoroughly enjoyed it. Robert Alexander did a phenomenal job of weaving mystery and history together to create a book that can't be put down until the last page is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Heartbreaking...

    I came upon this book at the barnes and noble discount table. The decision to buy it was one of the best that i have made in a long time. This novel was simple in terms of writing style however, the cunning twists that were put into the plot made it a really good read. I personally love the history of Russia and in particular the Romanovs and i love how this book highlighted Maria Nikolaevna Romanov instead of Anastasia. I highly reccomend. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Great Read, Hard to put Down

    I really enjoyed this book, especially the Russian Revolutionary time period. Not only did it help to personalize the Tzar and his family, you felt you were living through it yourself. I would highly recommend this book. When I got to the last chapter I could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Great plot, great characters,great book!

    This book is excellent, very well planned plot, pretty good characters, and even though it changes the way history set it to be, it is a book that couold be enjoyed by anyone. I personally couldn't put it down, a most read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Great Book

    One of the best books I've read in a long time. Makes you feel like you are there with the Romanovs. And, yes, the ending is a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    I coudn't stop reading

    Even though it was fictional, you could believe that it could have happned that way. The ending to me was a complete surprise. I thought I had it figured out, but I was wrong. This is absolutly an easy fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Lovingly weaved the words of the Romanov's Last Days

    At first, I was sceptical of a historical fiction novel about the Romanov's-- expecting it to run as amok as the movie, Anastasia. It proved me wrong on each page, and kept me engrossed it the novel. The author portrayed each character as they were- based from historical evidence, but managed to show the human triumphs and falls throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3