Customer Reviews for

The Kitchen God's Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    wonderfully written

    This book is about a distant mother daughter relationship and how one story brought them closer together. Winnie¿s story created a better understanding of her hardships to America and that she fully remembers all the events in her life. She encountered one bad fate after another and had the courage to leave her bad marriage and go to America. Most of the book is about her story and she shares the secrets with her daughter Pearl. The book contains a lot about Chinese culture and the lifestyle in China. The story starts off showing the relationship between the mother and daughter. As the story progresses, Winnie finally tells her secret because of her friend Helen, who threaten to tell Pearl. Winnie encountered war, married a bad husband, and lost her children through many sad events. She lived through so much pain and suffering. Because of the secret, the mother and daughter relationship became closer and they understood each other more. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand more of the Chinese culture. Amy Tan¿s novels are very outstanding. After reading this novel, you just want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    Fabulous

    This is the first book I ever read by Amy Tan and it's still my favorite out of all her other books. It's beautiful, lyrical text explores the life of a traditional chinese woman who has had a rough life and a good share of life's bad luck and sadness. I find it outstanding and would recommend all to read it. It flings out life's lessons while giving an entertaining story that is deep and will touch your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    It Deserves 10 Stars

    Winnie, is a remarkable character who is able to staunchly move forward with all the struggles and turmoil in her life. She is a tangible lifelike character and when done with the book you want to read it again and again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    decent book

    this was a interesting book in my opion.it showed a good lesson about courage and self-determination. it makes you think about how lucky we are not to be in that type of situation. it even changes narrators throughout the story and that was very interestiong to me. it showes hard and difficult times for the mother and some things that happen to her still happen today. this book also had a lot about chinese culture and things that they do in their household. all in all i thought this book was pretty good, i learned a lot more than i thought i would while reading this book. I would reccomend this book to anyone who likes to read about different cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    This novel had good points.. but..

    I think Amy Tan did a great job writing this novel. She did a good job narrating the story, but I don¿t think this novel was mean for male readers. It had a good lesson too it, but I think it would have a bigger affect of female reader. This book can be emotional but again... it was meant for female readers. This novel did have good points and maybe from reader can take advice from me. But this novel was not for me. I would recommend this to any female.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Self discovery

    The Kitchen God's wife is a good book.It is a book that deals with self discovery,coming togehter and departing of the past.The book is about a family coming together for a cousin's engagment party and an Aunt's funeral.The book focuses on two main women.The women are mother(winnie) and daughter(pearl).They have secrets that they are keeping from each other.The engagment party and a 'favorite' aunt brings them together tell each other their secrets that they have been hinding.It is a wonderful book and I enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Great Read

    Best Amy Tan book I've read (and I've read them all). Precise, lyrical language, flows with a rhythmic beauty, full of poetry. Provides ample tenderness and grand insights into the central mother-daughter relationship. Will move you. Simply unlike anything else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    I LIKE THIS BOOK

    THIS BOOK WAS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I READ. I LIKED THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT HAD ALOTOF INFORMATION ABOUT THE CHINESE CULTURE. THE STORY IN THIS BOOK ALSO WAS WRITTEN IN A SIMPLE WAY THAT MADE IT VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND TO ALMOST EVERYBODY.ADDITIONALLY, THE EVENTS IN THIS BOOK ARE EASY TO FOLLOW. FINALLY, I THINK THAT EVERYBODY SHOULD READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT IS ABOUT VERY INTERESTING STORY THAT HAS ALOT TO LEARN ABOUT THE CHINESE CULTURE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Maturing reader loves book

    I loved the moral that the writer tried to portray to the readers in this book. Mother and daughter both have secrets and the truth finally comes out by a little help from Aunt Helen. The mother suffered so many hardships during the World War II times in China. Her troubles are only made worse by her evil husband and losing two precious babies and miscarrying several more. This book, although mainly drama, incorparates comedy throughout to keep the main character sane. I would recommend this book to any maturing reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    an interesting read

    This book was an interesting read, I'd have to agree with many other reviewers that this book has a wonderful lesson about courage, determination, and love for one's own self. The main character is an inspiring character who shows us what sort of horrible things go on about that we often try to pretend don't happen, showing us how someone can make it through such tough times when many would think it unpossible, yet the truth is that we can make it through. It's not lengthy, it's not a very complicated read comprehensivly, it is full of the Chinese culture which many might find quite interesting as I did to learn about another country and their ways and traditions, the author has written this well so the reader becomes quite a part of the story, many times i felt that i was there, seeing these things, feeling all of the strong emotions in the book, I reccomend this book to almost anyone except those who are afraid of graphic depictions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    this is a wonderful book

    I really enjoyed this book. There were so many details about how it was to live in China during the war. It is a great story of a strong women that will not give up. She puts her life in danger to protect her children. This book was very interesting and I reccomend that everyone that likes twisted stories read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Wonderful book

    The Kitchen God's Wife is an amazing story. One thing that I really liked was the fact that the story was actually somewhat based on a true story. The Kitchen God's Wife moves at a pretty good pace. Amy Tan keeps you turning the pages as you read. The characters are so real that you can feel their every thought and emotion. You will find both exciting moments and many sad moments throughout this novel. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn a little about the Chinese culture and mother-daughter relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    a great book

    I think this book was very well written. By the end of the book I felt that I had actually been through what winnie went through. This book also teaches you a lot about the Chinessee culture. The only reason I did not give this book five stars is because every once in a while it will start to drag but it quickly picks back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    This was a very good book.

    The Kitchen God's wife is full of powerful lessons for women of our time. The author enabled us to walk with the main character throughout her entire life the good and the bad until we came to a beautiful ending. I believe that this book would be helpful for all women but especially for women in or coming out of an abusive relationship. Maybe by reading this book they could gain courage and respect for themselves and see that all it takes is determination and self love to make it through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    A great Asian book to read

    The Kitchen God's Wife is a remarkable story. The book makes you want to read pages after pages. It is exciting to want to know what happens next. It has some humor and a lifting story. It is about a asian woman that fight for freedom and a strong well to live. It is also about love and families terriable secret they hide. This book makes you think about life, how we American got it made we have freedom to chose. The kitchens God's Wife it is a story that everyone should read. It teaches about life in China and teaches you about the asian culture how it was different as today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    This book is a Great book.

    I loved this book. It was like a soap opera its like you new what was going on even when the main character didn't. I wish there was a time when Winnie could have knocked the mess out of Wen Fu. But, I did like the times when she did stand up to him and called him a coward. But anyways, I would recommend this book to every new reader because it will make you wanna read more and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    very good book!

    I truly recommend this book for a young and old woman because it is very encouraging for if you have been through something or if you have not I say if you have not because one day you will I do not believe that you can go through life with any problems I will love to read another of Amy Tan's book because this was a good one and if you like this book you will like their eyes were watching God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    THE BEST BOOK I'V EVER READ!

    I loved this book so much. This was the best book I have ever read. The Kitchen God's Wife is filled with real life situations. I can relate to a lot of things in this book. I think Any Tan is a brilliant woman. It is amazing how she attracts Americans of all backgrounds. I would recommend this book to anyone. Any Tan is a very gifted storyteller. I think I will read another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    A Great Read, I could not put it down!

    I don't often get swept away as I did by this book. Ms Tan succeeded in keeping my full attention to the very last page. Many times I start one book, then another, etc. But not so here. I was riveted. I now want to rush out and get more of her work. Unfortunately, I have not read Joy Luck Club, but after reading this book, I now want to savor that one even though I viewed the movie..it has to be a fabulous read. What I especially liked about the Kitchen God's Wife was her amazing ability to create an environment so fully that I could see, smell, hear and experience another whole culture in another whole time. Then the main character's processing was just as engaging. Truly a gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    another great one

    i loved this book but it was extremly depressing at times. it was still amazing and entertaining and had a somewhat happy ending. i'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys amy tans work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6