Customer Reviews for

The Kitchen House

Average Rating 4.5
( 1024 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(597)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

An incredible story with characters you will love and never forget.

I purchased this book Friday night on my way home from work. I am usually a chapter a night reader; I started The Kitchen House Friday at midnight and read till 4:30am:
I was awake at 8:30 and finish it.

Grissom's writing creates such a colorful picture that you f...
I purchased this book Friday night on my way home from work. I am usually a chapter a night reader; I started The Kitchen House Friday at midnight and read till 4:30am:
I was awake at 8:30 and finish it.

Grissom's writing creates such a colorful picture that you find yourself transported back in time. The characters are not just on the page, but are with you in such a way that you experience what they are experiencing. This is not a book that you merely read and put down, it stays with you. Papa George, Mama May, Belle and the host of other inhabitants of Tall Oaks pull you into their world and keep you hooked till the end.

Though I normally don't read historical fiction I was brought in by it's haunting cover and after reading the prologue I couldn't put it down. I LOVED this book!

posted by readtillyoudrop on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Entirely too Maudlin

This novel could have been quite captivating and absorbing if it weren't maudlin. And the writing style seemed a bit amateurish. All in all, a disappointment.

posted by mandomama on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1028 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    An incredible story with characters you will love and never forget.

    I purchased this book Friday night on my way home from work. I am usually a chapter a night reader; I started The Kitchen House Friday at midnight and read till 4:30am:
    I was awake at 8:30 and finish it.

    Grissom's writing creates such a colorful picture that you find yourself transported back in time. The characters are not just on the page, but are with you in such a way that you experience what they are experiencing. This is not a book that you merely read and put down, it stays with you. Papa George, Mama May, Belle and the host of other inhabitants of Tall Oaks pull you into their world and keep you hooked till the end.

    Though I normally don't read historical fiction I was brought in by it's haunting cover and after reading the prologue I couldn't put it down. I LOVED this book!

    46 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Historical Read

    This story starts out with the prologue narrated by Lavinia. It depicts a horrible scene of a hanging. We know something bad has happened but we don't know why or to whom. The story then begins with Lavinia and Belle narrating alternating chapters. Lavinia is the young Irish girl who is orphaned on her family's journey to America and is taken in as an indentured servant by the ship's captain. Belle is a slave on the captain's plantation who also happens to be the daughter of the captain. Lavinia is sent to the kitchen house to be taken care of until the time that she can be of service. Lavinia becomes part of the family of Mama Mae, Papa George, Beattie, Fanny and Belle. The captain's family is pretty dysfunctional and plays a huge role in the lives of Lavinia and Belle. Lavinia eventually finds herself torn between two families and places in society. I like how the chapters alternate between Lavinia and Belle. The story flows beautifully between the two narrators. There is a lot going on in this book and I don't want to give the story line away. I think it is a story you have to experience and be surprised by. Trust me! It is a great story! There are times the story gets uncomfortable which makes it much more realistic feel than other books about the antebellum period. I could actually feel the fear of the characters at times. Once you get involved in the story of Lavinia and Belle you will not want to put this book down. I enjoyed this book very much and I highly recommend it. Don't read it too fast. You don't want to miss one morsel of this book. Kathleen Grissom does a fantastic job telling the story of The Kitchen House. I can't wait to read what she comes up with next!

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    Gritty, raw, powerful, passionate love story about human kind. The best historical fiction read I have ever had the pleasure of reading. This book is sure to become a classic.

    This book will change the way we think and act. Soulful, loving and historicaly accurate masterpeice. I can't wait to pass this down.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    This is a wonderful book. I bought it and could not put it down until it was finished! It has a strong antebellum theme. The character development is full and the story moves at a nice pace. I would recommend this book for anyone. I love historical novels because you always learn and appreciate the people and the culture from that time period. The author researched this era extensively and it shows. Several times in the novel I had a hard time reading it because it was so real and true to the time period. This is one of those books that you wish you could pull the characters from your mind and meet them personally. This is a great read, one that you will not be sorry that you started! I sure hope the author writes a conclusion to this novel, I want to see what happens to Jamie and Sukey! Please.....

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling and unforgettable!

    Lavinia, a seven-year-old Irish orphaned girl, after her parents die on board ship, with a past so traumatic she is unable to remember it. She is placed as an indentured servant with black slaves in the kitchen house of a plantation around 1800. They become her parents, her family.
    Love, survival, friendship and loss will captivate you and the wonderful characters will remain in your heart long after reading it!

    Another Compelling and unforgettable one I'd like to recommend is EXPLOSION IN PARIS.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Well worth the time to read

    This book was compared by some to "The Help," of which I have also read, and quite frankly, the only similarity between the two is the fact that both have main characters who come from different racial backgrounds -- that's it. Both books are well written and are worthy of reading. They are engaging and often times insightful. To compare the two books is like comparing apples to oranges, and I believe it does both authors an injustice. These books stand on their own and need no comparison. Read and enjoy.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    An Engaging and Interesting Story

    After beginning this book about a family with slaves in the late 18th century, I read it any time I had a spare minute. I found it interesting and gripping as I became involved with the lives of several families. I have recommended it to several of my friends and they also found it difficult to put down.
    In the future I will definitely look for other books by this author. I think this would be a good selection for a book club as it has several themes that could be discussed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ!!

    Listened to the audio format...such a great story! READ IT OR LISTEN~ the narrations were perfect, I just couldnt stop listening, really an amazing story. Wish I could find more books like this. Cant wait to see what she comes out with next... Dont miss this one!! :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I loved this book!

    I learned so much history and the flavor of the old south during slavery, and how the slave owners of plantations and families can be in as much turmoil as the slave family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Sooooooo good

    U really must read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entirely too Maudlin

    This novel could have been quite captivating and absorbing if it weren't maudlin. And the writing style seemed a bit amateurish. All in all, a disappointment.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Happy I read this one...

    This was a heavy read, but I really enjoyed it. It was really interesting to read a slave story from this fresh perspective. Seeing the story through the lens of a young, white indentured servant was something much different that I have seen before, and I found that refreshing in an odd way. It does hit you time and time again with one tragedy after another, so I wish there had been more to make us feel like there was reason for hope...but it's a piece of historical fiction that seems well-researched. Those who are from the south (specifically Virginia) or who have visited Colonial Williamsburg will particularly appreciate it. Worth reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    historical novel...great read

    This has a great story and mixes history in with fiction beautifully. You love and hate characters...cry and laugh as the story unfolds.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    For the first 150 pages you will not want to put it down....

    it's the kind of novel that is written with such great care to detail that you feel you are at the plantation Tall Oaks and you know the characters personally. You can't wait to see what happens next, then...the title character, Lavinia, gets older. She becomes irritating with her "I just can't believe I didn't realize..." half-wit response to things happening right in front of her. Everyone else realizes it, but not poor, weak-minded Lavinia. But when that little bulb DOES go off and she just can't seem to be able to handle the truth of the situations, she has to retire to her bedroom, self-medicating with morphine & you are left wanting to scream "ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME!? YOU & YOUR SCUMBAG HUSBAND OWN HUMAN BEINGS THAT HE BRUTALIZES, MENTALLY & PHYSICALLY, ON A DAILY BASIS & YOU FEEL THE NEED TO RETREAT!!?" One of the slaves put it best when she complained to another slave & more or less said that she couldn't believe that a FREE white woman was carrying on so much when she had so much to be glad about while the slave being brutally raped by the husband AND giving birth to his children still managed to see the beauty in life. I'm on page 260 of 360 & had to stop reading to write this I am getting so irritatingly PISSED!! The Author has about 100 more pages to turn Lavinia into something more than a weak, spineless, idiot of a young woman that stands around wringing her hands, crying (literally...A LOT!!!) about HER miserable circumstances whilst being served dinner by a slave girl with a black & blue face from the previous night's boxing match with the husband. I don't have high hopes here. Pathetic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great Read

    This book told a beautiful story with great historical background about the resilience and survival of strong women against horrific odds. The characters were well developed and the story was thoroughly engaging from start to finish. One of the other readers in my group said: "I hated when it was over; I still wanted more." This is the ultimate tribute in my view.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Average easy read

    The first half of the book was going in the right direction but there were signs of poor story telling skills. The famous she said, he said and the other one said left me shaking my head. Somewhere in the middle the writting was leaving possible epic to cheap novel romance. The ending chapters felt rushed as if it was a different writer. This could have been so much better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Amazing

    This has to be one of the best books I've read this year. Rarely do I get so absorbed in a book that I can't put it down. This book however sucked me in! This book is not for the faint of heart. It is deep, emotional, sobering, and heartfelt. There has to be a movie! There has to be!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Loved this book

    I ejoyed this book. Going to be one of my favorites.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Kitchen House.

    Characters are well written I fell in love with them. I loved this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down

    This was a wonderful first novel. I purchsed the ebook format for my Nook and read the story in 12 hours I couldn't put it down. You get drawn into the story from the beginning and the twists don't stop until the end. Loved it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1028 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52