Customer Reviews for

Kitchen Table Wisdom: Stories That Heal

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    From a therapist's viewpoint--Not your everyday inspirational book--

    This isn't your everyday sappy inspirational story book. The vingettes are real and heartwarming. I have worked with cancer patients who have told me that this book offers more than just inspiration; it offers attitude alternatives. The stories and anecdotes in the book show how people in all walks of life from all backgrounds and of all ages, colors, and races deal with the cards they are dealt.

    Although this book is not intended as a substitute for therapy or mental health counseling, it does afford the reader a thoughtful, common sense approach for dealing with life's difficulties. It's almost like sitting around the kitchen table with trusted family and long-time friends and trading stories which hold courage and perserverence at their core. I recommend this book to patients and clients (and their families) who face mental, emotional, or physical adversities. I believe that this is the best book of its kind on the market.

    Cherie Renfrow Starry
    Private Practice Counselor/Therapist

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    a book to treasure and gift to others.

    Filled with short stories that heal the heart and offer an open loving attitude to Life itself. Author, Dr. Remen knows of what she speaks. Still teaching at San Francisco Medical Hospital/College she travels the world teaching physicians about Life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Profoundly healing

    An absolutely beautiful warm hug of a book. The author is a physician & counselor and long-time sufferer/survivor of Crohn's Disease. The small stories she tells about herself, her patients, her family and friends are told with amazing honesty, beauty and grace. They deal with spiritual issues such as suffering, love, faith, and miracles. This is a profoundly healing book. It is one of the best books I have ever read.

    I give a copy to every friend who faces a life-changing illness. Every one of them has since bought 10 books each to hand out to their friends who need it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    This book was the beginning of my journey and connection with Dr. Remen. Sometimes books are read that are so penetrating in heart and mind that they begin the journey of reading everything the author has written. That is what Kitchen Table Wisdom is

    I am a student of Dr. Remen not by being in one of her classes but by being touched by her profound insight into what matters. Dr. Remen says "we are always on sacred ground". Certainly I have learned when I read "We all influence one another", and "the things that divide us are far less important than those that connect us." I now read anything that I can get my hands on by Dr. Remen. As a doctor and a healer is her writings somehow more significant to me. Doubtful. Her wisdom is at the Kitchen Table.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    One of the most influential books for my professional and personal life

    One of the most influential books for my professional as well as personal life. All medical students, residents, and physicians would benefit from reading this book. Vera Joffe, Ph.D. P.A. (www.verajoffe.com)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I cannot recommend this book highly enough

    A friend bought me this book after I was diagnosed with breast cancer 4 months ago. At a time in my life that I am doing a lot of soul searching, this book has been the perfect guide. The stories in the book are thought-provoking in a way that is not preachy. Some of them are personally helpful to me, some of them have given me valuable insight into people I know, and all of them are interesting, heartfelt, touching, and timeless. Dr Remen is a physician turned therapist to cancer patients, but this book is ideal for anyone who is looking for personal growth and a deeper connection to the world around them. I loved it so much I bought a copy for my Dad for Father's Day, who in turn loved it so much he bought a copy for a friend of his. This is a book I know I will come back to again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Powerful messages for everyone about life

    We learned from our own kitchen table the stories about our very large and very vocal family. These stories helped us all to understand more about ourselves, life, hardships, joy, love and laughter. However, when I read Dr. Remen's book, Kitchen Table Wisdom: Stories That Heal, I knew our family needed to know more about healing and life. The one sentence in the book,'We often see things not as they are, but as we are', made me reevaluate many of my thoughts about cures and healing. I am grateful and feel blessed to have read Kitchen Table Wisdom:Stories That Heal. This will be Christmas presents for all my sisters, children and grandchildren this year. Thank you Dr. Remen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2001

    Kindness and compassion are so necessary.

    As I walk the path with my parents who are aging and struggling with the everydayness of life, Rachel confirmed my need to be patient and understanding and compassionate, no matter what happens. Not only will I recommend this to my daughter who is in pre-med but to friends and family. My dear friend gave me this book as a birthday gift and I couldn't put it down until I finished it, weeping throughout. In light of Sept 11th, I believe we need to hear more stories that heal, that bring peace. I heard Rachel loud and clear saying that there is a stong possibility that it does matter what we say to each other, our tone, our expressions. Thank you Rachel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    Antidote for daily living

    This book is so incredibly profound - everyone can learn a great deal about life, death, and everday living through Dr. Remen's own kitchen table wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Required reading for every nurse and doctor...No. Make it required reading for everyone.

    In this collection of true stories from Rachel's early childhood and into her adult life, Rachel speaks honestly, openly and from the heart about the seemingly routine journeys that we take in the course of a lifetime and the power of those with whom we have contact along the way to enhance and expand our connection to our true selves, our true voice and to others, or to nudge us further and further into isolation, denial and despair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1