Customer Reviews for

The Kite Runner

Average Rating 4.5
( 2292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1667)

4 Star

(429)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

92 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

unforgettable....

The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun,...
The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun, Hassan is Hazara. Amir is Sunni, Hassan is Shi'a. Their differences don't change the fact that these boys were breastfed together, learned to crawl together and are basically inseparable. Then everything changes. Amir witnesses a horror done to Hassan and cannot forgive himself for not stepping in to help him and to do what is right. In 1975 Afghanistan is in turmoil and Amir, then 12 years old, and his father move to San Francisco. Amir grows up feeling guilt and self-hatred over the issue with Hassan and the subsequent results. Then one day, twenty five years after Amir has left Afghanistan, he receives a phone call summoning him back to the place he had hoped to forget. The caller tells Amir "there is a way to be good again."

The Kite Runner has for it's hero a very flawed human being.....but that's what makes him so believable. Amir the boy does a very cowardly, dastardly deed but Amir the man stands up to the Taliban and even more importantly, he stands up for what is right. This book has forgiveness, redemption and courage for it's main themes. We see how strong the ties of friendship and loyalty can become through the eyes of Amir and a broken little Afghan boy. The setting in Kabul and the culture of the Afghan people make for an interesting backdrop to an unforgettable novel.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I think I have ever read

I do not understand all of the good reviews for this book. The only good part of the book is the historical perspective. The main character is a horrible person. The writer┬┐s idea of redemption is pathetic in my opinion.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1748 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 88
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Kite Runner is a beautifully written, enthralling read! The

    The Kite Runner is a beautifully written, enthralling read! The main character's inner turmoil is refreshingly honest. He battles with decisions driven by love, jealousy, guilt, and a sense of duty. This story of redemption forces the reader to consider the balance between self-preservation and loyalty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMENED- YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

    I definitely enjoyed reading The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini because it was really interesting, and the story was very deep and unforgettable. It's hard for me to believe that this is a fictional story, because it seems like it actually happened, it's realistic. I liked how the author portrayed Amir's thoughts, and how he changed throughout the book. I think it is cool how Sohrab is just like his dad, Hassan- he is very precise with sling shots, and it was awesome how he fulfilled Hassan's threat that was made to Assef long ago. This book had a good catch, an unexpected touch to it.
    In the beginning of the story, it shows how peaceful everything was until the monarchy. This story reminds and shows us how Afghani people have struggled to violence and war back then, and it may still threatens their lives today. It was extremely terrible how Hassan and his wife were killed by the Taliban, leaving poor Sohrab all alone, and how Amir had just found out he was his half brother in the end of the book. Amir had begun as a shameful, guilty young boy- he hid money under Hassan's mattress to frame him for stealing so Baba would make him leave. But towards the end when Amir goes to Kabul to find Sohrab, his friend Farid drives him to places. Amir stays as a guest at Farid's brother Wahid's house. Amir sees that Wahid's family is very poor, so before he leaves, he hides a wad of money under their mattress to help them. This time Amir does the same deed (hiding money under a mattress) for a different, good reason- to help Wahid's family. When he was younger, he did it to get away from the shame, and not live with Hassan. Amir grew as a character. This really stood out to me from other stories. I don't usually read historical fiction, but this book was fantastic and very meaningful to me. I would surely recommend this book to kids in high school, or older. This is a good book for a high school student because it is the level for high school students, the story relates to history, and it can teach people about the history of Afghanistan. I would rate this book 5 out of 5 stars for its touching story, and great grasp of history.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    This book is very good, you need read this book!

    The story begins with the protagonist, Amir, during December of 2001, reflecting on his past childhood in Kabul, Afghanistan. He begins to look back on the year of 1975 and remembers himself climbing a tree with his servant, Hassan, who was also his best friend. Amir would always read one of his own made up stories to Hassan under their favorite pomegranate tree Hassan being a servant of Amir and Amir's father, Baba, lived in a mud hut with his father, Ali. Not only being a illiterate servant, but Hassan was also a Hazara, which was ethnicity that was executed and treated poorly in Afghanistan.

    Because he was a Hazara, some boys in Amir's neighborhood (Assef, Kamal, and Wali) picked fights with Amir and Hassan. In a confrontation with Assef, Amir was being threatened by him; Hassan held a slingshot which was aimed at Assef's eye. Reluctantly, Assef and his gang retreated but he left saying that they would pay. As a result of being a slave of Amir and Baba, Baba loves him and his father, Ali, like they were his son and brother. Because Baba loved Hassan like his own son, Amir began to envy Hassan and a rivalry between them was born, although Hassan was unaware of Amir's jealousy.

    During the winter of 1975, Amir and Hassan are in a kite running contest, which is a popular sport in Kabul, and Amir ends up winning the fight and then Hassan goes to get the kite. Amir goes after Hassan and finds him in an ally way cornered by Assef, Wali, and Kamal. They want the kite from Hassan, but Hassan says that it is Amir's. So Assef rapes Hassan. Amir watches Hassan getting raped. As a result they slowly became separated and Hassan and Ali left. Throughout the story he the memory of letting Hassan get raped haunts him.

    In 1981, the Russians invaded and Amir had to escape from Kabul with his father. Once they escaped, they left for Fremont, California. Financially they were barely getting by. While working in an Afghanistan market, Amir finds his, soon to be wife. After he gets married to Soraya, Baba died of lung cancer. In 2001, Amir found out that Hassan's son, Soraub, was in Afghanistan and he went to go get him. After he found him, Assef, who was now a Taliban official (Russian soldier), and fought him because they had "unfinished business. Later After the fight, Amir adopts Soraub and the story ends with them having a kite fight in San Francisco.

    The main themes of the Kite Runner are: jealousy and redemption. Redemption is shown throughout the whole story. For instance, when Amir realizes that Baba doesn't whole heartedly love Amir because Amir wasn't anything like him, he tried to redeem himself by winning the kite fighting contest. Also, when Amir found out that Hassan's son Soraub is suffering in Kabul, he goes to save him for atonement for himself from being a coward and letting Hassan get raped. For instance, when Amir saw how Baba treated Hassan so well and how he viewed him like his own son.

    The graphic detail of gruesome deaths and the morbidly twisted situations that get side characters killed was the only thing that I didn't like about this book. I enjoyed how realistic the plot was and how complex the storyline was. It made the book interesting with the story changing to different locations and how life continues going on, even though someone may die. I would have to rate this book about 5 stars because it had a very good plot and I recommend this to people who like a tragic story that ends with a happy, positive

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Incredible story

    This is such a great story. Helped me to have compassion for the people suffering from the Taliban and then the problems they have as immigrants. Sad in many parts. Great tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    The Reviews Don't Lie...

    I'm still grateful I got this book for only $1 at the library! Looking at the front cover, binding, back cover, and first few pages, it's filled with good reviews from all over. I say that the book is simply amazing in every way, shape, and form. I could write about it forever, but it is a must read! It's not understandable how a book can make you so emotional. I admit, I cried... a lot. I love this book! I wanted to hold on to every page.. even with rereading a lot of parts, I finished the book in a matter of days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Definitely a unique piece of literature!

    When my class was first assigned this book, we all sighed in a chorus. But after reading it, we all feel in love. This book tells the story of two young boys and their relationship. One of the boys lives the high life and the other is his servant, but they are best friends. One day a tragic event occurs which changes everything. Suddenly both their worlds are changed and as the plot progresses we see the overall meaning of the friendship between the two of them. This novel touched me deeply and gets down to the point of the conflict that is occurring in the Middle East today and we see how the people living there are just like us in many ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book unlike the many i have read.

    This novel is not what you expect. Its a complete dose of reality, and exposes you to what really goes on in other parts of the world. It brought me to a point of tears. I will never forget the characters in this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Wonderful book

    One of the best books I've ever read; I simply could not put it down. After reading this one, I bought A Thousand Spendid Suns which was equally as good.
    Excellent author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Depressing and just another propaganda promotion!

    It was a depressing book. In addition, it is just one of many books that dehumanize brown people around the world so that we as Americans don't feel bad about bombing and killing them. The comparison of the Taliban as Nazis and secular Muslims as the "good people," is a gross over-simplification of the conflict, and a key to further alienation of people around the world. The undertones of America as the savior just adds to the misperception that ethnocentrics have, which the media promotes, and allows us, again, to feel ok about our government's agenda of world domination through violence.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    I could not put this book down because the story sucks you in at the first sentence. It takes you into the lives of 2 young boys living in Kabul. The difference between the 2 boys is that one is a wealthy Pashtun, and the other is a poor Hazara. Although the Hazara is the servant of the Pashtun, these two boys have more things in common than they think. This book unravels the truth beautifully throughout the book, leaving you wanting more. You get the last bit of truth all the way in the end, so the suspense keeps you reading. This is a great book to give and to keep in your personal library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Ok...

    I was not thrilled by this book. It was a bit brutal at times and in ways that did not make the book any more compelling or interesting. I was not particularly moved and thought that the main character was awful. His 'redemption' was laughable after years of living well and casting those he betrayed into destitution.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Very Poor

    I really have to disagree with most people. I didn't enjoy this book at all, way too disturbing and too many graphic scenes. I wouldnt reccommend this book to anyone. JUST DON'T READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Kite Runner's New Clothes

    The only positive comment I can extend toward this novel is that it appears to be providing the American public at large with some insight into Afghan history over the last few decades, which in light of current events is commendable. As literature, The Kite Runner is an utter failure. While a number of reviewers here have highlighted the infelicities of Hosseini¿s prose, this is a relatively minor flaw compared to the predictable plot structure, ham-fisted metaphors, and beyond-Dickensian coincidences that serve as the structure of the novel. Hosseini¿s writing is so overwrought as to be comical, and he squanders any opportunities to achieve any real emotional depth by eschewing subtlety in favor of cartoonish excess- a refugee narrative that owes more to Days of Our Lives or DC comics than Rushdie. The most revealing passage in the novel is the narrator¿s defense, in response to criticism from a writing instructor, of the value of the cliché in literature. Hosseini¿s clichéd, predicable storytelling is ultimately little more than a bore, and its sales success reveal the public¿s affection for the trite and familiar cloaked in the exotic. Strictly for the Albom crowd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    disturbing...

    I found the novel quite disturbing and unerving. I do NOT recommend this book for anyone with a sensitive mind.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Pathetic :)

    This book was listed as a 'best-seller?' What a joke. This book is terrible- full of cliches and ridiculous and tired themes. I cant believe i read 100 pages of it. 3 hours of my life that i will never get back. I'd rather chew newspaper than read another page of this tripe. What grabage. NOT enjoyable, NOT original, and an overall buden to read. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU ENJOY MINDLESS DRIBBLE. IT IS BORING AND DISGUSTING. THE END

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Written for Middle School Readers

    'The Kite Runner' may have a good, even important, story to tell but it is so poorly written that I found it unbearable to keep reading. To compare it to 'Brick Lane' or 'The Namesake' is like comparing USA Today to The New York Times...not even close! Read 'The Storyteller's Daughter' if you want true but also beautifully written tales of Afganistan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2015

    One of the best novels I've ever read. A masterfully written sto

    One of the best novels I've ever read. A masterfully written story about flawed humans, the mistakes they make and the consequences they suffer. A touching and powerful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    This novel is simply a must read.. I mustn't give you any detai

    This novel is simply a must read.. I mustn't give you any details about the novel because upon discovering the little details was the magic in reading this novel. Every detail is a piece to a puzzle which every question gets answered and you are left breathless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    After reading The kite runner by Khaled Hosseini it is the most

    After reading The kite runner by Khaled Hosseini it is the most heart warming and tragic story you could ever read. The story takes place in
    Afghanistan in 1975 phase. Told from the perspective of the young boy Amir as a child and into his adult years. Both boys Amir and Hassan 
    grew up with no mothers. Growing up Amir was privileged to have a nice house. While on the other hand Hassan was the son of the family's 
    servant. Both boys grew up together and were inseparable. Reading the novel you will be able to feel the emotions from each of the
     characters.The kite runner will bring both tears of joy and sorrow. I favor the fact that some of the characters in the story learn to
     change over time and that Amir and Hassan always stuck up for each other. I'd have to say this is one of my favorite novels I've read. I
     loved the background setting of Afghanistan and the culture of Afghanistan people makes this book interesting to read.  -Natalia P.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    This story gave me a lasting impression of what it means to be i

    This story gave me a lasting impression of what it means to be infinitely human, and to want to be more. Amir is an unforgettable protagonist that led me down a long hard road to redemption, and all the twists and turns in between. Life is hard, and you will make mistakes, but as long as you can find your way back to what is right, your life will be made whole again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1748 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 88