Customer Reviews for

The Kite Runner Illustrated Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 2273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1652)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

85 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

unforgettable....

The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun,...
The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun, Hassan is Hazara. Amir is Sunni, Hassan is Shi'a. Their differences don't change the fact that these boys were breastfed together, learned to crawl together and are basically inseparable. Then everything changes. Amir witnesses a horror done to Hassan and cannot forgive himself for not stepping in to help him and to do what is right. In 1975 Afghanistan is in turmoil and Amir, then 12 years old, and his father move to San Francisco. Amir grows up feeling guilt and self-hatred over the issue with Hassan and the subsequent results. Then one day, twenty five years after Amir has left Afghanistan, he receives a phone call summoning him back to the place he had hoped to forget. The caller tells Amir "there is a way to be good again."

The Kite Runner has for it's hero a very flawed human being.....but that's what makes him so believable. Amir the boy does a very cowardly, dastardly deed but Amir the man stands up to the Taliban and even more importantly, he stands up for what is right. This book has forgiveness, redemption and courage for it's main themes. We see how strong the ties of friendship and loyalty can become through the eyes of Amir and a broken little Afghan boy. The setting in Kabul and the culture of the Afghan people make for an interesting backdrop to an unforgettable novel.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I think I have ever read

I do not understand all of the good reviews for this book. The only good part of the book is the historical perspective. The main character is a horrible person. The writer┬┐s idea of redemption is pathetic in my opinion.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 2276 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 114
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Incredible story

    This is such a great story. Helped me to have compassion for the people suffering from the Taliban and then the problems they have as immigrants. Sad in many parts. Great tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    The Reviews Don't Lie...

    I'm still grateful I got this book for only $1 at the library! Looking at the front cover, binding, back cover, and first few pages, it's filled with good reviews from all over. I say that the book is simply amazing in every way, shape, and form. I could write about it forever, but it is a must read! It's not understandable how a book can make you so emotional. I admit, I cried... a lot. I love this book! I wanted to hold on to every page.. even with rereading a lot of parts, I finished the book in a matter of days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Definitely a unique piece of literature!

    When my class was first assigned this book, we all sighed in a chorus. But after reading it, we all feel in love. This book tells the story of two young boys and their relationship. One of the boys lives the high life and the other is his servant, but they are best friends. One day a tragic event occurs which changes everything. Suddenly both their worlds are changed and as the plot progresses we see the overall meaning of the friendship between the two of them. This novel touched me deeply and gets down to the point of the conflict that is occurring in the Middle East today and we see how the people living there are just like us in many ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book unlike the many i have read.

    This novel is not what you expect. Its a complete dose of reality, and exposes you to what really goes on in other parts of the world. It brought me to a point of tears. I will never forget the characters in this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    Wonderful book

    One of the best books I've ever read; I simply could not put it down. After reading this one, I bought A Thousand Spendid Suns which was equally as good.
    Excellent author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Depressing and just another propaganda promotion!

    It was a depressing book. In addition, it is just one of many books that dehumanize brown people around the world so that we as Americans don't feel bad about bombing and killing them. The comparison of the Taliban as Nazis and secular Muslims as the "good people," is a gross over-simplification of the conflict, and a key to further alienation of people around the world. The undertones of America as the savior just adds to the misperception that ethnocentrics have, which the media promotes, and allows us, again, to feel ok about our government's agenda of world domination through violence.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    I could not put this book down because the story sucks you in at the first sentence. It takes you into the lives of 2 young boys living in Kabul. The difference between the 2 boys is that one is a wealthy Pashtun, and the other is a poor Hazara. Although the Hazara is the servant of the Pashtun, these two boys have more things in common than they think. This book unravels the truth beautifully throughout the book, leaving you wanting more. You get the last bit of truth all the way in the end, so the suspense keeps you reading. This is a great book to give and to keep in your personal library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Ok...

    I was not thrilled by this book. It was a bit brutal at times and in ways that did not make the book any more compelling or interesting. I was not particularly moved and thought that the main character was awful. His 'redemption' was laughable after years of living well and casting those he betrayed into destitution.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Very Poor

    I really have to disagree with most people. I didn't enjoy this book at all, way too disturbing and too many graphic scenes. I wouldnt reccommend this book to anyone. JUST DON'T READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Kite Runner's New Clothes

    The only positive comment I can extend toward this novel is that it appears to be providing the American public at large with some insight into Afghan history over the last few decades, which in light of current events is commendable. As literature, The Kite Runner is an utter failure. While a number of reviewers here have highlighted the infelicities of Hosseini¿s prose, this is a relatively minor flaw compared to the predictable plot structure, ham-fisted metaphors, and beyond-Dickensian coincidences that serve as the structure of the novel. Hosseini¿s writing is so overwrought as to be comical, and he squanders any opportunities to achieve any real emotional depth by eschewing subtlety in favor of cartoonish excess- a refugee narrative that owes more to Days of Our Lives or DC comics than Rushdie. The most revealing passage in the novel is the narrator¿s defense, in response to criticism from a writing instructor, of the value of the cliché in literature. Hosseini¿s clichéd, predicable storytelling is ultimately little more than a bore, and its sales success reveal the public¿s affection for the trite and familiar cloaked in the exotic. Strictly for the Albom crowd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    disturbing...

    I found the novel quite disturbing and unerving. I do NOT recommend this book for anyone with a sensitive mind.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Pathetic :)

    This book was listed as a 'best-seller?' What a joke. This book is terrible- full of cliches and ridiculous and tired themes. I cant believe i read 100 pages of it. 3 hours of my life that i will never get back. I'd rather chew newspaper than read another page of this tripe. What grabage. NOT enjoyable, NOT original, and an overall buden to read. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU ENJOY MINDLESS DRIBBLE. IT IS BORING AND DISGUSTING. THE END

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Written for Middle School Readers

    'The Kite Runner' may have a good, even important, story to tell but it is so poorly written that I found it unbearable to keep reading. To compare it to 'Brick Lane' or 'The Namesake' is like comparing USA Today to The New York Times...not even close! Read 'The Storyteller's Daughter' if you want true but also beautifully written tales of Afganistan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    The Best Book I Have Ever Read

    This book was the most amazing book ever read by me and in a matter of opinion on of the best books ever writen. Over my summer vacation I have read it for an AP english course im taking. It goes so deep in feeling that i metimes had to put it down. I would be itching, though to get back to reading. I finished this book in one day. Around 371 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    The book was well written and worth reading but the ending sort

    The book was well written and worth reading but the ending sort of spoiled it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Hshdd

    Stomache love belly baby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    This story gave me a lasting impression of what it means to be i

    This story gave me a lasting impression of what it means to be infinitely human, and to want to be more. Amir is an unforgettable protagonist that led me down a long hard road to redemption, and all the twists and turns in between. Life is hard, and you will make mistakes, but as long as you can find your way back to what is right, your life will be made whole again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Great book

    Read this over the summer for an AP english course. Not omly was this a great example of the curriculum, but it ended up being my 2nd favorite book of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Kite runner is amazing! MOST AWSOME!

    The best book I've ever read. Did you guys see the movie? You should it was awsome, although you have to read subtitles for a lot of it because it's in Arab. Still it was awsome and dramatic. ;) ;) ;) <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    The Kite Runner, written by Khaled Hosseini is a fictional nove


    The Kite Runner, written by Khaled Hosseini is a fictional novel that focuses on the relationship between two Afghan boys. This story is about the journey of Amir's life from when he was a little twelve year old boy to becoming a grown man in his thirties. Amir, who is the narrator and the son of a rich Kabul businessman, and Hassan, the son of Ali and a servant for Amir and his father, Baba. Amir is a Pashtun and Sunni Muslim, while Hassan is a Hazara and a Shi’a..They were so close despite their differences. They breastfed from the same woman and grew up together, but something changed when Amir saw a very crude thing happen to Hassan, which changed their relationship. Amir also stugglet trying to make his father happy and please him. Desperate to win his father’s affection and respect, Amir turns to the sport of kite flying and wins a tournament. This tournament is one which changed his relationship with Hassan and created regret for many years.


    In 1981, Amir and Baba flee to California, where Amir attends college, marries Soraya and becomes a successful novelist. Amir gets a call from Rahim Khan,who is sick, and Rahim tells him he has a chance to be good again and save his nephew. Amir fights his bully from his childhood and Sohrab saves his life just as Sohrab’s father, Hassan did when Amir and him were children .


    This is a novel which encounters themes family loyalty, religion, the cruel effects of war, racism, and the power of love and redemption. Hosseini demonstrates technique and skill at creating an intense, sad story with involving characters and conflicts.The violence in this book is gruesome and sad, but the story itself is indeed great and is worth reading. It is a deep story that should be discussed and valued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 2276 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 114