Customer Reviews for

The Kite Runner (10th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1659)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

unforgettable....

The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun,...
The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun, Hassan is Hazara. Amir is Sunni, Hassan is Shi'a. Their differences don't change the fact that these boys were breastfed together, learned to crawl together and are basically inseparable. Then everything changes. Amir witnesses a horror done to Hassan and cannot forgive himself for not stepping in to help him and to do what is right. In 1975 Afghanistan is in turmoil and Amir, then 12 years old, and his father move to San Francisco. Amir grows up feeling guilt and self-hatred over the issue with Hassan and the subsequent results. Then one day, twenty five years after Amir has left Afghanistan, he receives a phone call summoning him back to the place he had hoped to forget. The caller tells Amir "there is a way to be good again."

The Kite Runner has for it's hero a very flawed human being.....but that's what makes him so believable. Amir the boy does a very cowardly, dastardly deed but Amir the man stands up to the Taliban and even more importantly, he stands up for what is right. This book has forgiveness, redemption and courage for it's main themes. We see how strong the ties of friendship and loyalty can become through the eyes of Amir and a broken little Afghan boy. The setting in Kabul and the culture of the Afghan people make for an interesting backdrop to an unforgettable novel.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I think I have ever read

I do not understand all of the good reviews for this book. The only good part of the book is the historical perspective. The main character is a horrible person. The writer┬┐s idea of redemption is pathetic in my opinion.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Worst book I think I have ever read

    I do not understand all of the good reviews for this book. The only good part of the book is the historical perspective. The main character is a horrible person. The writer¿s idea of redemption is pathetic in my opinion.

    11 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    I'll have to agree with Ella

    I am an avid reader. This book was recommended to me as ' the best book you can ever read.' I am in shock by the multitude of amazing reviews. This book was so disturbing to me that I had trouble even finishing it. There was nothing positive or enlightening about it. I will never forget it. If that is what the author wants to create, then the picture will stick in my mind, but it was extremely disturbing to me. Society must thrive on reading gloom and doom. My mom, who loves to read, could not even read it, she thought it was so disturbing. You couldn't pay me enough to go to sit through the movie. This book sits on my shelf along with all of my other books, but somehow it is haunting. I will give it to anyone who wants it, just to get rid of it from my sight.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    Disturbingly horrible

    People who like this book must thrive on horrible disturbing tragedy. This book was one atrocity after another. There was absolutely nothing happy in it. It was just a story of the lives ruined by a psychopath. I was depressed for weeks after reading it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    !

    Dont waste money buying the book, just read all the plot spoilers on here that give away the entire book! They save you tons of money!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    God!

    I hated this book it was boring, plotless and never drew me in

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Terrible, Cloying, Pseudo-Dramatic

    This book is so overrated. It is literally the corniest novel I have ever read. There is nothing remotely interesting about the characters or the plot. I guess we're supposed to be left with the impression that the kite is a symbol of the soaring spirit of the Afghan man who left his home so long ago, but has come back to reconcile his past?...Give me a break! This is so schmaltzy, you will get a few cheap laughs from it, then either toss it in the trash or save it as a bathroom rag to get unwanted guests out of your house.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Depressing and just another propaganda promotion!

    It was a depressing book. In addition, it is just one of many books that dehumanize brown people around the world so that we as Americans don't feel bad about bombing and killing them. The comparison of the Taliban as Nazis and secular Muslims as the "good people," is a gross over-simplification of the conflict, and a key to further alienation of people around the world. The undertones of America as the savior just adds to the misperception that ethnocentrics have, which the media promotes, and allows us, again, to feel ok about our government's agenda of world domination through violence.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Very Poor

    I really have to disagree with most people. I didn't enjoy this book at all, way too disturbing and too many graphic scenes. I wouldnt reccommend this book to anyone. JUST DON'T READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Kite Runner's New Clothes

    The only positive comment I can extend toward this novel is that it appears to be providing the American public at large with some insight into Afghan history over the last few decades, which in light of current events is commendable. As literature, The Kite Runner is an utter failure. While a number of reviewers here have highlighted the infelicities of Hosseini¿s prose, this is a relatively minor flaw compared to the predictable plot structure, ham-fisted metaphors, and beyond-Dickensian coincidences that serve as the structure of the novel. Hosseini¿s writing is so overwrought as to be comical, and he squanders any opportunities to achieve any real emotional depth by eschewing subtlety in favor of cartoonish excess- a refugee narrative that owes more to Days of Our Lives or DC comics than Rushdie. The most revealing passage in the novel is the narrator¿s defense, in response to criticism from a writing instructor, of the value of the cliché in literature. Hosseini¿s clichéd, predicable storytelling is ultimately little more than a bore, and its sales success reveal the public¿s affection for the trite and familiar cloaked in the exotic. Strictly for the Albom crowd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    disturbing...

    I found the novel quite disturbing and unerving. I do NOT recommend this book for anyone with a sensitive mind.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Pathetic :)

    This book was listed as a 'best-seller?' What a joke. This book is terrible- full of cliches and ridiculous and tired themes. I cant believe i read 100 pages of it. 3 hours of my life that i will never get back. I'd rather chew newspaper than read another page of this tripe. What grabage. NOT enjoyable, NOT original, and an overall buden to read. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK UNLESS YOU ENJOY MINDLESS DRIBBLE. IT IS BORING AND DISGUSTING. THE END

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Written for Middle School Readers

    'The Kite Runner' may have a good, even important, story to tell but it is so poorly written that I found it unbearable to keep reading. To compare it to 'Brick Lane' or 'The Namesake' is like comparing USA Today to The New York Times...not even close! Read 'The Storyteller's Daughter' if you want true but also beautifully written tales of Afganistan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Hmph.

    Way overrated. Don't buy because of the hype.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    To willowmoon

    Hello i heard about you.i dont want a young innocent shecat to die.i will be your mate.i am riverpelt.i am a blue grey tom with yellow eyes.i will take care of you.i am deputy of goldclan.i have always wanted a daughter and a mate.you seem the right one for me.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Sad

    I was enjoying the story but had to stop reading because of the coarse language.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Not great in the beginning. I wanted to see how it ended up.

    The beginning was slow. I enjoyed the last 1/2 much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    sucked

    this book sucked it wasted alot of my time and i want it back

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2