Customer Reviews for

The Kite Runner (10th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1658)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(129)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

unforgettable....

The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun,...
The Kite Runner takes place in both Afghanistan and California. It's told from the perspective of Amir, first as a little boy and later on as a man. Amir grows up a privileged boy in Afghanistan. His best friend is Hassan, the son of the family servant. Amir is Pashtun, Hassan is Hazara. Amir is Sunni, Hassan is Shi'a. Their differences don't change the fact that these boys were breastfed together, learned to crawl together and are basically inseparable. Then everything changes. Amir witnesses a horror done to Hassan and cannot forgive himself for not stepping in to help him and to do what is right. In 1975 Afghanistan is in turmoil and Amir, then 12 years old, and his father move to San Francisco. Amir grows up feeling guilt and self-hatred over the issue with Hassan and the subsequent results. Then one day, twenty five years after Amir has left Afghanistan, he receives a phone call summoning him back to the place he had hoped to forget. The caller tells Amir "there is a way to be good again."

The Kite Runner has for it's hero a very flawed human being.....but that's what makes him so believable. Amir the boy does a very cowardly, dastardly deed but Amir the man stands up to the Taliban and even more importantly, he stands up for what is right. This book has forgiveness, redemption and courage for it's main themes. We see how strong the ties of friendship and loyalty can become through the eyes of Amir and a broken little Afghan boy. The setting in Kabul and the culture of the Afghan people make for an interesting backdrop to an unforgettable novel.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I think I have ever read

I do not understand all of the good reviews for this book. The only good part of the book is the historical perspective. The main character is a horrible person. The writer┬┐s idea of redemption is pathetic in my opinion.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Nooo to the kids

    This book is so graphic with kods being abused and raped. No kid should read this until you are atleast 15 or 16.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Unpleasant situations

    And unpleasant people makes for unpleasant reading and does not bring one close but repells but if that is your choice of passing time you will not be disappointed borrowed from library by mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I purchased this book for my teenage daughter who was required t

    I purchased this book for my teenage daughter who was required to read this book for high school. My daughter is an avid reader and an excellent writer, getting straight A's in Pre-AP English classes. She absolutely hated this book! She found it boring and the main character very frustrating as he made poor decisions throughout the book and never grew as a person. Basically the book was about the horrible things that the main character observed but did not act upon. My daughter would have given this book one star, but I am giving it 2 stars because I feel she did learn some valuable insights to another culture.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Omg wtf bbq

    ?................... :D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    Kite Runner

    I have no idea why there is so much hype about this book. This book was disturbing and depressing! The main character was very frustrating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    What's all the fuss?

    I can't understand why everyone says this is a great book. It made me cry at least four times. Overall, it was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Why all the hype

    The book was a bore. Tedious and boring, I was disappointed and could barely force myself to finish this book. I don't really see what all the buzz was about the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    No more like this, please

    So this story is about 'I,' a young male who loves to hurt the blind dog who lives next door to 'I.' OK, what kind of a moron wants to read this, or cares what happens to 'I'? Stories like this make me ashamed of the so-called 'human' race. Thanks for the warning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Doesn't Meet Expectations

    This book was slow and boring. The storyline progressed lazily throughout the novel's 300+ pages and exciting moments were scarce. It was difficult to get into this book, hard to concentrate on, and even more difficult to be entertained by. This book failed to meet expectations and I found it to be a huge disappointment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    story potential but bad prose

    I hate to disagree with all the positives of the other reviewers, but despite the enormous potential of the situation in this novel, the prose is really of a rather poor quality. Characters are shallow, there is little credibility in any of them, and the first person narrator, who does not in the least convince us that he is a successful novelist, just seems so lacking in any kind of deeply reflective capacity. I think the author, Hosseini, could really have made something of this if he had allowed himself at least three or four more rewrites, lifting the rather basic level of the prose a little. Sorry to be so negative, but this is no masterpiece. I suggest readers compare Hosseini's style with that of say Barbara Kingsolver (The Poisonwood Bible) or Louis de Bernieres (Captain Corelli's Mandolin) . Then you will see all the things it lacks. Cheers, Chris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    Good story...poor writing

    For a first novel, I can excuse a lot of what I am about to write. I thought the story was a good one and I enjoyed learning a little bit about the Middle East. I just felt like this novel followed an outline that you get in creative writing class. Some VERY cliche` moments. Also, there was the problem of showing us something through actions and then telling us the exact same thing through internal monologue. In all, I would say that this story isn't quite worth trudging through the immature writing. But the author's next effort might be. There is certainly potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    In the Minority

    Although I felt the story presented in THE KITE RUNNER was a good one, I felt the book had a lot of flaws and was, for the most part, a very juvenile effort. First, there was a clunky prose. This made the book very difficult to get through. I would read a few pages, be put off by the immature writing style and lay the book aside. Reading it was actually a chore. The author had the novice writer's habit of telling us what he had just shown us in character action or reaction. So many times, I wished I could tell him, 'Enough, already!' Then, there is the issue of backstory. In a book of just over 300 pages, Hosseini devotes 109 pages to backstory and set-up. That's way too much for me! The book does move along a little faster in its second half than in the first, but for any reader to have to wade through 100 pages of backstory just to get to the 'real' story is unforgivable. This story presented in this book reminded me so much of Nuruddin Farah's LINKS, but in story alone! Farah is a masterful writer, whose prose is flowing and assured and he starts his story in medias res, not with 100 pages of backstory! Overall, I was very, very disappointed with this book and I wish I would have read a library copy rather than investing in the hardcover version. Suffice it to say, I won't be reading anymore of Hosseini's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2