Customer Reviews for

Kit's Law: A Novel

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Drastic Life Changing Experience

I loved this book, mainly because I can really relate to this book. This is of course because I wan't to marry my brother. My mother is also mentally chalenged, and I have faced some issues with my friends and classmates about her behavior. I also have webbed toes... A ...
I loved this book, mainly because I can really relate to this book. This is of course because I wan't to marry my brother. My mother is also mentally chalenged, and I have faced some issues with my friends and classmates about her behavior. I also have webbed toes... A great read.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awful

I had to read this book for an English Lit class in school. I was extremely disappointed with this book, it was uninteresting, slow paced, and dramatic -- way too dramatic. The characters were annoying and completely unbelievable. The plot was... is there such thing as ...
I had to read this book for an English Lit class in school. I was extremely disappointed with this book, it was uninteresting, slow paced, and dramatic -- way too dramatic. The characters were annoying and completely unbelievable. The plot was... is there such thing as too original? It was jumpy and not well developed. As a Canadian reader, I hoped this book would put Canadians into a good light, especially considering that the author is Canadian and the book is based in Newfoundland. Instead, the book's awful slang and hard to read language made Canadians seem like backwards hicks with speech impediments. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good laugh, or something to start a fire with. If you're really angry, this book is excellent for target practice.

posted by 2609897 on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    Awful

    I had to read this book for an English Lit class in school. I was extremely disappointed with this book, it was uninteresting, slow paced, and dramatic -- way too dramatic. The characters were annoying and completely unbelievable. The plot was... is there such thing as too original? It was jumpy and not well developed. As a Canadian reader, I hoped this book would put Canadians into a good light, especially considering that the author is Canadian and the book is based in Newfoundland. Instead, the book's awful slang and hard to read language made Canadians seem like backwards hicks with speech impediments. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good laugh, or something to start a fire with. If you're really angry, this book is excellent for target practice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Fusia

    The book was 'goddy' but the langije was a bit... how can one say this... "byerehhhtk". The writing was vivid, captivating, and full of Japanese easter eggs, according to my esteemed colleague (?). You's not shure what hapnin all the time though, because the characters is all speaking like this. It's farmed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    A Drastic Life Changing Experience

    I loved this book, mainly because I can really relate to this book. This is of course because I wan't to marry my brother. My mother is also mentally chalenged, and I have faced some issues with my friends and classmates about her behavior. I also have webbed toes... A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    Sarcasm, obviously

    Like Kit in this novel, I'm also in a dramatic, over the top, "don't care if it's incest" relationship with my brother. My mother is a tramp with mental issues. And I wonder why I get teased in school. Yeah, I can totally relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kit's Law; rugged love story

    This book was hard to get into at first, but once I got used to the "language" of the characters, I was definitely captivated. The characters are definitely what make this book, and Morrissey paints a picturesque image of the wharf and surrounding areas. What I though was going to be a predictable ending threw me for a loop--a great read overall!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    breaks my heart ..

    i do not regularly give books a 5 star rating, but this one was most deserving of it. i was not appealed by it in the beginning, but getting into chapter 12 and so, i found myself not able to put it down. i was mesmerized by the increasing affection between kit and sid, their forbidden love growing on me. i thought the ending was tragic, wishing against all odds that they will look past their blood relationship to resurrect a love that was so true. the battle between God's law and man's law provided a strong backdrop to the depth of the story, reality intervening with fate in the most painful way. i did not think a book could render such wide range of emotions from me, breaking my heart at each turn of the page. i loved it, i really did. now i am left to play my own little sequel in my mind .. preferably kit and sid trying at love once again ..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Marvellous

    This is an astonishing book of survival. It is breath taking and captures your imagination, and thoughts. It is hard to put this piece of art down once you've started. I would recomend it to young women right through to the elderly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Absolutly Wonderfull Novel

    I simply cannot say how much I enjoyed this fine novel. Being an advid reader I must say that I have grown to the point where many books are semi-predictable. In saying that I am forced to admit that I was not prepared for the ending or the wonderfully refreshing use of language I found in Kit's Law. I consider this book to be a prize and look forward to a time when the author may tour North Carolina so as I may get my copy autographed. If you read this Donna, Please, keep writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Poignant story

    I was captured by this poignant story by Donna Morrissey. I am hoping she writes more books with as much feeling and a much insight. This is not a 'happy ending/feel good story' but rather a 'reality/making peace' story. A beautiful read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    The Real Thing

    Touching, heartbreaking and occasionally Gothic -- folks from 'away' might wonder about some of the extreme characters and goings-on. But I lived long enough in Atlantic Canada to realize that they really are like that! Most importantly, Morrissey has captured universal truths about family, community and the pains of growing up that should be recognizable to any sensitive reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    An incredible, brilliant book - a must read

    Kit's Law is a fabulous book that captures one's mind and heart. The story and characters are intensely gripping and captivating, and the writing is immensely beautiful. But, what makes this book a masterpiece are the gems scattered everywhere that turn up in the form of a conversation between two characters, or an insight, or a point of view. These gems open the reader's eyes, and heart, to what life really is, and how pain, enlightenment, love, and even contentment, come in one big package. This is an amazingly beutiful and powerful book. One can't help but admire Kit's Law and the brilliant brain that created it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    Page turner

    This story is the perfect, sit by the fire and not stop reading til you reach the end, kind of tale. The Characters and setting will sweep you up into an emotional involvement and give you an intimate glimpse into the Newfoundland outport culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1